Robert Piguet Fragrances • Visa • Fragrances

rated 3.9(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Raquel100 on 6/24/2014 12:49:00 AM more reviews by Raquel100

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Visa smells like a nightclub in the 70's to me. Not that I went clubbing in the 70's or anything, but one whiff of this and it's like I'm suddenly remembering nights at Studio 54. Strange, I know! I guess it's the leather note that tends to wrap around the entire scent that makes me think of deep leather seats at a dark swanky place with velvet ropes. Visa is a STRONG scent, the way that 80's aldehydic scents could take over a whole room. There's something slightly reminiscent of bourban that hangs in the air with vanilla and sweet peach that turns too syrupy, but not in a cotton candy kind of way. There's something too screechy about Visa to me. I tend to err on the teeny bopper sweet vanilla side of perfumes, and while there is vanilla here, it's drowned out in way too much leather (for me). Visa is a vintage perfume that through reformulation still has a vintage vibe, but there's also something peachy that's reaching to become a modern fruity floral or floriental but for me the peaches are bruised, overripe, and tiresome and I just want to wrap myself up in a warmer, more cottony soft and sweet comforting vanilla. And if I'm craving fruit with my vanilla, it's going to be sweet and just right, not overripe. I do see the appeal in this, however. And if you love the scent of leather and screechy peach, and you like your perfume and your music loud, you may just be tempted to dance the night away in this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 11/16/2012 1:01:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great classy scent: a sweet vanilla, with a slight fruitiness. Only reason I wouldn't buy again is it just didn't make me swoon. There are far better fragrances out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lalki1 on 6/23/2012 1:27:00 PM more reviews by lalki1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Very sweet and fruity but it also smells chemical to me and not interesting.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cocorocha on 3/5/2012 5:05:00 PM more reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

...this is nothing like Angel,nothing like Prada edp, nothing like gourmands that this smell has been compared to..
this is straight forward fruity chypre,very very Molinard's Miss Habanita or Parou's Patou Forever kinda way...
nice, creamy,very beautiful opening, but popsicle sweetnes make me want to run far away from this one....very nauseating, sinthetic sweetnes....
and respect, but so not gonna pass me buy again:))

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumegirl on 4/11/2011 7:58:00 PM more reviews by perfumegirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Had a sample love this fragrance it lasts and is so interesting, love it Fracas is too strong to wear many places, this is delightful as it Douglas Hannant, wonderful fragrances

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dundada on 2/2/2011 9:28:00 PM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Yeah Visa's alright smell-wise but Bandit ends up smelling better, more interesting and different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atomic_girl on 10/17/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know what the original Visa smelled like, but the rerelease of Visa is a divine creamy-woody oriental. I've seen it described as a chypre, but to my mind chypres are dry scents, and Visa is anything but dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettykitty1 on 9/12/2010 2:43:00 PM more reviews by prettykitty1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

If Shalimar were a woman who had a long-lost brother or tomboyish sister, it would be Visa. The family resemblance is definitely there, and while I realize these scents aren't from the same house, they very well could be.


Visa is moderately vanillic on my skin, but it is more incense and leather than anything else. At times, I catch a hint of powder too, but it's so restrained that it could never overwhelm the other components of the scent.


I fell in love with Visa the moment I spritzed it on, and as it wore throughout the day I was pleased by how well it captured my favorite aspects of Shalimar without ever becoming too sweet or powdery (which I admit can be a problem with Shalimar if applied too liberally in warm weather).


Visa's leathery incense *could* make it suitable for a man, and yet it's not so masculine that I would hesitate to wear it. It's perfect for all the times when I might want to feel like Jo March from "Little Women," while Shalimar makes me feel like her uber-femme sister Meg.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stonie on 6/28/2010 5:19:00 PM more reviews by Stonie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the reformulated Visa by Guichard.
I can sum this scent up in one word -SWOON!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 10/11/2009 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Visa is something for which it takes repeated exposure to develop an appreciation. For once, the notes alone do tell quite a bit of the story, minus an important middle tonal narrative.



Visa is all parts of a peach--the slightly raw greennness of underripe peach (here rendered by violet leaf); stewed and jammy cooked peach; peach "leather" (a "gourmand leather" accord, per the notes), sun-blushed, rosy peach (a white-rose note unfurls in the heart notes).
There is also the impression of a peach latex, which is unexpected, rubbery, and, if one can escape the idea of a BandAid, pleasurably kinky.



Kinky peach? Indeed, with a hit of fermentation at the top and a dark streak of immortelle cutting down through the center to a light leathery base. This "gourmand leather," which is abetted by vanilla bean, is more rubber garment than it is cowhide. Visa is baby powder for grown-ups who like to do things with aforementioned latex and have no need for furtiveness.



Visa succeeds in not being sweet. It is powdery to a degree, but at the moment that the powder association seems most prominent a bitterness of the peach kernel appears, removing the cosmetic aspect that such a tone conveys. Visa is subtle stuff, as befits a fragrance that seems so personal and less about signature than it is about secrets.



Chypre base is very, very faint. One could easily speculate on how Visa might have been done differently, with more assertive base (i. e. Mitsouko or perhaps even Patou 1000) and heavier floral. As it stands, the peach in Visa stays throughout, unlike in Mitsouko where it frequently fails to make an appearance.



Visa is probably the most successful (commercial fragrances) of the "nouveau chypre" cheat that turns the traditional base into two-thirds of its former self or sweetens it so heavily that it becomes little more than vanillic patchouli and a ragged edge of vetiver. It's not a big scent and chances are that anyone smelling it for the first time might find it unremarkable. Visa's oddity takes time to appreciate. I don't find that much of a similarity to Angel, except for the fruit/patchouli mechanism; Angel is an industrial complex and Visa is not. The patchouli is also much thinner.



I'm a sucker for Piguet's black cubes and consider them chicest of the bottlings. I even prefer Visa in this bottle to its original bottle, which was sportif (and I have no idea what the original smelled like). Visa is a definite mood fragrance, rather than a "setting" fragrance, and is worth seeking out for being just this much left of center.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Robert Piguet Fragrances products

More Fragrances products