Ben Nye • Blue Neutralizer • Concealers

rated 4.5(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 megjc on 9/13/2013 8:58:00 AM more reviews by megjc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adore this product, it does everything it is meant to.
The coverage is great and completely eliminates any blue tones. I use this on all my clients and on myself, works great on any skin colour or type although with dry skin you need to use an eye cream / moisturiser/ primer underneath and let it set in first. Can settle into lines if left un fixed but with a light dusting of a fine powder it stays put all day.
Love it love it love it :).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reallyrita on 4/19/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by reallyrita

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you have heavy blue/purple tinged dark circles, check out this little pot. It is dirt cheap and works just as well or better than expensive concealers. I had used the Bobbi Brown concealer and corrector and powder set up for several years and it did tone down the circles a bit. Faded after a few hours and settled into fine lines. I could still see the circles however. The Eve Pearl salmon concealer is creamer and does the job but it is expensive and hard to find. I have it and use it as well. But this concealer has the very best coverage. It is thick so I always set down a bit of eye cream first and let it sink in for a few minutes. I use a small, soft talon concealer brush to gently pat it into my blue eye hollows. I set it with a bit of Southern Magnolia Minerals "well rested eyes" powder. Any finely milled translucent setting powder will work well. I use a fluffy little eye brush to lightly and gently poof the powder on. I am NC 20 and I use color NB-1 blue neutralizer. The color looks really orange in the pan but it cancels out the blue and does not look orange when applied. Dark circles gone until I remove product at night with cleanser oil.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jeux on 12/31/2011 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Jeux

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Ben Nye Blue Neutralizer , NB1. NO.1 , ages ago , I stopped using it for two reasons.
1. I found it to be quite dry, and had to apply with my finger not a brush.
2. I think I may have bought the wrong colour for my skin, I am a NW25 , and this seems a bit light .

I have fine lines under my eyes and this tended to settle in them quite a bit .

Probably a good neutralizer for someone who has less wrinkles than me .
Not a bad product ( especially for the price ) , however I prefer the Graftobian Corrector palette , that goes on smoother and the colour is perfect for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cnvalle on 8/27/2011 1:17:00 PM more reviews by cnvalle

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ben Nye is a pro brand that offers quality and great prices. I bought the Tattoo cover from Camera Ready cosmetics. I was looking for something similar to the Senna peach cover but a little more coverage. This is it. I like to put it one moisturied skin with a taklon brush and then bump it in with a sponge. I use Laura Mercier's. This blends really well with olive skin. I use the light. $8.99 for a nice little jar which will last a long time. Gotta love the price and quality..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sefis on 5/1/2011 8:00:00 AM more reviews by sefis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Don't waste your money on other concealers, Ben Nye are among the best out there and the prices are very reasonable. The BN concealers are wax based and highly pigmented, as others have noted these concealers will tame dark undereye circles that many other concealers won't. I find them easiest to apply with a wet brush, apply very lightly in layers to achieve a natural look.

I use Blue Neutralizer and Mellow Orange concealers, then cover with Ben Nye Cake foundation (ingenue shade works perfect on my NC15).. works better than my previous setup at a *much* lower price!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Wheeze on 3/6/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Wheeze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I've had dark circles for my entire 35 year-old life (allergies). Though I've only just started to notice traces of very fine lines around my eyes (when dehydrated), my dark circles have become worse over the past 4-5 years. NOTHING helps, and to make matters worse, my eyes are starting to look sunken. (getting old sucks!)

I've worked as a make-up artist, and have tried all kinds of concealers. The only one which makes any sort of difference is Ben Nye's Mellow Orange #2, as it neutralizes the blue. My circles aren't completely covered, but are certainly less noticeable after I've applied Mellow Orange.

It's an extremely concentrated, highly pigmented product, and a little goes a long way. Fortunately, I live within ten minutes of a store which sells Ben Nye, and at $12 CDN per pot, it's a steal.

Someone here mentioned having a hard time finding Ben Nye products in Canada. Studio FX in Vancouver offers the line, and I believe that they might ship. (not sure though)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* askr on 3/6/2010 11:06:00 AM more reviews by askr

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PREFACE: I have dark circles with ethnic skin so they are a particular challenge; the circles are so much darker than the rest of the face that it is very difficult to find the right shade of concealer that will not give me a reverse-raccoon look.

I bought the blue concealer separate from the wheel. It is orange-peach based, creamy but not too much, and only a very thin layer swiped from the fingertip is effective for the under eyes. Any more and you'll obviously have minor creasing. Having done so I then apply a thin layer of concealer (of your choice) and set with a smidgen of pressed powder on Beauty Blender sponge (I don't want a thicker sponge to look stage-makeupy).

This combination helps keep the under eyes looking fresh and not severely covered and stays on all of a work day and right now that it's cooler into the evening. I'll see how it does during a hot summer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 7/15/2009 2:03:00 AM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this product. It's exactly like MAC Studio Finish Concealer. I think the consistency is a tad dryer though. I use it under my eyes for my dark circles and it covers them completely. The smell of this stuff is like halloween makeup, but it doesn't bother me at all. It's great stuff for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Purrceyz on 5/28/2009 11:45:00 PM more reviews by Purrceyz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The only product that covers my dark undereye circles - I'm 53 and they haven't gotten lighter with age.. (I've tried many concealers.)


I use a primer underneath and pat and blend this concealer (it goes on more easily with a primer). I usually top with Ben Nye's tattoo cover and then stipple my regular foundation over top. It last well through the day (better than Cover FX). However, I wish it was easier to get in Canada, I had to order it off Ebay.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweethartz on 4/17/2009 10:23:00 AM more reviews by sweethartz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this concealer yesterday. i bought this one and the tattoo cover up, which basically is the same thing. this product is very creamy. It doesnt cover up my dark circles completely, but it covers well. My other concealers would leave a greyish color under the eyes, but not this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ben Nye products

More Concealers products