MAC • Rocker Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 4.4(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/16/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Rocker, how I love thee.. This lipstick is SEXY. On my NC40 skintone this is a deep red leaning towards burgundy. This is stunning paired with simple eye makeup. I've usually use either Currant or Vino lipliner with this, or even Nightmoth if I want it to pull a little darker. This is a matte shade, so it wears forever. While it does have little bits of glitter in it, thankfully they disappear upon application. I absolutely would not be without this shade in my stash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 10/14/2012 10:15:00 AM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

when I saw MAC decided to bring back some old favorites I decided to try this one. I love this red and I really think most ladies can wear it. The multi colored glitter in it is not very noticeable though. Definitely will be one of my fav. reds.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ltnla on 8/11/2012 3:21:00 PM more reviews by ltnla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC 25/30, lt-medium olive/yellow toned. Agree w/reviewer right before me. Nice burgundy red. I don't really see glitter. Not as dramatic a color as I thought, based on pictures I've seen online, though I'm sure it would look more dramatic for fair-skinned women (and would be great at night especially for fairer women). Should be wearable by most, and a good fall color. Not unique, as I've had similar colors in the past. Good texture for a matte (doesn't feel as drying as other mattes). But I definitely wouldn't pay more than retail price getting this if it sells out.
Edit: not changing score to 5, though I'm liking this much more than in original review. Not unique, but very classy, and texture is just right. Can wear matte for a vampier or trendy look, or add a bit of gold gloss to tone it out and bring out the slight shimmer in the lipstick (I've used Chanel's Constellation, but any clearish gloss w/gold bits would do).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SapphireRoses80 on 8/9/2012 5:56:00 PM more reviews by SapphireRoses80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got rocker in the MAC by Request collection. It's a nice burgundy wine color. My skin color is medium tan and this color pulls a true berry burgundy without any brown showing through. It has multi dimensional glitter that's not overwhelming when worn. But when it catches the light you can see the glitters. It's drying on the lips so a lot of lip prep is needed before application. Overall, it's a color that'd be lovely for fall but it's definitely not something unique. I happen to own Covergirl's lipsticks in everlasting 345 and euphoria 360, when layered together and worn on the lips, it gives more of a creamy/shiny dupable version of Rocker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ayshacat905 on 8/1/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by ayshacat905

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My aunt gave me this because she never had the chance to wear it, and I am so glad she did! It is a gorgeous deepend red, kind of like dried blood but on the redder side. I see brown undertones but no orange for me. I love it even more when it is worn in for a few hours- it fades into a slightly lighter red. Any Gossip Girl fans should have this color because this is very similar to Blair's deep red shade. Very classy and very flattering. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kammers10 on 1/10/2008 6:50:00 AM more reviews by Kammers10

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful color, kind of a mauvey/rosy/burgundy, great for a concert or club, just a tad too dark and not enough color for my skin tone. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* styrch on 9/10/2007 9:54:00 PM more reviews by styrch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

First off, I don't think I'll ever run out of this lippie so I wouldn't buy it again (even though MAC has discontinued it). I managed to snag this at the CCO after a local MA raved about it. What can I say? It's a deep red-burgundy-wine color that can come out looking a bit orange in some light (though not a LOT orange). The texture is Matte, but it has random glitter pieces in it. When worn on an NC15 such as myself one is vaguely reminded of Dr. Frankenfurter. Indeed, this would make the PERFECT Rocky Horror Picture Show lippie - if you're going for that. I made the mistake of wearing it to work, where I spent the entire day worried that I'd smeared it all over my face (yes, it does stain your lips a bit as well as any skin around it if you're unlucky enough to smear it). That being said, it is quite a fun lipstick. I am glad that I own it and will treasure it as long as it lasts sitting in my drawer. Sadly, I'm not sure it will see the light of day except for the occasional burlesque class and fashion show for my husband.

If you wish to see a picture of me wearing it (bad pic), here's one - and don't say I didn't warn you:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dictatorprincess on 7/3/2007 3:23:00 PM more reviews by dictatorprincess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The stain of this is nice...when I put it on full strength it reminds me of something I would have worn in high school in the early nineties...a deep deep berry, almost black. Someone said oxblood in an earlier review and that is a fair assessment.

I like wearing it in an ironic hipster way, it is a cute, fun color, although i normally tend to lighter lipsticks and glosses. I think this would be fierce with some dark eyeliner.

Edit: this morning I tried it over lip balm to dilute it a bit and it was a cute cute berry, almost like black honey, veering towards cranberry. I just found a new use for it! It's going to stay in my travel bag for that.

Edit: I think I am going to pair this with some Chanel glossimer in Imaginaire on top for night. Love it. I thought it was too dark for me for daily use but this color is more versatile than I thought. My favorite MAC lipstick so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HauntedMoonlight on 6/9/2007 3:52:00 PM more reviews by HauntedMoonlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Rocker is a gorgeous dark red matte lipstick. I was so happy when I found it because I love dark matte lips and it's so hard to find dark red matte lipsticks these days, since most people prefer light glossy lipsticks. I think Rocker looks good both day and night. It lasts all day, even after eating. There is some glitter in it, but it doesn't show up on my lips, which is ok because glittery dark red lips would be too much for daytime. I don't know why they even put the glitter in there. I love this lipstick so much that I would boycott MAC if they ever discontinued it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julianrei on 5/18/2007 1:39:00 PM more reviews by julianrei

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Rocker is a deep cranberry red that looks sophisticated with one or two coats, or a little goth-y with more coats. A very subdued, classy red. The matte formula means that this lipstick goes on very pigmented on my medium pigmented lips and stays for a long time. I've found that an oil-based cleanser is the best way to remove this lasting lip color. This cool red goes very well with my NC 15 PPP skin, and looks like it will be a staple for me. The glitter specks mentioned in previous reviews aren't very noticeable at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products