Estee Lauder Double Wear Zero Smudge Lengthening Mascara


220 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$


Acrylates Copolymer, Alcohol Denat, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/, Ammonium stearate, Aqua, Beheneth-25 Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Bentonite, Bismuth Oxychloride, Blue 1, Butylene Glycol, Camelia sinensis, Caprylyl Glycol, Carmine, Cera alba, cera carnauba, Cholesterol, Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 19140, CI 77288, CI 77492, CI 77499, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, ethylhexyl acrylate crosspolymer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Hexylene Glycol, hydroxyesters acrylates copolymer, Isostearic Acid, Kaolin, Laureth-20, Macadamia integrifolia, Manganese Violet, Mica, Panthenol, PEG-100 Stearate, phenoxyethanol ()iron oxides (CI77491, Polyaminopropyl biguanide, Polyvinyl acetate, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Silica, Simethicone, Stearic Acid, Sucrose Distearate, Titanium Dioxide, Tromethamine, Ultramarines.

on 8/24/2015 3:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara! I should probably start off by confessing that I'm not a makeup person and only wear it on special occasions. I'm sure there are people out there who have tried every mascara known to man and probably have a much better idea than me. However, I have tried many mascaras over the years and have had ongoing issues with smudging. No matter how waterproof or smudge proof the mascara claimed to be, I'd look in the mirror when I got home to see tell tale black smudges under both eyes.

Enter double wear mascara. I did a lot of research to find the best tubing mascara - that is, a mascara that coats your lashes in a polymer formula so it doesn't smudge. I went out and (rather extravagantly for me) went for the Estee Lauder brand. It's a great mascara and I've never had an issue with smudging. I also find the formula easy to apply and not too thick.

I like subtle mascara so if you're after something thicker that really coats you lashes, you might want to look elsewhere. If like me you just want something that's easy to apply and doesn't smudge, Estee Lauder double wear mascara is your lady!

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

1. Does what it says it does; lengthens and smudge-free.
2. Doesn't hurt my eyes. Most mascaras (like Maybelline) hurt my eyes, mostly when it's too stiff.
3. Does not clump on me. However, I always wipe the excess whenever I'm about to use (any!) mascara.
4. Lifts my eyelashes a little, even without curling. My lashes are naturally straight and pointing downwards.

1. Flakes like crazy immediately after it dries. A LOT of flaking.
2. It's too expensive for it to do the #1 con above.

I would not buy again, but I'm gonna use it up because I spent a lot on this and I guess flaking is better than smudging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/16/2015 1:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After using this once, I knew it would be my HG mascara.

I feel like I've used all the mascara types out there, and fall for the marketing hype more often than not.

But this mascara is simple, effective and gives you value for money.

I'm not really a fan of volume, and don't curl my eyelashes anymore due to sensitivity. I've always been on the lookout for the perfect soft lengthening mascara - one that coats the lashes, adds some length but not crazy dramatic tendrils. I used to use Full & Soft and thought I'd have to live with Maybelline, Cover Girl and all those plastic wands and gloopy formulas that never go off.

This is, for a soft, lengthening mascara (one that's not too natural - you've clearly got mascara on), perfect. I received a tube in an EL travel pack and this is my favourite product so far. It's a tubing mascara, so coats your lashes and comes off with warm water and a washcloth.

The effect of just one coat of Double Wear is beautiful - long, soft, it opens your eyes and isn't too heavy on the lashes. You can build the coats (I haven't yet), and is clearly of a great quality - I had a nap with it on and it didn't smudge. It doesn't transfer to your bottom lids, and it's soft enough to put a bit on your bottom lashes as well.

I have small, spiky lashes so try not to go too overboard with mascara - my lashes tend to clump together and flake whenever I use a volume mascara. This is a wonderful alternative. The brush isn't harsh on the lashes and as above, it comes off pretty easily.

One lippie off to see how it fares in the long run, and it's a bit pricy - but I know I'll reinvest in this because it's worth it. It's the perfect daytime mascara I've been looking for, and will slather it on for night looks. Paula Begoun says it's EL's version of Clinique's Lash Power but better - I don't even know because after this, I don't want to try anything else!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 3/12/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have average-length asian lashes but are quite sparse, this mascara is pretty average and it only lengthens your eyelashes but on the plus side, you could easily build it up without getting clumpy eyelashes; i love the brush.

But note that there is something about the smell of this mascara that irks me so much. I don't think that it is really smudge proof, it still smudges in the middle of the day.
And i could never really get the mascara out, even after double cleansing i would find black bits in my tear ducts etc., that never happened with other mascaras.

Overall, it is ok, but i wouldn't purchase it again.

on 3/9/2015 4:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So disappointed. I purchased this based on a recommendation by Paula Begoun. Unfortunately it's nothing like I expected. It has a small brush, which I normally like. But the consistency of the product is quite dry, and the small brush picks up a load of it, so I have to wipe off the excess. Then, it goes on clumpy. No lengthening at all. Finally, it does not smudge - this much is true - but it flakes! I've never had a mascara flake so badly. The only redeeming point is that it comes off quite easily, my face wash took off most of it. But come on, double-wear and zero-smudge? Not on your life! I'm puzzled why others seem to love this; I guess it's possible that I got a bad one, but I bought this at an EL counter in a store where I expect turnover to be high. All in all, it's an enormous waste of money and I'll happily go back to my drugstore mascara from Bourjois.

on 3/2/2015 4:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I usually have to check my eyes for serious mascara smudging drama every few hours, as I have quite sensitive eyes that water easily with the wrong eye make up. This 'tubing' mascara (made with different ingredients that make it heavier? so it doesn't smudge) does not smudge one bit, and holds steadfast in the face of my watery eyes, or in heavy downpours in Scotland, which is more than I can say about some waterproof mascaras. Removing this mascara takes a bit of effort, but then again, it is heavy duty. A decent hot-cloth cleanser or cleansing balm will do the job fine. Using eye make up remover to take it off will take a while. It's a great day-to-day mascara for its durability, which has been great on the days where I'm working long hours. As other reviewers have mentioned, volume is not its strong point, so still looking for the magic equivalent to this mascara for a night out (that's why I'm knocking off one overall point).

on 2/22/2015 6:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I don't use mascara often because I don't like the unnatural look it gives my eyes. However, I like this one because it's not overly dramatic and it doesn't smudge! However, I wouldn't apply more than 2 coats because that's when the mascara starts to make eyelashes look spidery or clump.

on 2/18/2015 3:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My first thought after trying this - "I HAVE to write a review on MUA asap"

Long story short, this is the only mascara that does not smudge on me.

- As I said (and as the tube says), zero-smudge. I've tried Benefit, Clinique, Loreal, you name it...everything smudges after I yawn, giving raccoon eyes. Not this. I even gave it a harsh test by wearing it during shower and washing my hair (I tilt my head backwards so I didn't splash water on my eyes lol). Still. No. Smudge. Very impressed.
- You can wear this on your bottom lash. It's THAT water-proof.
- It really lengthens your lashes a lot and does not give a "fake" look. Great for everyday.
- It stays put once dry. No drooping of lashes whatsoever.
- The wand is quite small, so you can really get to the harder-to-reach/smaller lashes
- Buildable, so you get really long lashes!
- Easy to remove with a bit of makeup remover, surprisingly

- No volume added. If you love volume do use the EL Sumptuous Mascara which is quite good (I also reviewed that on MUA!). But I find that wriggling the wand a bit on the root of the lashes gives a fuller lash effect.
- Lashes may clump together if too heavy-handed in application, particularly during the first few uses. How I solve it is by wiping the excess off with a cotton pad/bud/ tissue (but be careful not to let the cottony bits stick to your lashes!)
- It does not hold a curl very well. If you lashes point downwards naturally (like me), frankly, they will remain that way after the mascara. But it does not weigh lashes down if you apply it properly.

Verdict: If your eyes are quite watery and you love a great lengthening (but not volumizing) everyday mascara, this is literally The One. Worth the price really.

Pls kindly rate if you find it helpful/unhelpful, thanks so much! x

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 2/9/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am forever on the hunt and trying new mascara's, with this being my most recent purchase. Now this is just amazing and does exactly what it claims to do. No smudge and lengthening.

What I love about this product is that it's nice and black, and dramatically lengthens the lashes in one swipe. It is however not volumising, which I admit I love, instead of giving a fake lashes look, it gives a more subtle look, as if your eyelashes are nice and long naturally.

Whilst the product is on the more expensive side (especially in australia) it is worth the investment. If however you cannot justify the price, a great alternative is essence cosmetics ultra waterproof mascara which works pretty similar but retails for around $4.10.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 1/19/2015 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried many times to give up on this products, but I always come back to it. I have very oily eye lids and most brands of mascara smudge in a few hours. But not this, I have done 48hours with this and not a single smudge. I have cried with it many times and again didnt have to worry about my mascara smudging. I wear contact lenses and have never had problems with this product.

Applies perfectly, never cakey or blotchy, isnt too thick so can layer it on and still get a natural feel.

If you want a natural, good quality, smudge free, mascara for daily use I really recommend this.

If you want something that will volumnise or lenghten lashes than this might not be the product for you. Doesnt give the thick fake lash effect other mascaras do.

Back to Top