Clairol • Herbal Essences Set Me Up Hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.3(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JenPhil1313 on 4/19/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I would say that this hairspray gives average hold- not super strong hold like the packaging states (then again, after you've tried Glued by Got2Be, nothing seems like strong hold!). I picked this up because it was on sale; because I generally like the Herbal Essences line of products ; and I wanted to have a lighter to average hold hairspray on hand- sometimes I just don't want the heavy hold that the Glued provides. This works very nicely as a lighter hold hairspray that doesn't make hair look or feel stiff, sticky, or dry. This hairspray's biggest plus is how nice it smells and how long lasting the smell is! The first day I used this, all day long I was wondering why I smelled so nice. I was trying to remember which body lotion I had used, etc. Eventually I realized it was the hairspray. Even at bedtime I could still smell it a little. It's not overpowering, just a lovely fresh and fruity smell. Almost like a perfume for the hair! I recommend this as a lighter to average hold hairspray that has a fabulous fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fellameow123 on 8/27/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by fellameow123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Good hairspray for the price, but on the back it says it can "maybe hold it through a hurricane" which no, of course isn't true. It holds it for about 4 hours a day. I normally do the tease backcomb style with my hair so I really need a good strong. I bought this for about $3 at no frills. Price is excellent. I bought the lavender scent because I am sensitive to scent when it comes to hairspray and hair products.

Overall its good product but doesn't hold as well as I like. Recommended if you are just looking for an average hold or light hold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smolderingviolet on 2/1/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by smolderingviolet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I think I like this better as a finishing spray for a hairstyle that doesn't really need hold. It doesn't feel crunchy or anything, but it is pretty matte. I don't want matte hair, I want shiny hair. This stuff is very flexible, I can run my fingers through it, it smells great, but as a hairspray its a no go for me. If I did buy it again it would only be for a light finishing spray NOT a hairspray. I'll stick to my Elnett.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 1/4/2013 5:27:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell of this spray. Most hairsprays make me gag from their scent but this one is awesome. It holds okay but gives my hair a matte finish I don't like. Makes it feel drier than it is. But it's cheap and it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 apaolone04 on 12/1/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by apaolone04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i got this a while ago and even tho its like not the best HG hairspray out there its perfect for me. i like my hair to stay soft and brushable but i like my bangs to stay in place (swoosh form) and i use this every morn and its just good for me. again not the HG but will do, have repurchased

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sundaypancakes on 4/14/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by sundaypancakes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty good hairspray, but nothing spectacular that will make me want to repurchase. It smells pretty good, and lasts throughout the day. My curls hold up well with this hairspray, but you have to be careful not to use too much, cause it does get stiff. I love the packaging as well, very practical, but i prefer aerosol cans. That's really about it... its performance is average, and I generally don't have a big preference for hairspray, but nothing special about this hairspray will make me repurchase it. Worth a try, tho! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilyMakeupEvan on 2/1/2012 5:06:00 PM more reviews by LilyMakeupEvan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I quite like this hairspray but definately not my HG [I found my HG in Got2B Smooth operator]. To begin with, this stuff smells good for a normal hairspray. And it does have flexible hold. Def not something too strong but does the job. However, this doesnot keep down frizz which i wasnot happy with. So wont repurchase. however, for the price it is worth it. Check out my reviews on other hairsprays and let me know if this review was helpful or not. :]

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kjs82 on 8/16/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by kjs82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is not great. I have straight, flat hair that tends to look oily if I put the wrong product in it. The hold is so-so at best, and it left my hair feeling sticky and looking greasy and dull. The smell is nicer than other hairsprays I've tried. Overall, it's very underwhelming and I would not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovesyou on 6/8/2011 2:19:00 PM more reviews by lovesyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

An okay product.It smells really good like most herbal essence stuff.cheap.But it didn't really hold down my frizz:(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 4/23/2011 9:19:00 AM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have the spray bottle version (not the aerosol) and I really love it! I don't like aerosol hairsprays as I find you waste more product and get it everywhere BUT on your hair!
Anyways, this doesn't give the greatest hold, for a girl like me that just wants a bit of hold to keep things in place, it works nicely. It smells like alcohol when you first spray it, but after it dries, it gives nice floral scent. I've gotten many compliments on the scent of my hair when I spray this in it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Styling Products products