Laura Geller • Balance-n-Brighten Baked Color Correcting Foundation in Fair • Powder

rated 3.5(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Cinderelletta on 9/4/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by Cinderelletta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

It took me awhile to decide how I felt about this product. I can't stand liquid foundation so I've been on the hunt for a decent coverage powder. I went into Ulta & had one of the girls put this on half my face & Tarte on the other half. She was really heavy handed with the product & it made the Tarte look awful & cakey while the LG still looked good, so I ended up getting this. When I got home, I noticed that the side this was on was very orange but I decided to give it a true chance anyways.

I don't need a ton of coverage in the first place, so it's always hard for me to tell if a powder is full coverage or not. I think this one has really good coverage if you use a dense brush & layer it. I use the RT Buffing brush & it works great with this foundation. I use the Rimmel Fix & Perfect Pro primer & put this on over it. This stuff can be built up on my skin while still looking like I'm not wearing anything. Usually I wear a minimal amount & don't really contour, but yesterday I layered this up a little bit & did some contouring & highlighting & when I checked my face in the mirror later I was taken aback by how flawless my skin looked. I looked like a doll. It was ridiculous [but awesome].

Overall, this foundation has totally grown on me since I first got it. At first I thought it was way overpriced & not worth it. I still think it's way overpriced, but it might be worth it & I might actually purchase it again. I should also mention that I had NO issues with it turning orange when I put it on myself. I think that was just a fluke & could have happened because the girl who color matched me used a big fluffy brush to dust it onto my face but didn't really take the time to buff it in. I also figure that different containers of the same color probably differ slightly due to the marbling, which worries me a little when I think about repurchasing.

Love this product and am happy to have found at least one powder foundation that I really like - still on the hunt for others!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iceymeng on 7/26/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by iceymeng

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what the difference between the brown package and the black. I tried both. I am NC20 and the fair looks muddy on me. I used the real technique buffering brush and applied two layers. Had to wash it off my face immediately. Bad redish grey color on my face. Yuk

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sheila12344321 on 6/14/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by sheila12344321

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this over my liquid foundation...as a setting powder. I use a matte liquid, so this powder gives me back some color.

Pros:
--The mix of color gives my pale, neutral skin a bit of color. I guess it really DOES balance and brighten.
--will last a LONG time, even with daily use

Cons:
--Feels heavy, even with a light hand
--price

Summary: I think Physicians Formula makes a powder compact that is made up of varied colors. I might try that, in order to save some money. However, if it doesn't perform as well--or if it feels heavier--I'll continue to purchase LG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigirlyly on 6/1/2014 2:35:00 PM more reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First I have been a long time mineral foundation user (loose type). However I got tired of the mess loose foundation powder leaves on my sink. I discovered Laura Geller foundation in a kit I purchased at ULTA "baby cakes". That kit came with medium...which only works when I'm sporting a tan.

So I ending up trying this foundation in Fair. It is sheer to light coverage, which works for me. I don't mind to cover my occasional blemish to a little concealer if necessary in addition to this foundation. Buff and blends nicely. Far cleaner and less messy than loose powder.

I'd say it's a satin finish. I use my bare minerals full flawless brush to apply, the kabuki if I need more coverage. It is my daily foundation for work.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lcagcaoili on 5/19/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by lcagcaoili

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome product! It has great coverage and does amazing with the ruddiness on the skin as how it claims. It makes my skin really smooth! Does not cake up and it has a nice satin finish that does brighten your face without it looking shiny or anything like that. I also like how compact it is and how you can see the product from the window but still having a decent sized mirror inside.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dterrob on 5/4/2014 10:48:00 AM more reviews by dterrob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Whoever is in charge of choosing the packaging and aesthetic look to Laura Geller products, they deserve a medal. Laura Geller make up always looks amazing and I'm always drawn to it. I've had my eye on the Balance and Brighten powder in porcelain for a while. I don't know what it is, but I'm drawn to it. It's intended to be a foundation, but I always end up using powders like this over other make up (tinted moisturizer and concealer), so I can't speak for how this is as a lone foundation. It's pretty sheer so I don't imagine it being great, but then again, I didn't like bareminerals as a foundation (or powder over other make up either) and I'm in the minority on that, so take what I say with a great big grain of salt. And worn over concealer and tinted moisturizer, this stuff is pretty great! It doesn't keep my nose and chin from getting shiny for long, but it sets my make up nicely. It's lasted a long, long time. I think I've had it for a year, give or take, and I use it every day, still haven't hit the pan. It's a little pricey, but I may buy it again. I was convinced to buy this when the salesgirl at Ulta saw me looking at it and said she was wearing it. Her skin looked really pretty and I was immediately convinced to buy it. I don't like how it looks powdery sometimes, but aside from that I really like this product and how it looks on my skin. I may repurchase, but by the time I finish what I have, I might find something else cheaper and better. But for now, I would recommend it to people wanting a nice, pale finishing powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 3/29/2014 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am medium complected, but cannot wear the Medium shade, because it makes my face look like I have a fake tan on, which is not the look I want. So, when Fair came out I tried it. It gives sheer-to-light build able coverage. In no way, can I use this as a foundation. As, it just doesn't provide enough coverage. Therefore, I would always use it as a finishing powder. Over the years, Laura Geller's Balance-n-Brighten has gone through a variety of formulation changes. And, yes, I've tried each one. Never saw a big difference between any of them.

The powder doesn't provide much oil control, so I would always have to touch up during the day. It looks great on my face after an hour or two. But, it normally oxidizes as the day wears on. And, then at the end of the day, I find my face looking a shade darker and on the orangey side as well.

I don't see any real balancing or brightening that it does for my face anyways. I can say that I have given this foundation a fair amount of chances, but I do not plan to re-purchase this product again.

Also, I feel that the price that's being charged for this powder is unreal. The quality is lacking with most of Laura Geller's products. Which is why, I don't plan on buying from her line anymore.

However, I must say that I will continue to watch Laura Geller on QVC when she's on, just won't be buying anything though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 9/11/2013 9:20:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've reviewed B&B separately but this specific shade is fantastic for my normally NC25-30 skintone and I can even use it when I'm a little darker as it is very adaptable. I have the Medium too and that also is adaptable but obviously slightly darker, probably catering for up to NC40. Can't comment on those with very pink tones but both are quite neutral so would most likely suit moderately-pink ladies too. Gives a gorgeous lit-from-within quality without looking glittery or greasy. Before this I was using Clinique Blended Face Powder for years which I still like - hell, I have almost a full pot left so I'd better like it - but I've also dabbled with Bare Minerals, Chanel, NARS, MAC and others. For my skin, B&B has the edge over all those brands and I think the reason is as you get older a powder that starts out as a cream makes a lot more sense for dehydrated skin. Mine is also oily so it's a real challenge to find something that looks good on me with minimal touching-up of shiny areas and absolutely no caking. On my bad skin days I even wear it over foundation for absolutely full coverage and it still looks fresh. As a confirmed tightwad (three kids and a mortgage'll do that to you) I resent shelling out the notes for products that don't perform, but this one delivers on every level. Yes, it's expensive but I feel worth it. I cannot rate it highly enough.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cewkittylover on 1/6/2013 10:18:00 PM more reviews by cewkittylover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love how natural this line is! I hate looking like I caked on makeup and the Balance n Brighten gives my skin the soft minimum coverage it needs.

BUT, I noticed that if I happen to go over my face more than once with its accompanying brush, I turn orange. So I would purchase this again, but am crossing my fingers an even light color will come out in the near future, for the days where I need more coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* knitsnbytes on 12/30/2012 8:02:00 AM more reviews by knitsnbytes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't wear mineral makeup, tried Smashbox Halo, which is good but a bit drying. This powder foundation really does what it says--it balances and brightens my mature skin (not many fine wrinkles, normal-dry.) Fair works for me in winter, but it is a bit pale for summer so I switch to Light, which is a bit yellower and darker. When I put this on with a big brush over Spackle or a primer from DHC, my skin becomes even in tone, but not caked with foundation, which is a problem I have with most liquid fnd. It's easy to reapply and carry. For travel, I find this ideal as it's not a liquid and it won't spill or be an issue for TSA. I've repurchased about three times, so I guess I like it. It lasts a long time, too. Easy to adjust how much to apply, and I find a larger powder brush (not the retractable that comes with it) ideal for application.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Geller products

More Powder products