L'Oreal • Cream shadow paint in Lofty • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 7/13/2011 1:29:00 AM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this mostly as a base and its quite good. Texture wise it is the same as HIP Secretive. Its a light emollient mouse that spreads effortlessly across the lids. I get about 6 hours before slight creasing. The color is a light satin dusty pink/mauve. It can be worn on its own to a naturally pretty effect. I love the tube packaging since it doesn't add extra bulk to the product and is very travel friendly. No problems of getting out too much product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tarzina789 on 12/12/2010 3:49:00 PM more reviews by tarzina789

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in a couple of colors, the worst of which was the lightest one in Secretive. I do not have lines near my eyes yet and this paint CREATED some! The light shade is no good in my opinion, but the other ones that I kept were Lofty and Nervy. Those two are amazing. If you want a wash of color, they're great! I wouldn't use too much at a time, but a little goes a long way. I don't really use them as a base since those two are quite pigmented and don't crease on me. I don't find they're that great as a base since they dry really fast and don't have much of a tacky finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Breve on 5/10/2010 1:25:00 AM more reviews by Breve

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These paints are alright for drugstore but they are still too expensive for their quality. For one thing, they dry out super fast. I bought two myself and they had dried out within a few months of buying them. This color is a really pretty pinkish/beige color that is great for my green eyes- a good neutral everyday color. I'm giving it 2 stars for the color alone. But the paint itself is not so great. You can't really blend these with your finger like you can with Mac's far superior paints/paint pots. The texture of these paints is very thick, so you have to have some sort of brush- it just looks too cakey and these crease almost immediately. Also didn't work for me as a primer- the shadow doesn't blend in on top of it, it just sits there, looking thick and cakey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 washati on 4/7/2010 12:39:00 PM more reviews by washati

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this product! Perfect beigey-sort of pink with just enough shimmer. Lovely by itself for a natural day or paired with HIP Nervy as a highlight on the browbone and inner corner of the eye. Picked this up at CVS for 75% off~ does that mean it's discontinued? Just in case, I stocked up on ebay so I'll be glimmering for months to come.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cocopuffs12 on 12/12/2009 4:39:00 AM more reviews by cocopuffs12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It's a sheer cotton pink and it went well on my skin. I didn't use too much product, just a dab and swiped it with my fingers. The color was pigmented and I didn't wear any base or primer underneath it. This is a great product to use if you're going for the light makeup look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CINDAAA on 11/18/2009 7:40:00 PM more reviews by CINDAAA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product! great primer! doesn't crease at all! works just like MAC paint but really inexpensive! I have all shades of these paints. Also comes with a cute little brush!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 11/3/2009 2:16:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I complimented a friend of mine on her smokey eyeshadow the other day and she told me that she had used MAC Paint as a base, so I thought I'd try this to see if it would work similarly, since I'm broke and can't afford MAC products right now. I was hoping to find this on sale, since I've heard that L'Oreal Cream Shadow Paints were discontinued, but I could only find it at my local CVS pharmacy for full price- $12. (Which is only a few dollars less than MAC paint, so I might end up returning this and hitting up the MAC store anyway.)

I bought Lofty because it suits my skin tone as a base color for most smokey eyeshadow looks. It's a golden-pink shimmery color and looks great, but the formula itself leaves something to be desired. When opening the tube, I was careful to unfold the top almost all the way, as one reviewer advised, to prevent the tube from bursting and spilling product out of the top. I also read a review that said puncturing the opening of the tube with the back of the cap would cause too much product waste, so I punctured the foil opening with a needle instead. This way, only a thin ribbon of product came out when I squeezed the tube.

The eyeshadow comes out a very pretty color but it does tend to sink and settle wayyy deep into any fine lines- so if you have any sort of wrinkles or crepe-y lids, DO NOT USE THIS. It will only highlight any lines or dryness you have. That said, it works pretty well as an eyeshadow base. I brush it all over my eyelid with the included brush and then I use a dark black or brown shadow in the crease and blend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tastest on 9/23/2009 10:56:00 PM more reviews by tastest

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Yiikes, I just dumped this in the trash can. Makes your eyes lids wrinkly and crepey looking.
Doesnt blend.
A terrible product, so beware.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AWilliams87 on 9/23/2009 9:54:00 PM more reviews by AWilliams87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this color. It's a champagne shade with some gold shimmer and you can use it as an all over color or just as a highlighter if you want to do something more dramatic. It can be a little tricky to work with but it really does pay off. Loves it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Darkshadow on 8/29/2009 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Darkshadow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is something nice to try once in a while. I use this when I don't feel like wearing alot of make up. It lasts decently, although it makes my lids look kinda crepey. It's a decent shadow primer, but I wouldn't bother getting it for the purpose if you already own Urban Decay's Primer Potion or a primer that you already love. Very similar to Mac paint, although I have never use the MAC version before. Not too bad, I like that it comes with its own brush and container. Got this on clearance for $2.54 at Target.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products