MAC • Paint Pot in Soft Ochre • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(321 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Ire on 9/15/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by Ire

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

hm..tried it, and returned. much better than UD for my oily eyelids, but after 3 hours the eyeshadow (and I'm using MUFE matte shadows that are super pigmented) was gone. Returned it. It's not bad if you don't have oily lids, but if you do...the eyeshadow won't last. With the matte eyeshadows the color faded; with the pearly ones it creased.
(Tried it for a week) It's pricey but has a lot of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xokatana on 9/11/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by xokatana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Reading some reviews I just wanted to say that if you're having issues using this as an eye shadow primer this product is meant to be worn as a base NOT a primer. You can use UD primer potion or two faced shadow insurance as a primer and THEN use this as a BASE. By doing that one step you will be able to have a much easier time with the application process and prevent potential dryness along with any other problems you may be experiencing. I do love this color, however, I prefer painterly because I find the formula to be more moisturizing. For reference when I used to use MAC foundation I wore NC20 and I wear MAC's light plus mineralize skin finish powder. The painterly never showed up too pink on my skin even if I used it as a primer for my eyebrows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debbiedebbiey on 9/11/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by debbiedebbiey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love it ! Just creates a great canvas- very neutralizing - this & painterly= Love!
Lasts all day- es stays true to color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mkil on 9/11/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by mkil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

As always, the presentation of this product is amazing. MAC just has a trez chic look and feel to their products that screams class.

This product feels creamy when swatched, but dries very quickly once out of the pot. Due to this I find it a little difficult to distribute evenly and flattly across the lid. It feels slightly cakey when it is on, and I find is very heavy on the lid.

HOWEVER!

It does work wonderfully as an eye primer. I found it eased the blendabilty of my shadows and truly did even out the colour of my lids. It did not crease and prolonged the life of my shadows.

Now for my real downfall :-( I had to return this product after two uses because it left the skin on my eyelids red and scaley - kind of like eczema, but I don't get eczema and I don't have sensitive skin. I am guessing it was an allergy, as MAC products are known to activate a lot of allergies with would-be MAC lovers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsglamourose on 8/15/2014 3:12:00 PM more reviews by itsglamourose

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I stopped using an eyeshadow primer after I got this one! I put this all over my lid before putting any eyeshadow, its great with any type of eyeshadow, cream, pigments or powders. It really makes the eyeshadow last longer and more vibrant! I got mine during the warehouse sale so I only paid $12 for a bottle which will definitely last for a very long time! This is so colose to my skintone that it really works perfectly as a primer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellerenee on 7/5/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by hellerenee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm so glad I finally decided to buy this. Let me tell you.
This stuff is magic as an eyeshadow base. It made my eyeshadow last throughout the entire day, and I was sweating and it was really hot throughout the entire day. The only part of my makeup that didn't budge was my eyeshadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monvai on 6/27/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by monvai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This must be used with a primer. It will not last without a primer for more than 4 hours. Having said that, I really like this to even out any discolouration and for a nice cut crease look. Painterly is too pinky and soft ochre is just nice for my skin tone. You can also modify the use by only applying it between your crease and brow bone (for crease colours to show) and use a heavy colour on the lid itself. For this purpose, Soft Ochre is perfect. I cant imagine me finishing this quickly though (likely to take years)- should have bought samples so it wont dry out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fairynah on 6/22/2014 8:45:00 AM more reviews by fairynah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love, love this soo much!! It makes your eyeshadow more vibrancy, its easy to blend out and it doesn't crease even if i was sweating in this hot and humid weather.. It maybe slightly pricey $36 if I'm not wrong but it can definitely last for quite a while.. Overall I'm satisfied ! 😚

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 myan21 on 5/8/2014 11:50:00 PM more reviews by myan21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this base. I really like how this lightly neutralizes the discolouration on my eyelid and how it make any low quality eyeshadow stand out. I find that if you use too much of this base it looks cakey and creases. If used sparely I find that my eyeshadow stays waterproof and smudge proof on my watery monolids. Would repurchases again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* albs on 4/5/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by albs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this to use as a primer, because like a dummy I thought I'd "try something new", and have since purchased three primers that don't really work very well for me after finishing up my NARS eye primer. It doesn't work for me on its own, I get creasing and fading after several hours. I find the texture rather dry and somewhat difficult to blend on the eye. For a while when I would apply it it looked incredibly dry, yellow, cakey, and just really unappealing. I have found a way for it to work for me however, and have been wearing it this way almost daily under my eyeshadow. I apply my eye primer (TheBalm Put A Lid On It) which it quite a thin, almost silicone-y eye primer, let it set for about 30 seconds or so, apply a small amount of Soft Ochre and blend it gently (but well!), let it dry down and then apply my eyeshadow. This prolongs the wear of my eyeshadow considerably as compared to my primer alone. I'm not sure that I would repurchase it because it doesn't make sense to buy two eye primers when you can get away with one that really works, but if you have this and a primer that isn't doing what you need it to do, try them together.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products