Paul Mitchell • Super Skinny Relaxing Balm • Styling Products

rated 3.7(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 BrightEyes001 on 2/27/2014 5:31:00 AM more reviews by BrightEyes001

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I loooove this stuff. For reference, my hair is fine, thin, and very wavy. Now don't get me wrong, I love my waves/curls, but I always found myself running a flat iron over the ends of my hair because I have a nervous habit of running my fingers through my hair when I get nervous (which is often, lol) and it makes my hair really floss-y and separated, and not in the good way. I used to use this in middle school and recall loving it, so I picked it up again a few days ago. It pulls out just enough curl so it looks like it does with my straightener! I only give it four lippies because it feels kind of stiff and crunchy in my hair as it's drying, but after it's fully dry my hair is super soft! I use this after conditioning with Matrix Biolage Conditioning Balm, and apply a little bit of a cream mousse on top for hold. Finally, a combination that keeps my hair from poofing in this humid, tropical weather!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 9/1/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried numerous products prior to this one for my thick, frizzy, curly hair. Few make the cut. This one however makes the cut, but only narrowly misses the trash can at the same time. This product certainly helps with the curl and drying time, however it can still be quite frizzy and therefore rather bulky on a humid day. Albeit, not many products can perform on a humid day..in my opinion. With that said, this product has a thin liquidy consistancy that makes it easy to apply throughout your hair, the smell is nothing spectacular and it doesn't linger past the hair drying stage. A little bit goes a long way with this product and too much can make your hair sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alypagz on 7/15/2013 3:53:00 PM more reviews by alypagz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I keep coming back to this product! My hair is so frizzy this summer that I have to use several products to keep looking ok! This product helps my hair dry faster and seems to keep my bangs pretty straight with a little shine, too. My hair is a little below my shoulders and medium thickness and I use about 3 pumps on wet hair without getting the greasy flat look. Overall a pretty good product. I pretty much only write reviews if I really like a product, but I have put a few reviews out on products that did not work for me and I felt a total waste of money. I am still working on the perfect combo for my hair, but my hair chances so much with the weather that it is hard to nail one down. I will continue to use this one for the rest of the summer.
Update - works pretty good in humidity, but in the dry weather it leaves my hair flat and slippery without any body, so I took a lippy away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oxsodadancer20ox on 6/19/2013 1:20:00 PM more reviews by oxsodadancer20ox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

When I ran out of this product and had to go without it, I realized how amazing it is. My hair was very frizzy and even wavy when I didn't use this product on it. With it, my hair air-dries to be straight, soft, and smooth!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessicaintulsa on 11/30/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Jessicaintulsa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

My stylist turned me on to this product 2 years ago and I've never looked back! My hair is thick and wavy and tends to be frizzy and dry due to flat ironing on a daily basis. This product does what it says! Smells so good! It does not cut the frizz completely it comes very close my roots look 100% better. I absolutely recommend to those with thick/wavy hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keewee88 on 10/2/2012 1:52:00 PM more reviews by keewee88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm SHOCKED that there is anyone who doesn't love this product! As someone with thick, wavy hair, i'm always looking for things that de-pouf my hair and this delivers...

I find that it cuts drying time by a lot but the only complaint i have is that it makes my hair TOO slippery for a flat iron - I have to mix in a little gel when I plan to straighten because otherwise my hair slides through the iron too easily and doesnt straighten well...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMargarita on 8/23/2012 7:30:00 PM more reviews by MissMargarita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite straightening balm. A dime size amount of product is all you need. It makes the process of blow drying my hair much faster. Sometimes I just put the product into my damp hair and let it air dry. Once dry, I flat iron my hair in sections. This stuff paired with my flat iron gets my hair perfectly straight. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sealegg on 4/15/2012 4:36:00 PM more reviews by sealegg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I got a small bottle of this with my serum, and it worked great with my hair. I like the smell of the super skinny line Paul Mitchell has. Like the reviewer below me I have the same type of hair. My hair is curly, thick and now that it's shorter it's poofier. As the name of the product says "Super Skinny Relaxing Balm" my hair feels more relaxed after I use this, without having to spend too much time styling my hair to avoid frizz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Haruhi13 on 1/4/2012 3:46:00 PM more reviews by Haruhi13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I have a lot of medium-thick, wavy, extremely frizzy hair which is currently almost waist-length. It's the type of hair that, when cut short, turns into a giant fluff ball.
This works quite well, making my hair soft, silky and shiny. It doesn't completely eliminate frizz, but I'd be hard-pressed to name a product that does. It doesn't really make my hair straight either, which is nice. The scent is very pretty and floral.
Overall, it's a nice product and I'll be repurchasing this. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sheridingdong on 9/23/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by sheridingdong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This stuff sucked for me. It weighs my fine hair down no matter how much or how little I use. I find it doesn't smooth my hair out at all and it doesn't do anything for shine or protection in my opinion. The serum is much better. Unfortunately since it was so expensive I have to use it up :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Styling Products products