Lavanila • Vanilla Coconut - The Healthy Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.9(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mariefranci on 5/1/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by mariefranci

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I first rubbed this awesome body butter in my skin, my boyfriend rang the doorbell and I went to answer the door. His first response: " you smells like coconut and vanilla!" Indeed he has a great nose, but thats how true the sent smells like. Some other reviewers don't like it, but i looove the smell of this body butter. It just reminds me of summer and its gentle.
PROS
Non-greasy. I have oily skin. It gives that subtle moisture.
Leaves skin soft
Smells amazing (to me anyway)

CONS:
If you have dry skin, this might not be the most moisturizing body butter. It works for my oily skin, but not sure how well it works for you dry skin folks.

Overall: I love it. Nothing I can say wrong about it. I usually don't finish my body cremes, but this is the first one where the tube is almost empty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 2/23/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As a fan of more "natural" products and of coconut scents I had high hopes for this body butter.
Pros:
- Sinks into skin rapidly without greasy residue
- Mostly "natural" ingredients, e.g. no parabens
Cons:
- Not moisturizing enough for my dry skin
- Artificial scent reminds me of sunscreen and plastic, not good
- High price
I would not mind paying the price if I liked the scent of this product and if it was a bit richer. I have used this on my hand and feet to use up my tube, and even in those areas the moisturizing effect faded very quickly. Too bad, because I like the concept, will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elf_107 on 1/24/2011 5:19:00 AM more reviews by elf_107

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have rebought this body butter 6-7 times since first receiving a deluxe sample from Sephora and it's now my HG body moisturizer. I am extremely picky about scents, favouring natural based ones over all others. Every time it smells slightly different to me, always good, but the variance I think is due to the natural ingredients which by their very definition will change in accordance to weather, season, growing conditions...
The smell is a delicious and comforting blend of coconut, tiare flower and vanilla with some added woodsy notes. To my sensitive nose it smells only reminiscent of suntan lotion, while being something entirely more exquisite. It does not have the nauseating quality if cheapo synthetic or adulterated vanilla IMHO. It leaves a fairly scensuous base vanilla note that I will sometimes notice in the shower the next day.
The texture is thick and emollient while still drying down pretty fast. It leaves only a very slight waxy sensation, as opposed to most natural oil and wax based creams which tend to often leave you with very oily hands. It soaks in quite well and provides ample moisture for my needs. I have not found it to break me out or irritate my highly sensitive skin that is often intolerant to fragrance.
Really, I have no complaints about this product. Only that I keep using it up and having to rebuy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleBear23 on 6/7/2010 5:16:00 PM more reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a points gift from Sephora. I LOVE the smell. This product does not leave my skin greasy or sticky. I'd say it's about a 6 (out of 10) on the moisturizing scale. So, that's fine but probably not good enough to spend the price to actually buy it despite the amazing smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peps123 on 3/29/2010 4:16:00 PM more reviews by peps123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The scent is not that bad but it smells like suntan lotion. My problem is that it is not that moisturizing. I use it as a handcream. My hands initially feel good but the moisture seems to "wear off" quite quickly. I have only used it in the winter months when my skin becomes as dry as the desert. I will update for Spring and Summer where it may be sufficient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bleuday on 2/1/2010 1:38:00 PM more reviews by bleuday

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received a deluxe sample from Sephora. This review's based on that sample.


Two words: Hawaiian Tropics.


The quality of this body butter is fantastic, but it smells like Hawaiian Tropics tanning oil -- the kind we used to get when I was 16 and had an untrained sniffer.


The smell dissipates, and I would consider getting this in the plane vanilla fragrance. But this coconut one is to my nose gawd awful.


Because the fragrance doesn't last long, the plain-vanilla might be a nice base for vanilla or gourmand fragrances, but this coconut version is a bit much for me.


Great moisturizing benefits, sinks in well, and a little goes a long way.


I just don't like smelling like Hawaiian Tropics.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marticica888 on 1/14/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by marticica888

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok.. so I LOVE the texture of this. It is hands down the best body lotion/butter ive ever used.
My skin is not too terribly dry, so the non greasy, but thick texture of this is perfect for me. I can seriously put this on and rub it in only once, and it absorbs right up leaving my skin feeling fantastic. go greasy slip, just amazing moisturized skin.
However, i really dont like the vanilla coconut smell. Honestly it smells nothing like the name implies. Maybe a little bit like vanilla extract mixed with something. but this is not a sweet smell at all (or at least to me and on me).
It doesnt linger so it is bearable enough for me to use up what i have. When i run out (which will be soon) I will be getting the pure vanilla or the vanilla grapefruit. Now those smell yummy.

Oh and by the way, this is not a 100% natural. If you want something 100% natural go for 100% pure products, a line which you can get at Ulta ( however their formulation is more oily to me)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 feliciakb on 1/9/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by feliciakb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I wish this smelled as good on me as it does on some others, because it's a really fantastic lotion! So rich and smooth, it absorbs within seconds, leaving no greasy residue. I won't buy it because it smells like cheap, artificial suntan lotion on me, but I do recommend trying it for yourself, since I realize how much personal body chemistry can affect fragrance. I may give the other scents a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soulsalsa7 on 12/6/2009 5:05:00 AM more reviews by soulsalsa7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the scent myself but smell is subjective so do try heading out to an Sephora to actually smell the scents. I do notice it smells differently on me than on others, on me it's more warmer with the vanilla. On other people, they smell more of the fresh coconut. That's due to body chemistry, just like perfumes vary on people. Besides the scent, it works well as a lotion, moisturizing and nice to know all those extra goodies are going on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* novelist on 11/3/2009 3:05:00 PM more reviews by novelist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, ugh! I like the LaVanila in the vanilla and the grapefruit scents and thought I'd try this one because I like the smell of coconut. The formulation is awful: plasticky, cloying, even offensive. I couldn't even use it on my feet - they weren't far enough away from my nose.

Had to toss and won't re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lavanila products

More Lotions/ Creams products