Sally Hershberger Supreme Head Shampoo for Wavy Hair

3.4

10 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/29/2012 10:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Smells great (coconut/lime/beachy), but almost too over powering. I love fragrant shampoos but this was too strong. My hair is naturally wavy with loose curls. This product didn't enhance the wave or curl. It made my hair frizzy. The packaging is pretty, but it was so difficult to get the shampoo (and conditioner) out of the bottle. I ended up taking the cap off, and I would have to shake the bottle until the product came out. I definitely wouldn't buy this again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else. I can buy better shampoos at a cheaper price.



on 8/9/2011 7:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

There really aren't that many products out there formulated for wavy hair, so when I saw this I really wanted to try it. While it did a decent job enhancing my waves, my hair felt really dry after using it. I was so disappointed because I really wanted to like it and it smells great, but I think I am going to try something that will be more moisturizing. However, I still want to try the other wavy hair styling products from Sally Hershberger. Hopefully i'll have better luck with them!


on 7/4/2011 12:23:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I get this at Big Lots for $2.00 love the fragrance ( wished it was also came in body lotion), but most of all I love what the shampoo does to enhance my waves. I do not use the shmpoo with its matching conditioner, but use clariol Nice & Easy conditioner instead---I find these 2 products work best together on my hair.


on 12/12/2010 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love love love love! I got this for 5$ at my local Ocean State Job lot, STEAL, considering I think its about 10$ more. I love to use this with the conditioner aswell, I think they work the best that way. The smell is amazing, like I just came home from the salon. It actually made my hair a little bit more manageable! Going to buy backups soon. Can't go wrong for 5$!


on 4/21/2010 10:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it! My hair is thick and wavy and complicated. This shampoo and conditioner combo makes my hair soft, shiny, and more manageable. Plus I love the smell!


on 1/23/2010 12:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this shampoo and conditioner! It leaves my hair so incredibly soft and silky. Absolutely no dryness or frizz! I noticed that my hair still looked freshly washed 3 days later. I found this on clearance and liked the idea of trying a pricey shampoo and conditioner for a couple of bucks. Had I known it would work so beautifully I would have gladly paid more! I went back and bought every bottle they had as I think it's being discontinued. Would highly recommend trying this if you find it. I do find that it works best if I use the shampoo and conditioner rather than one or the other. Really LOVE this stuff! And the smell...YUM!


on 3/21/2008 11:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I highly recommend this product (along with the conditioner and the other styling products from this line) if you have wavy, healthy hair that doesn't need too much conditioning. I have normal, colored hair that's cut short with lots of layers, and I have had a lot of success with this line -- the scent is fantastic, very "beachy" yet not to sweet, and the shampoo/conditioner textures are wonderful. The shampoo lathers well, (yeah, I know that I should stay away from the sulfates, but I like them), and the conditioner has an almost whipped consistency. I have also found that the shampoo and conditioner do not harm my hair color, either. But again: if you prefer a heavy-duty conditioner, you might want to try another line...as for me, I will be sticking with the Sally Hershberger products. The quality is imppresive, and the line is very well thought out.


on 2/11/2008 9:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have thick, naturally wavy hair that is also chemically colored on a regular basis. When I heard about the wavy line from Sally Hershberger I got really excited, most shampoos dry out my hair and most conditioners weight it down.
The shampoo and conditioner are each about 11 dollars, which I think is pretty much what you're paying for, its not super-high quality, but its not crap either. It smells absolutely delicious, kind of tropical and coconut-y. If you aren't a fan of sweet scents this can be really overwhelming because the fragrance stays in the hair.
This is a supremely gentle shampoo and it works well for my hair, I'm not sure if its suitable for thin hair though. In conjunction with the conditioner this makes my hair super wavy and defined My only major complaint is that it doesn't do much for the frizz so I have to put a little bit of silicone-based styling product in while it is drying.


on 1/29/2008 12:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I must confess that my hair is naturally about as wavy as a broomstick. Most shampoos either turn it into a greasy mess or tangle it mercilessly. This shampoo smells nice, lathers well, and cleans and conditions to the point that I don't need the conditioner (which is good, because the Walgreens I went to didn't have any). I feel badly that the previous reviewer didn't like hers, since I enjoyed this more than I've enjoyed a shampoo in a long time. Maybe it should be labeled "For People Who Want Wavy Hair But Don't Actually Have It."

ETA: All that nice stuff I said earlier? I take it back. After two weeks of using this, I was running for my Redken All Soft. It turned the formerly chemically dyed bottom of my hair (I switched to henna a year ago) into brassy straw. Maybe you need the conditioner, but I'm not going to go running to find it. I still like the smell, but that's it. I'm docking it several lippies.


on 1/19/2008 10:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think I found out about this in a magazine somewhere so of course I had to run out and buy it to try it ASAP! (it's sold at Walgreens btw). The line has three different formulas for different types of hair and it also includes styling products. The first thing that got me from the start was how yummy the shampoo smelled almost beachy or coconutty...mmmm (I also go the conditioner and hair primer which I'll review as well). I took a shower as soon as I got back and was disappointed w/how the shampoo left my hair it felt straw like and tangled-Their claim to fame on this one: It contains Supreme Wave-Enhancing Complex to create voluptuous curves-whatever that complex is just didn't work for my naturally curly hair. It promises a lot but I didn't feel it delivered and for some reason whatever they added to "define the wave/curl" is doing the opposite it's more like tangling it up and leaving it like a broom. I am not sure who will like this all I know is that I didn't.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
392 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
327 Reviews
Back to Top