Stila • Stila Cherry Crush • Lips

rated 3.4(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rachvt on 5/4/2013 5:09:00 PM more reviews by rachvt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have been using Rose Vaseline for years because I loved the natural red tint it gives to my lips. Only problem with it was that it comes off very easily after eating/drinking. I have been looking for a lip product that gave me the same natural rosy tint to my lips but was more longer-lasting than the Rose Vaseline. Stila's Cherry Crush Lip/Cheek Stain seemed to be just that. I am of Asian descent, and I have fairly medium skin with naturally dark hair. My lips are pale pink naturally and this stuff makes my lips have a very natural rosy colour to it. It is quite drying on its own, and I do have rather naturally dry lips, so I normally apply a layer of normal Vaseline (not the tinted kind) over it to keep lips moisturised. I notice it does not stay on for more than a few hours and if I eat/drink then it comes off faster. But still, longer staying power than the Rose Vaseline.

Application is tricky. The brush tip applicator is crap imo. It distributes the colour very unevenly on my lips and leaves my lips looking in some parts splodgy flourescent pink and in other parts, pale like nothing is on it. In short, when I apply this stain with the brush tip that comes with it, my lips look awful and so obvious that I've applied some colour on it. Not natural looking or even as nice as putting on a real lipstick.

So I only apply it on my lips by using my fingertips now. I dispense the product onto my fingertips via the brush tip. And then rub the stuff all over my lips. This produces the desired effect - a very natural-looking, flushed, rosy lip that is just what I want. Only problem with this method of application is that the stain goes on to stain my fingertip and make me have red fingertips for a couple hours! I have tried using makeup remover, soap and water, etc. on my fingertips in my attempt to get the stain off them, but nothing works other than time... The same amount of time it takes for this stuff to fade off my lips. So what a bummer. Crap applicator, forces me to use fingertips, stains my fingertips and makes them look red for hours. Hmmm...

I haven't tried using it on my cheeks as I don't normally use blusher.

Will I buy it again? Maybe. It is quite pricey and I am not sure how it lasts. I will be on the search for something better but I doubt anything will turn up. I do like the fact that the staying power of this stuff outperforms any regular lip gloss or Rose Vaseline and the colour is just right for me (when I apply it with my fingertips). However, I really hate the applicator that comes with it. Really wish Stila would change it to a wand applicator instead. Also, I don't like the way this product is contained. It is such that I have to store the product standing with it's tip pointed down on a table. Otherwise the product won't dispense when I need to use it, and I have to stand it upside down and wait 5 minutes before the stuff will finally come out after a few clicks. I normally keep this in my bag, so storing it upright and upside down is tricky for me.

So in general, great product. Shame about the container and the applicator it comes with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BonjurCutie on 11/12/2012 7:12:00 PM more reviews by BonjurCutie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was trying to choose cherry vs the raspberry at the store and I ended up getting cherry because everyone told me it was prettier than the raspberry. There is a lot of color in this stain so I just dab a little on and spread it quickly with something else. The cherry is darker than the raspberry and there is something about the color that just pulls you in. I don't know what it is about the color but its mesmerizing. The only reason I would choose raspberry over cherry is because of the smell. The raspberry smells so good. The cherry smells okay but it's got that kind of bitter wine smell but it still tastes good. The color doesn't last very well especially after eating or drinking and I had very swollen lips today so the color wouldn't absorb the same in certain areas, so my lips were striped...It also sets really fast so if you want to spread the color you have to do it fast. Even after wiping and washing it off it still leaves behind a stain. I'm hoping they'll come out with new colors so I could just smell all the flavored lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 karasu627 on 7/7/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by karasu627

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like the color of this product- a nice, fruity dark pink. The application is smooth, and it feels really natural, not gross and artificial. The only downfall is the applicator- it's a tube with a brush tip and you twist the end to get the actual product. It's not my favorite applicator, but I think it works for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterygirly on 5/10/2011 1:05:00 AM more reviews by glitterygirly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG lip stain (I don't wear lipstick). It's a dark, but bright pink. The color reminds me of after you eat a red popsicle, but the grown up, sexy version. I can put this on with no other makeup and it wakes my whole face up. I put it on after I apply all my other makeup, then I top it with gloss. The only complaint I have is that it doesn't last long enough for a siain, which is kinda annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sorrysoselfish on 3/13/2011 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Sorrysoselfish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color and usually apply this focusing on the "bee sting" section of my lips to look more natural. I find that this creates a fresh look and I am glad this stain doesn't drift into the "merlot" sort of color that many other stains lean towards.

I do find that it doesn't last quite as long as I had thought it would and also I hate the little "clicky-pen" packaging.

I WILL buy this again despite the few faults I found however and plan to try the Yumberry next as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jnugget21 on 3/1/2011 6:41:00 PM more reviews by jnugget21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite cheek stain!!! The Stila Lip and Cheek Stains have amazzzingg lasting power on the cheeks-Lasts longer than anything I've tried including Benefit. The stain is superior to Benefit because of the gel consistency which gives you a little time to work with the product. I haven't tried them on the lips, I like to keep lip and face products separate. I find the cherry color very natural. The amount of product in the pen is quite small (2.4 mL)-I own all 7 of these stains so haven't got anywhere near to finishing any of them because I rotate which one I use every day. This has the lasting power I was hoping for from Tarte. Despite the small quantity and sometimes annoying pen delivery system I would still buy this over and over because of the amazing staying power and flattering color. HG status all the way!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 1/20/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is great...as a cheek stain. This is under the lips category, but the packing states it's both a lip AND cheek stain. It looks best on my cheeks, but you have to blend it in fast or you'll get tiger stripes! As for my lips, this gives them a very pretty cherry pink color...but it really doesn't sink in. Therefore, it rubs off...pretty easily. If I did repurchase, it'd be solely for my cheeks and not my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 11/16/2010 5:11:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was hoping to really love Cherry Crush, since I loved Stila's Lip Rouge stains, and Stila seems to be phasing out the latter, in favor of the "crush" stains. I use this type of product on my lips only, since my skin is very oily and features large pores.

I do like Cherry Crush, but I think I prefer Lip Rouge in "Pucker" for its more intense, more tenacious stain.

First, the good news about Cherry Crush:

-beautiful sheer berry red color.

-light, pleasant fruity taste

-lightweight gel-like formula that spreads easily

-the brush is soft, and actually pretty good for spreading the stain around, once you click the pen enough times to get something to come out
Not-so-good news:

- price; it's more expensive than the Lip Rouges, which were expensive enough. You do get a good amount of product, though.
-I agree with the majority, that the packaging needs a serious re-design. The pen must be twisted/clicked for what seems like forever just to get the product started coming out, and once it does, you can't control the flow. Stila, please try putting these in a "marker," like the Lip Rouges, or in an "ink well," like Urban Decay's Lip Envy.

-the stain itself doesn't impart much color; I wouldn't consider it pigmented enough to wear in place of a lipstick.

stain is not as tenacious as other stains I've worn; it wipes off fairly readily

This *is* a good product, but given the price, I think I'll try something else next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anya_tay on 6/6/2010 10:31:00 PM more reviews by anya_tay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like others below I'm kind of torn. I have rebought this product so overall I like it. It's a light red gel that looks really pretty on lips under a balm or gloss. The packaging kind of sucks. The twist at the bottom takes so many twists and the product takes a while to pop out. and when it does too much comes out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkeyedfran on 5/28/2010 5:40:00 PM more reviews by darkeyedfran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this stain would be the one, but it's not! this stain has nice coloration but the application is so hard that I cannot for the life of me get this to be even! i prefer doe foot applicators for my stains, the color goes on surprisingly more even. I also hate having to twist it, i always overtwist and end up with stain oozing everywhere. and when i twist just the right number of times it takes several minutes for the product to be distributed. this was expensive so i try to use it, but i found the perfect natural looking stain for my lips so i may never go back to this again. I must say im in love with Sephora's stain! theres one called stain and shine and the coral color is amazing! it has stain on one end and gloss on the other.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Lips products