MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

4.2

333 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 4/19/2015 5:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After seeing so many bloggers rave about this product I finally decided to get it. The only reason I gave it 3 lippies is because it will definitely last me for ages. The product does not stop my eyelids creasing and going oily at all. It does help improve the longevity of shadows and makes them more pigmented. However, nars smudgeproof eyeshadow primer beats this product hands down. It will only just last me a 9 hour shift in work (with some seriously oily eyelids by the time I've got home). I won't repurchase - don't understand what all the rave is about.



on 3/1/2015 8:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm so happy I finally got this. I have warm toned skin and quite veiny eyelids, so this seemed like the ideal product to try and combat this problem. It truly covers the veiny-ness like a dream. It's the perfect base for shadows or worn on its own. I had tried UDPP in Eden and I could never get that to work just right. It does need a primer underneath, though. It is still a cream product. But it lasts ages and is beautiful. This may be hg for me.


on 2/22/2015 10:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I ended up having to return this because it creased on me like mad. I have quite oily eyelids, so when I heard some complaints about it being drying, I figured it work great for me. I tried setting it before putting my eyeshadow on and it didn't help. I guess I'll just have to stick to Wet 'n' Wild.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2015 9:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this after seeing so many reviews and videos on YouTube where everyone was raving about this product. It was $20 so I was hesitant but I'm so glad I finally bought it! It makes such a difference applying eyeshadow with this. It makes the eyeshadow more pigmented and helps it to last all day. This stuff is awesome!! Expensive but it seems like a little goes a long way so if should last a long time! I could never wear eye shadow without this after trying it.


on 1/1/2015 10:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this as an alternative to traditional primers. I have skin issues (psoriasis and eczema) on my eye lids. I noticed Too Faced was exacerbating the issues, and while other brands weren't as bad, they certainly were still causing it to be worse. I noticed a lot of YouTube ladies use the paint pots as primers, so I decided to give it a try. My issues have decreased dramatically since I started using this. While I don't think the skin stuff will ever go away (have had the issues for about 10 yrs now), using something that doesn't make it worse is a good step in the right direction.
I find that my shadows aren't as enhanced with this as they are with other primers, but that's okay. It's easy to blend on this base and I like that it conceals the redness. I like that the jar has a wide opening, it's so easy to swirl a finger or brush in and get the right amount of product. As long as it doesn't start to irritate later on, I will be buying more of these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 4:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I never skip using soft ochre as a primer for my eyeshadows. I have very oily eyelids that end up creasing with most brand of eyeshadows but this paint pot helps me get a good 8-10 hour wear.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. The only reasons I took off a lippie is because in the winter/fall it is to dark for my eyelids and it does sort of cling to flakier areas on drier eyelids. I'm assuming soft ochre is the shade nc20 or nc22.5. Me in the winter being an nc15 it does stand out between the shade of my foundation and it almost looks like eyeshadow. I have somewhat oily eyelids and it helps my eyeshadows not crease and appear more vibrant. It does have a learning curve because it can easily look patchy, but I prefer this to most eye primers and this will be great for anyone of all ages.


on 11/18/2014 10:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a very oily t-zone, and oily lids as well. So I apply a primer, then a base, then I apply my powder eyeshadow. I have painterly, which is a pinkier beige, and I purchased this for a yellower beige. It definitely is the color tone I was looking for, but I found that the consistency was a lot drier, and as a result, my finger or brush would get stuck as I applied it, and it looked patchy on my lids. So sadly, I had to return it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 10:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Update: i am reducing 5 stars to 3 stars to product. I tried it now when its winter and yikes, it do not moisture the skin and the skin looks even dry with this product. Lasting power-2hours. But the colour is lovely. I guess it is for someone with perfect eyelids. Old review is here:)))Looking how many negative reviews are here, i am surprised. I have decay primer and they are different products. I apply UDPP before MAC and it works amazing. . MAC makes your lid to look perfect- nude beige/ yellow. You can wear it alone!! I love it no matter what. Amazing and cheap eye primer is from Artdeco if you want cheap and good. However MAC is amazing! It do not dry or crease. Maybe some one can suggest dupe for MAC ?


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is easily in my top 10 MAC products. I use several of the Paint Pot shades and find them better than any other eye base that I've tried. I purchased Soft Ochre when my go-to Painterly was sold out one time.

Soft Ochre Paint Pot is a warm-toned creme-finished nude cream eye shadow that works as a base for power eye shadows. It has incredible staying power and give great vibrancy to whatever you layer over the top. It's very opaque and easily blanks out any discolouration on the eyelid, giving your eye shadows a smoother and more even appearance. Given its warm tone, Soft Ochre would be great for neutralising purple-toned discolouration on the eyelid.

Personally I prefer Painterly because I'm cool toned, but this works just as well so I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase if Painterly was out of stock again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top