NYX • Round Lipstick in Strawberry Milk #595 • Lipstick

rated 2.9(107 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 knbruice on 1/23/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by knbruice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am very fair (nc15) with light blonde hair and green eyes, and I bought this on a whim for $3.99 at target because I thought the light bright pink was perfect. When applied however...it's ALOT lighter than it appears in the tube. And it is very pigmented but shows every dry spot and imperfection on your lips. It is really really creamy though and I love the way it goes on. It looks decent on my skin because I am so pale but I feel like a pornstar if I don't blot and blend it out or tone it down with a gloss. The color is really beautiful for fair skin though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/8/2013 9:30:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like others have said, this is definitely made for a very light skin tone. I am a nw20 (cool-fair) and I am even borderline for this shade. It is very pale pink, so pale it hard to pull off straight out of the tube. What i have found works best is to use a brush or my fingers and put it on for more subdued look. If I use a natural liner it looks very nude.

I wont be purchasing this again simply because it takes too much effort to use it. The packaging is flimsy, as with all of these lippies from this line, and the formula is drying. I would go with something else similar from Revlon's lustrous line or L'Oreal in their pale pinks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Inayah on 9/24/2013 3:53:00 AM more reviews by Inayah

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh boy, when I was buying this lipstick I was looking at the color in the tube and thought it looked pretty but its actually a very pale pink color and it looks awful on my skin tone. This is also way to pigmented that it looks cakey on the lips and makes wrinkly or dry, crusty lips look awful. Don't get me wrong I love NYX lipsticks but this color looks horrible on me. On the bright side the lipstick is very creamy.

EDIT: Horrible lip color for me, but it makes a nice cream blusher! I tried it as a blush and it looks nice on me. At least I could use it in some way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 angelicgirlangel on 5/30/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by angelicgirlangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am quite pale with eastern Asian skin, and most of the lipsticks I buy tend to look stronger/vibrant then I want them to look on my skin. I often have to layer a foundation lightly underneath on my lips to make them look the way I want them to. I read that lots of paler girls liked this, but this color was not flattering on me. The lightness of the lipstick was all right, and in yellow/artificial lighting it looked nice. However, as soon as I stepped outside or in better lighting I realized the lipstick looked quite garish on me. The color simply had too much blue that in white light it looked very purple on my skin.In the tube, the lipstick is a beautiful pink that does remind me of strawberry milk, but if you have yellow undertones I would stay clear.
Consistency wise, I was also disappointed. Although the lipstick is pigmented, it has an odd finish that is creamy and manages to emphasize dry spots-very strange. I thought this lipstick would have a thinner balm like consistency, but it instead felt more like a heavy cream with too much pigment mixed in. Even when you do apply it perfectly, if you're the type to smack your lips (which I am), the color moves and slips on your lips. I had such high hopes, but I can't imagine who this lipstick would flatter. Perhaps if you are extremely pale with very cool undertones or if you were going for the bold nicki-minaj look it would work. After some deliberation, I returned the lipstick. I am still on the hunt for the perfect pale pink.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 4/4/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Shade description: pale baby pink

Pros

- pigmented
- creamy

Cons

- drying

Comments: I don't find this shade overly creamy like most others from this line. It's a pale pink that I find easy to wear so long as I have enough color on my cheeks.

Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 2/6/2013 3:56:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this color - it's just fun. No, it's not natural at all. But I love that. When I have boring eye makeup, I go for a fun bright lip. If you've purchased and don't like the "fake" look, you could always apply this first with a finger lightly, then apply a more natural shade on top to brighten the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cenxo on 1/31/2013 3:12:00 AM more reviews by cenxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

this is one of my favorite lipsticks! I was sad to see that it has so many bad reviews. this color only works on a handful of skin tones & colors. I have cool, fair skin which looks great with this lip color. as far as its opaqueness, I use a lip brush with almost all of my lipsticks that helps evenly apply and makes it way more smoothe than cakey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dawny0826 on 11/24/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dawny0826

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love NYX becaus it's affordable and you get a lot of value for your money. I have quite a few of the Round Lipsticks and I purchased most for around $2.00. I'm very impressed by the array of colors that are available and these lipsticks are often "go tos" for me.

Most of the NYX lipsticks are fairly pigmented.

The lids can come off of these lipsticks rather easily and I've had several to easily crack. Additionally, I've had several lipsticks to break. They're still useable, but, they've broken.

As far as quality is concerned, I do think that you get a very pigmented color for your money and and the formula is quite moisturizing.

Strawberry Milk is a nice color. It's a very nude, pink. Looks great with a smokey eye. Rather stark on my lips without a lipgloss, so I usually use a pink or nude gloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CascadiaLurves on 8/22/2012 11:35:00 AM more reviews by CascadiaLurves

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I fell in love with the color, just by looking at the lipstick.
However, as I applied to my lips, I was horrified. It was opaque, cakey, and looks fake on my lips. Worst of all, my friends commented that I look pale and sick when I had the lipstick on.
I supposed this color is only suitable for those with fairer skin tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jwalash on 8/16/2012 7:45:00 AM more reviews by Jwalash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

In contrast to most other reviews, I absolutely love this lipstick, but this is only for a certain group of people.. And I will tell you exactly who this would look best on.
This strawberry milk (literally) color will only work on a select few, you must be fair and cool toned... So that limits this to NW20s and below. if you're any darker or warm/yellow toned, you will look like a stripper. It reminds me of that colored sunblock from the 90s that used to come in a Chapstick tube. I love this lipstick, if you're a fair, cool toned lady who likes pink lips, id definitely suggest this. If you're dark or warmer toned, stay away unless you work at the hustler club.
The consistency is good, the coloring is opaque, and it fades perfectly, no ring around the lips. This is one of 5 lipsticks I've ever used up and repurchased within 6 months, and I own about 60-70 lipsticks and lipglosses. the only other lip product I've ever gone through so quickly is Macs cremesheen fashion scoop... Yeah I love cool toned milky pinks!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products