New York Color • Long Wearing Nail Enamel - Starry Silver Glitter 105 • Polishes

rated 4.3(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 crystalradium on 9/15/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by crystalradium

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have a love/hate relationship with this polish. I actually bought it, tossed it, and then bought it again. I love the combination of various sizes and shapes (regular and round) of glitter in baby pink, sky blue, silver, and holographic, but it's a pain to get any kind of coverage out of it. The best strategy I've found is to dab the first coat on for more coverage, then apply 1-3 more coats normally, but for me it definitely has to be worn over another polish. The pic I've uploaded shows it over Revlon Lilac Pastelle; it peeled off a day later because I was wearing a half-dozen coats of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 12/16/2012 10:58:00 PM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am probably a little old for glitter polish but I still can't resist it. I didn't wear it when I was younger, back then it had a sort of "white trash" reputation. Today it seems that anything goes - I really envy the style rules of the younger crowd now.

Seems that out of all the higher end brands I have bought, this one, for 99 cents, really rates! Better over a darker polish than over light or alone, very sparkly, with different colors and types of glitter to give it some depth. I see blue, pink, and shimmery little silvery specks of all shades. Dries pretty fast, and a pain to remove like most glitter polishes. Wish they had more colors. Lots of fun!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 12/13/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the mix of glitter in this polish has changed since NYC changed their packaging (which was maybe a year ago). I used to see this polish when it was in the old style packaging and didn't think much of it. It was a silver glitter base with medium blue and pink hex glitters if memory serves. I picked it up today because NYC was BOGO 1/2 off at Rite Aid - and because I see that it has fine holographic glitter in the mix now! Either it had holo glitter before and I never noticed or they've recently added it to the mix. But in any case it is a gorgeous, dirt cheap holo glitter. Highly rec. checking this one out :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sensiblenails on 3/16/2012 4:39:00 AM more reviews by sensiblenails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Starry Silver Glitter looks divine on dark polishes because it forces the silver to show up. On lighter colors, the finer glitter looks like little spots in the sunlight but looks amazing indoors. This one's got the usual multi-colored fine glitter and has blue and pink hexagonal glitter interspersed.

This isn't a one coat glitter and it's not meant to be. Application is a bit of a technique thing but it's really pretty all around.

Also, 99 cents!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupdee on 11/12/2011 9:37:00 AM more reviews by makeupdee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful glitter mixture. Looks great over another color. I don't know how it looks on its own but it was well worth 99 cents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pe4chzncre4m on 11/7/2011 1:50:00 AM more reviews by pe4chzncre4m

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Really like using this over my nails to add a little oomph. I layer this on top of other colors because in my opinion it doesn't look good by itself. I like to wear this around the holidays because it makes my nails look a bit more festive. Sometimes its hard to apply the big glitters evenly though. It can also be a pain to take off. But overall a really lovely polish. I recommend using a top coat over it to smooth things out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thespacecowgirl on 9/19/2011 5:38:00 AM more reviews by thespacecowgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a combination of tiny silver holo glitter and larger light pink and bright blue round glitter in a clear base. It's fine to spice up a boring color, but don't expect to ever get any opaque coverage out of this - in fact, the only way to get more than a few specks of glitter on any given nail is to dab it on rather than brushing it on in strokes. Dries fast even when globbed on, about 20 minutes. I wore it over a neutral light gray (NYC Sidewalkers) for something fun but sophisticated. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 9/5/2011 10:12:00 PM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Found this in my sis' drawer. I usually just love simple matte colors, but I wanted to switch it up a bit. This nail polish is cute and Fun. I love that the circle confetti is scattered over my nail. Formula is thick but it's clear so you can pack it on to add more sparkle to your nails. Right now, Im wearing this over revlon's lilac pastelle. Def will repurchase :)

EDIT: this polish is super cute but such a pain in the butt to remove. It felt like I was scrubbing my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HennySparkles on 7/10/2011 11:06:00 PM more reviews by HennySparkles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this nail polish! I used it to decorate iPhone case which was just plain black and got a billion compliments on it! I also painted my nails black and this over it and got a million more! I don't use it as a nail polish anymore that much but more as a little polish to make my personal belongings more prettier! Like my candle jars, Phone cases, Bobby pins and etc !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ximachikenx on 5/1/2011 7:07:00 PM more reviews by ximachikenx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My friend gave me a bottle of this so I could paint my nails as a way to destress during finals week. :) While it does look kind of like a polish a little girl would use, it can be used for glamorous looks as well when put over another polish. Works well for those gradient kinds of looks with lots of sparkles at the tip. One complaint is that this is a pain to remove. Don't know if I'd use this often enough to use up the whole bottle so probably won't repurchase, but it's nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Polishes products