Skinceuticals Phyto+ Botanical Gel for Hyperpigmentation

3.5

14 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Thyme Extract, Arbutin Glycoside, Glycerin, Uva Ursi Extract, Kojic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cucumber Extract, Citris Bioflavanoid Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Herbal Fragrance


on 7/1/2014 5:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

To begin with this has a watery green consistency, which when rubbed on your skin, leaves a green stain behind. Not very appealing right? The packaging is a dark glass bottle with pump, not convenient for traveling due to weight issues. This product will not give you fast results, you will maybe notice improvement in two weeks. The positive side, is that for sensitive skin, it does not cause itching, nor irritation, nor burning sensation. It does not dry out your skin. I wouldn't repurchase due to the exaggerated cost for something I don't love.



on 10/26/2012 7:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Skinceuticals' Phyto+ Gel for hyperpigmentation does not work on all cases (as seen from the reviews on Makeup Alley). I used this product for weeks and saw zero difference. It is very expensive for an ineffective product.


on 9/22/2012 3:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Acne scars, aging, hormone estrogen levels, reactions to prescription drugs such as salicylic acid or benzyl peroxide are all causes of hyperpigmentation. Some people use bleaching creams to treat hyperpigmentation, but these can take up to 6 months to show any results at all, if any, and can contain all kinds of harmful chemicals. Laser treatments are also being used to treat hyperpigmentation, but these treatments are very expensive and can sometimes make the condition worse rather than better. Glycolic acid is what I recommend. I have been using Made from Earth's Grapefruit Glycolic Wash - and it has really helped with my hyperpigmentation. I like that its organic - especially because I have sensitive skin. I recommend it to you - best of luck!


on 9/19/2012 6:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have dry, sensitive skin and I have not found this product to be irritating at all. It contains almost all natural ingredients (I think just 1 isn't) and it works slowly to help break up dark spots. I have been using it for just over a month and can already tell a HUGE difference in the appearance of my hyper pigmentation. This stuff works really well but it does take a little time. I will be repurchasing when I run out.


on 6/23/2011 5:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had some hyperpigmention around my mouth area =( a few years ago I used some wrong product recommended by my friend.. did work for her.. turned out horrible for me.. Shouldnt have done that.. So that area became so freakin dark.. I tried everything.. chemical peels, all kind of 'special' products, homemade stuff.. nothing worked.. I gave up hope and tried to convince myself that I have to accept it and try to live with hyperpigmention around my mouth.. =(

Then I read something about this gel including some good reviews, I wanted to give it a trytry.. An expensive shot, but I had to try it..

As I only used it around my mouth area, 2 drops was more than enough.. one bottle lasted over a year.. I started using and continued using it.. I knew it will take some time to see results and I had to be patient.. that wouldnt be problem..

After a while.. say 6 months I noticed that area became lighter again.. now almost 2 years later and using my second bottle.. I took a look in the mirror last week to have a closer look.. to actually examinate it.. I can easily tell.. that my hyperpigmention has disappeared for like 85 to 90%..!! I absolutely love this stuff.. I know the change appeared way earlier, but it's that I took a notice last week..

If I compare my skin with 2 years ago, it looks like I never had hyperpigmentation on my skin! Yes it's expensive, but it works..!! Well.. it works for me.. Im planning to keep using this.. doesnt harm my skin..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2011 8:44:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i'm using this in conjunction with many other things BUT that said i do think this helps. my aesthetician said it provides some antibacterial effects which i have to agree. i wanted to stop using benzoyl peroxide so this was a good substitute. my dark marks are fading but i use this every day and do other things like alternate with obagi, use my clarisonic and do at home chemical peels. i will certainly finish this bottle and plan to repurchase.


on 2/9/2011 11:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't notice a dramatic change. However, it does temporary remove red.
I've written an extensive review on my blog comparing skinceutical products to another brand. I don't find Skinceutical serums to be life changing. So I would rather pay less to another company that has the same formulas.

http://solanomad.tumblr.com/


on 9/26/2009 5:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i being using phyto+ with Phloretin CF and i see result within 3 weeks. my dark sport has really lighten by around 35% and result start to slow down after 2 month.but i still have 3/4 left.hopefully it will further lighten my dark spots by the time i finlish it.


on 7/31/2009 8:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Firstly, I should mention that what impresses me most about this serum is that it actually does what it claims it will do. I had some light melasma on my face (from the pill), as well as freckles. It was really starting to bother me and starting to become quite noticeable, so I came off the medication and gave this stuff a whirl after reading Dr. Baumann's recommendations for DSPW skin. I have been using this for 3 weeks morning and night under my moisturiser and there is a visible difference in my skin. The melasma has broken up and the patches are barely visible, about 40-50% of my freckles are completely gone, and my skin has a nice white clarity to it. I am about half way through the bottle so I must be using quite a lot for each application (4 drops, 2 for each side of my face concentrating on the melasma). I think by the time I have finished the bottle the melasma will be gone, but I will repurchase and have a go at the rest of the freckles on my face. This serum also has the added benefit of being quite calming on my skin, and has not irritated or caused my skin any blemishes (small miracle!). I highly recommend, at AUD$65 it's worth a go for a noticeable improvement and cheaper than anything from brands like Estee Lauder.
EDIT: don't forget to wear sunscreen when using this product, or you will be wasting your money!
EDIT: I stopped using this after the first bottle as I think it was a bit too irritating on my skin. My skin is quite sensitive and was going through some changes during that stage so I am sure the product is fine for others. My advice would be tread carefully if you have sensitive skin, but otherwise it is still an excellent product. I should note that I got similar lightening results from using a BHA exfoliant (Paula's choice). Something to keep in mind as this serum is expensive.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2009 10:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Phyto plus, like all Skinceutical Products is pricey - but also - like all Skinceutical products - you get what you pay for. YOU MUST USE THIS faithfully twice a day for 12 weeks. 12 weeks, ladies. It's a long time, but you will see results.


I used this to correct some hyperpigmentation (brown spots) on my nose. It is also great for sun damage on the decollete.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1286 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
181 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
102 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
280 Reviews
Back to Top