Aveeno • oatmeal bath • Bath Treatments

rated 4.3(85 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ekym on 8/24/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by ekym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought this for when my eczema (that is usually managed without regular soaks), needed a little extra help. It was soothing and nice, but I never used it on a regular basis. Sometime later, I had an allergic reaction to prescription medication. Hives broke out all over my body, starting at my joints (elbows, knees, hips, wrist, and hands) and over the course of several days they hives migrated to my face, up my arms, my thighs, shoulders, back, neck, and so on. Since I still had some of these packets left, I tried it out. I soaked for 20 minutes in the coolest water I found comfortable (hot water will make hives worse, but I don’t want to feel chilly, either). Make sure to mix the powder in well as it has a tendency to clump and settle at the bottle of the tub. I instantly felt less itchy after one use. The next night (since by then there were hives on my shoulders), I didn’t add the entire packet to the bath, but reserved some to make a paste that I could spread on my shoulders and neck since I couldn’t submerge them in the tub. If the paste got too dry, I would dip my shoulders into the bath water to re-moisten it. That worked like a dream and those hives were nearly gone the next morning. I honestly think the Aveeno did more for my hives than the prescription steroids the ER gave me and the Benedryl did. I love that it is 100% colloidal oatmeal, no fillers or artificial ingredients. The pre-measured packets are easy to open and convenient for travel, I just add a couple to my toiletry bag “just in case” my eczema might flare up. I will never go without this treatment again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 auntita on 1/26/2014 10:35:00 PM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

My sister gave me a couple of packets of this to try after I'd accidentally disturbed a bee hive and was stung all over. It was very soothing and made the stings more bearable. I remember not wanting to get out of the tub.
Aveeno Soothing Bath Treatment does exactly what the box says. I was glad to have it that day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 11/28/2013 7:13:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this product makes my dry itchy skin feel. After soaking in a nice warm bath with this bath treatment, my skin is left hydrated soft and smooth. I still use a moisturizer after my bath.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 burcidi on 4/21/2012 2:10:00 PM more reviews by burcidi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's been a while since I used these. They're really hydrating and make your skin feel really soft. I probably didn't need these because I have oily skin. And when I came out of the bath, it left a sort of oily residue on my skin. I'm not used to that, but that's probably why it's hydrating and protecing. It was nice to be able to skip moisturizer after the bath. It did save me time and energy that way.

I recommend this for people with dry skin. It's a nice soothing bath for wintertime and the price is good too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Blubird23 on 11/26/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by Blubird23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love these oatmeal baths for when my eczema gets especially itchy, usually in the winter. I haven't had much luck with Aveeno lotions but this bath seems to really help soothe my itching. I just wish the effect would last a little longer, it seems to only help for a few hours. Overall I like this product and have puchased it many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 polkadotshears on 10/19/2011 10:07:00 PM more reviews by polkadotshears

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Love this stuff!

Makes my skin super soft and it feels like it puts a coating on my skin to prevent it from getting dry.

Only complaint is I had to move it around the bath a couple times to make it not stick to the bottom of the tub.

Overall, amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 6/14/2011 4:22:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Will I buy this again? Ha! I will purchase this oatmeal bath for the rest of my life. I started using this in grade school. My younger sister has eczema, and her doctor recommended this for her to bathe in, and she absolutely hated it, and I, of course, loved it! It is so comforting, it smells good, and it does soothe my skin and make it feel really lush and soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mountaingem on 3/22/2011 3:00:00 PM more reviews by mountaingem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Overall a great product for soothing my rashy, irritated skin. But as another reviewer mentioned, a little overpriced and definitely will clog the drain.

My solution is to put the oatmeal powder in a clean dry knee high stocking and knot the end,then place in a full tub of warm water. It sort of steeps the oatmeal in the bath, like a tea bag.

I'm thinking of trying this with instant oatmeal-much cheaper.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 3/22/2011 12:42:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm not saying this is a bad product- it's not. It is, however, a vastly, horrendously overpriced product. A huge rip-off! So huge that I had to take off major points.
"Colloidal" just means "a system of small particles".
And "colloidal oatmeal" is the only ingredient. All it is: finely ground oatmeal.
I can give you "100% colloidal oatmeal" and even up the ante by making it organic- and still for a fraction of the price.
I put plain uncooked oatmeal (not instant) in a coffee grinder and- VOILA! It's the EXACT SAME THING. For the same price as one box I can make fifty times that at home. If you really want to get fancy buy organic oatmeal.
That being said, it's great for the skin. Very soothing and good for eczema and rashes.
Don't use too much or you risk clogging the drain, though.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrissygalpal on 7/24/2010 7:27:00 PM more reviews by chrissygalpal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is wonderful. AMAZING. I was having an allergic reaction to somthing and my doctor told me to try this for my itching I was having. It worked so well. Not only did it help with my problem but my husband said my skin felt softer than ever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Bath Treatments products