Almay • Almay Truly Lasting Color longwear makeup • Liquid

rated 3.7(148 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Cramon on 1/25/2015 11:47:00 PM more reviews by Cramon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok. So I tried this, and the color was good on my skin, except the fact it made my pores appear huge and ugh it's very thick. Never again. I was late to dinner due to trying to take this off of my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 svetauh on 1/15/2015 4:47:00 PM more reviews by svetauh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll give this a 5 for packaging since it is extremely convenient and comfortable to use - however the product itself disappointed me. The consistency is extremely thick and my skin feels heavy after applying this - even if I use minimal amount. I have combination and acne prone skin. While it didn't break me out, I noticed an increase in blackheads and enlarged pores everytime I used this. It does last you all day and covers any blemishes you might have really well, however it just felt and looked too cakey on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lylliareaa on 1/3/2015 3:59:00 PM more reviews by lylliareaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Okay so my mom has always liked the Almay line because she can only use certain types of makeup. She is quite alergic to other brands so she usually recommends them. Anyways, I was on the hunt for a new liquid foundation because I had used the BareMinerals, mineral foundation and I just didn't like the way it covered my face. I picked it up at Walmart and thought, "well it's 12 bucks so it better be good". The first week, I loved it. It has good coverage and it was definitely a step up from my last few foundations (all mineral). After a solid month of loving it, things took a turn. I started to see spots on my cheeks of buildup from the product. I found out that it was just from not getting all of the makeup off and usually, because of my freckles, that was where the most foundation went. As much as I tried to scrub it off every night using any products I could get my hands on, they would still pop up the next morning. Yes it is long lasting, but so long lasting that you can't get it off. I would have left it on the next day and not taken it off but it's almost invisible, it's there but it isnt covering anything. It just blends right into your skin not making a difference from before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CosmoFan12 on 11/7/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by CosmoFan12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The price is a bit high for drugstores - About 12.00.
The packaging is simple.
Now for what is inside the bottle:
This is not very comfortable after it sets;feels a bit constrictive. It says 'truly lasting color' but the coverage does not last so ladies please read between quoted lines.It also transfers as evidenced by myself lightly wiping my face with a tissue and finding product on it even though it was not a lot. It also kind of settles into pores after one sweats. It dries rather quickly so you need to blend it quickly. If you need to scratch your face,you can expect to find makeup underneath your nails. The only reason I give it a 3 is because it doesn't irritate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 atomickittenlove on 11/5/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by atomickittenlove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect colour match but way too drying/tight feeling.

I have light skin with neutral to yellow/olive undertones and I used Buff.

I gave this a shot for the past three days in hopes of finding something more moisturizing than clinique's acne solutions foundation--- nope- this one is just as drying. It doesn't patch up as much but it feels tight on my skin. Its the same feeling I had with urban decay naked foundation.

The coverage is light to medium- it definitely settles into my smile lines. It doesn't look cakey but when I build it up, it tends to look chalky. I feel like it ages me. no thank you.

I've also been experiencing itchiness after 4 hours of wear... I can't say for sure that its caused by this foundation, but than again i did get a reaction to almay's smart shade almost instantly.

This might work for the summer and/or for oily skin (i have dry to combo). Maybe i'll repurchase in those months if I don't find a HG by then. But, for now i want my $17.99 + tax back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 10/31/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am sick of Revlon Colorstay as it has been reformulated twice and it is not what it was before. ELDW shades are all off too. When this product was new to the market, I tried it but I did not like any of the shades. Looking desperately for something that lasts long and matches my skin tone, I tried the shade Sand. WOW! I am so happy with this product. It lasts long and the shade is the perfect match. All of the shades are neutral unlike other drugstore brands that the shade selection is usually too yellow or too pink. It does not oxidize and it does not feel or look heavy or cakey. I am sticking with this one. Highly recommended if you are sick of Revlon Colorstay and ELDW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sewpercee on 10/22/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Sewpercee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

If you have dry skin and you're looking for a foundation with solid medium coverage that will disguise most flaws AND stick around for most of the day, this is the product for you.

First of all - and this is the thing that disqualifies a foundation from my list immediately - it doesn't turn that beautiful shade of orange on my face. Joy! As I mentioned above, coverage is a very good medium that can be built up to almost full if you do it carefully. It's a thick liquid consistency and I find it applies and blends easily. My dry skin adores this because not only does this foundation last around 5 hours (in summer heat no less) before minor touching up is needed, but it also causes ZERO dry patches or flakes. Nada.

This is not my HG foundation (which I would wear for special occasions or really long work days) but it is an excellent product at a great price that I use on a day to day basis.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 10/7/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really adore this foundation. I have combo/oily, acne prone skin and I prefer a medium coverage. All other longwear foundations I've tried are full coverage, which is why TLC is such a gem. I'm around NC30 right now and I wear 220 Neutral. It's a perfect match for me.

The formula is not too thick or thin and blends into the skin nicely. It covers my active acne well, but I still need to use concealer afterwards. The finish is a natural, satin/matte which looks like my skin, but better.

I set this with Maybelline Dream Wonder powder and it looks amazing for hours. Hasn't broke me out at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 asmolkin on 4/22/2014 1:38:00 PM more reviews by asmolkin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation does oxidize in other words, it makes my face, personally, look ruddy looking a few minutes after applying. I have this in Honey, which should be a good match except it changes shades on me. It is thick but very easy to smooth on face. This is because it is more like a gel than a liquiud in texture. On extra cold days, I can apply this under one of my favorite lightweight mousse foundations, in a shade slightly lighter than my skin tone. The result is a nice Velevet finish. However, on its, own, I do not like this as a foundation whatsoever. The consistency is tacky, so it does work well as a foundation base.

on the other hand..it works nicely underneath a makeup as a base, to control oil and to acheive a nice velvet finish with the makeup you put on top

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Plooosh on 1/4/2014 2:40:00 AM more reviews by Plooosh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally bought Almay Blemish Heal foundation for the bargain price of 3 GBP and found this on offer close to the other foundation at the price of 5 GBP. I figured i'd heard of the make so they couldn't be that bad and I even did a little bit of research on each one before I bought them online.

Each one is the lightest shade as my skin is very fair, the colours are very yellow tinted and their consistency very different. This Almay TLC foundation is thick and hard to manage, I use a brush and it's near impossible with this foundation. Also I have found out that it has a terrible grey-caste and if a flash is near you; your face will be ghastly white. This happens also with the Almay Blemish heal (maybe because they have SPF in them?) either way they are not great for nights out.

The TLC Almay foundation is meant to last 16 hours; it does not. Surprisingly it lasts less time than the Almay Blemish heal which does not include a time for the amount it should stay on. This foundation cakes up after about 2 hours on your face and makes you look patchy; it does not have a very good coverage and was not worth what I paid for it. However the Blemish heal is not bad for how much I paid; yes it had grey-caste but it looks great on your face, lasts all day and it has quite good colour selection.

I have Estee Lauder DW and Almay Blemish Heal is not as good but for 3GBP it's not bad and reminds me of the product with the way it feels; looks and the overall coverage of the face.

Almay TLC; I wouldn't bother buying it...mines going to waste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Liquid products