Physicians Formula • organic wear translucent medium • Pressed Powders

rated 3.2(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* volshorn08 on 3/5/2010 7:57:00 PM more reviews by volshorn08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this powder. I got it on clearance at Target for $3 (from $14). This powder is certainly not matte. It's first ingredient is Mica. I get a very "glowy" smooth look with this powder. I do blot to make it look less "shiny" and that helps. The ingredients and the claims this product makes are more pluses (organic, hypoallergenic, etc). I do occasionally use the brush that came with it and I find that it actually works well with the powder, though it is a tiny bit scratchy, it is not irritatingly so. This particular shade has a yellow tone and goes on a bit lighter than one would think. I have noticed the smell everyone talks about, but it doesn't bother me (me, with a very sensitive nose) enough to not use the products, and the smell does go away. All in all, it is a good product for someone who worries about sensitivity or chemicals on their face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dearestkelly on 2/14/2010 12:05:00 AM more reviews by dearestkelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product SUCKS, basically.
It sucks as a powder, and translucent powder.
I DO NOT recommend this.
makes me look TOOO pale. and it smells BAD.
TRUST.
just don't get it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maureenheather on 4/21/2009 10:57:00 PM more reviews by maureenheather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this powder, especially because it's 40% off at CVS this week! I went to CVS to return a Revlon foundation that looked just awful on me and saw that all the PF stuff was on sale. Although I had no experience with this brand, I decided to buy up some of the organic stuff because it has no parabens or talc. I bought the organic tinted moisturizer (awesome) and the pressed powder in translucent medium to go with it, and I absolutely love the combination. I do not notice a bad smell at all, and I like the compact with its little brush and mirror in the bottom compartment. This powder is super fine but doesn't sink into my pores or fine lines. I think it's superior to the Origins Silk Screen, which I used to love but stopped using because it aggravated my rosacea. I might even go back to CVS and buy a backup while it's still on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Darkshadow on 12/29/2008 12:12:00 AM more reviews by Darkshadow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

OK, I'll start with the packaging. It comes in a cute container that is space saving. Amazing for the purse! The problem being..

The brush. I would have had better luck at the dollar store. It sheds something awful, not to mention it REEKS. Another problem with the packaging is the holder for the brush cannot be removed so you can get more powder out of the sifter, so it's a bit time consuming to get enough powder out to do your entire face. With that aside..


It's got very sheer coverage, although it did not break me out. In fact, I think it did the opposite! It however has a distinct musty smell. It's barely tolerable. To tolerate it, I put a spearmint flavored lip gloss on. This is very lightly colored, even though I bought translucent medium. It'd be great over a foundation or on top of concealer to blend it in better.

If you're looking for heavy coverage, stay away! This however, has been what I really need, a loose powder with slight coverage to reduce shine without clogging my pores. It is a bit drying, under my nose feels a bit dry. I would recommend a moisturizer before and after it's use.

The price was decent for what the product is. Honestly I would throw out the Kabuki that it comes with, it's useless!!

I don't wear alot of face make up, and I prefer a 'less is more' policy as far as my face goes. This gets the job done at a reasonable price.

EDIT: This is going down from 4 to 2 lippies. 1. It has talc, which when inhaled, is dangerous. Considering this stuff goes everywhere when you swirl it on, not a fan anymore. 2. With prolonged use it made my skin VERY irritable. I have since switched to Bare Minerals and had much better results. Not as chalky, less irritating. But this isn't bad for the price, I suppose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivysmom1 on 6/12/2008 11:12:00 AM more reviews by ivysmom1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am fair skinned but I bought this in translucent medium. It goes on lighter than than one would think. Keep this in mind if you decide to purchase it. It isnt a normal pressed powder even though thats what it says on the package. It is actually foundation according to the website. I happen to like it because I like the luminosity it gives. If you want a matte finish you may not care for this one. It does have a slight smell like the organic products in this line. I dont use the silly brush it comes with unless im in the car for a quick touch up. I use my kabuki brush and apply it like you would with other mineral foundations. I use it lightly because it does seem to sit on your skin and can look cakey if you use too much. I dust it over my tinted moisturizer (PF organics that i happen to love). It gives more coverage if you apply it with a makeup sponge. It gives nice coverage for me and my skin looks absolutely flawless. The only thing I really dont like is that it rubs off very easily in comparison to other mineral type foundations. It it very light on your skin and doesnt feel like you have on makeup. I have had no breakouts either. Im not big into powders or powder foundations but this is very good. it also covers my dark circles when I use it with the sponge instead of a brush. very happy with this purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* celodie on 4/27/2008 1:17:00 AM more reviews by celodie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am falling in love with this product line more and more! I first tried the bronzers...LOVE. Then i decided i should try the pressed powder. I was a little nervous since everything makes me break out but since the packaging indicated that it is: 100% free of harsh chemicals, free of synthetic preservatives, free of parabens, free of synthetic colors and fragrances and last but not least...cruelty free...how could i not give it a chance? This particular product is great for touch ups and take the shinies away. Really gives me a natural finish and so far no breakouts! I am kind of hoping they come out with a liquid foundation too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lizw217 on 3/5/2008 10:36:00 PM more reviews by lizw217

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this pressed powder. It seemed like the color would suit me. The color was a little off. I'm a latina with a med tan (if you want to call it that) and yellow undertones. I choose the translucent because I did not want it to look ashy. It did not look ashy but it did just sit on top of my skin. I had a black sweater on and it rubbed off on my sweater. It has no staying power. I would not buy this again. Although I will give the packaging credit it was cute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucky7597 on 2/17/2008 12:50:00 PM more reviews by lucky7597

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this thinking wow! an organic product! I have used other organic products and this one is horrible. It STINKS like someone who has not showered in days.....It really is bad. I am very disappointed. I really like the packaging but the smell - no way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Will not be repurchasing EVER again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* teddyblue on 2/12/2008 9:01:00 PM more reviews by teddyblue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! I couldn't believe it when i saw ecocert at a drugstore. That was really cool. The had the products all the way at the top shelve so i had to basically jump to get them, but it was TOTALLY worth it. This translucent powder is very light and it does a great job of mattifying and evening out my skintone. A couple years ago, i used to use another translucent powder from physicians formula, and i used to get so many compliments about how my skin looked velvety. But i switched to organics and i never bought it again. This is truly a great product because now i can have both.! I highly recommend it. With this one you won't have to worry about what it is that you are putting on your face, because it tells you and its all natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soniawonia on 2/4/2008 10:35:00 PM more reviews by soniawonia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Goes soooo well with the TM from this line. Feels air light and looks so natural. I don't feel heavily made up. Natural tans don't look good with heavy powder. So this is perfect. The packaging is so cute. Love that it's paper. Goes hand-in-hand with the whole organicness of it. Doesn't break me out eather. Smells earthy to me. Like clay. My new HG. Been using this line for about 5 days and it's definitly improved my skin. Love it.
UPDATE: Looooooove it even more now than I did then. It's been like a month I think? Yeah. Lol. It's amazing. I don't notice the clay scent anymore. At all. Like I can't even smell it. I guess I got used to it forever. Try it ladies!!! Thank me later LOL :P

UPDATE: I just got my second one like 15 minutes ago. I got it in the medium this time. I accidently got light last time cause I thought it was medium light since the center is light and the rest medium. But yeah. For the peoples who don't like how it smells, you actually get used to it after using it for like 3-4 days. I didnt like it at first eather but I love the product so continued. Im so used to the scent, that when I opend the new one I took a wiff to see if maybe the other one's scent faded and nope,, I still dont notice the scent. I <3 this product. I will never use another powder ever again. This has no talc or mineral oil like the cover girl one I was using which I realized was why I was breaking out. My skin can breathe!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Pressed Powders products