Organic Root Stimulator • Hair Mayonnaise • Hair Treatments

rated 4.2(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Brookeybrooke43 on 8/6/2014 12:50:00 AM more reviews by Brookeybrooke43

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this like once a month just in case it works, but I never tell any difference. the texture & smell is disgusting. I don't know how anyone would describe it as pleasant. there are like little speckles of grossness in the jar of whatever this stuff is. lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 trendywendy on 8/28/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by trendywendy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After reading soooo many good reviews about this product, i was so excited when it arrived. I had been searching for a hair mask for my wavy, quite dry hair to hydrate. I found this and thought organic! Bonus!
Little did I know the ingredients are NOT ORGANIC AT ALL. in fact this has even MORE HARMFUL INGREDIENTS than any other brands which don't even say they are organic! Some of the ingredients in this so called 'organic' product contains:
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
Propylene Glycol
DMDM Hydantoin
Diazolidinyl Urea
Cetearyl Alcohol
Methyl Paraben
Propyl Paraben
Brown 1 (Ci 20170)
Yellow 6 (CI 15985)
Yellow 5 (CI 19140)
Fragrance
Methylchloroisothiazolinone
Methylisothiazolinone
So basically this has every bad chemical in it you can think of, parabens, synthetic fragrance and colours, alcohol, organic my ass.
Plus the smell is awful. I can't exactly the describe it but it's not pleasant at all.
And if all of that wasn't enough to put you off putting this product anywhere near your skin the actual product it's self is terrible!
I noticed the ingredients and even though just by looking at them I knew I should have binned it there and then, I payed for this so I thought i wanna get my moneys worth!
Bad idea.
Yes, as you are rinsing the product out after leaving it in for 10 minutes your hair does feel silky smooth BUT this is while your hair is still wet, you can feel the synthetic silicones coating your hair.
This product is so sticky that i was standing in the shower for about 10 minutes trying to wash it out. After i had got out and brushed my hair with a tangle teezer, my tangle teezer was covered in loads of white residue! So it was all still in my hair but I couldn't get it out!
My hair now feels like straw.
So overall if you care about your hair at all DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 compacj on 5/18/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by compacj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My hair type is 4c and when I wash my hair with shampoo and sometimes it can get dry and dull.When I do this deep treatment i detangle my hair and put it in the mayonnaise treatment, then I get put on my plastic cap.then I go under a hooded dryer for 15minutes wash it out and I am done.and my hair feels so soft,tangle free and it is shinny

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FloweryCheese on 5/14/2013 8:38:00 AM more reviews by FloweryCheese

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A nice, heavy conditioning treatment that worked well on my thick, coarse Asian hair, which is slightly dry due to highlighting. I left this on for a couple of hours and rinsed it out without shampooing as the instructions indicate. My hair is slightly weighed down, but I'm willing to accept that for the great moisture I've gotten. I think this is only a once a week or less treatment as it might be too heavy for more frequent use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mooshrimp on 4/22/2013 8:21:00 AM more reviews by mooshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I made a stupid decision to go from dark brown to dark blonde. My hair felt like straw, plus the color made me even ruddier looking so I needed to dye it again. It looked like what I really needed was a protein treatment so I bought this along with some dark semi-permanent dye. I chopped off the ends, put on the mayo, left it in for 20 minutes, then without washing it out applied the dye. Then I rinsed, shampooed, and deep conditioned. The result? Glossy thick hair that barely feels damaged anymore. AND the color took evenly to my whole head, rather than dying the damaged parts differently. Brilliant! My hair stopped feeling like straw (brittle, lacking in shine, frizzy) and started looking like actual hair again. Ah-mazing. This is my first protein treatment product, but I am sure it won't be my last. It's also a great price and it smells nice. A+

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashliebella on 4/21/2013 1:14:00 PM more reviews by Ashliebella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is heaven for my hair, seriously! I have used so many expensive brand name deep conditioning treatments and they've done nothing for my hair. But this product I bought at Walmart for ten dollars, comes in a huge jug, is amazing, and works magic. The smell isn't very pleasant but the repair it does to your hair is worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CupidShmupid on 11/7/2012 1:56:00 PM more reviews by CupidShmupid

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product worked really great on my hair until I overdid it and got myself protein overload. Oops. Though I don't blame the product at all. I blame myself for not using it as per instruction and keeping it in overnight. The consistency is great, it spreads easily and rinses out well. It wasn't a miracle product though. And the first time I used it it didn't exceed my expectations but it did great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 10/28/2012 11:31:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a few sample size/few use packets at Sally's and a few full sized of a lot of products and I'm going to use them all at least twice before making a final decision, but I'm going to start now.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The products were: Proclaim Argan Oil Intense Hydrating Masque, Creme of Nature Argan Oil Intensive Conditioning Treatment, Ion Effective Care Treatment, One 'n Only Brazilian Tech Keratin Deep Penetrating Conditioning Treatment, Silk Elements MegaSilk Moisturizing Treatment, Cantu Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Treatment, Silk Elements Mega Cholesterol Conditioning Treatment, Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This one just didn't do it for me. I used a whole tub of Africa's Best Hair Mayonnaise, and while that one had quite the smell, I liked it decently. This one is maybe a little less strong of a smell but the same type. I've heard reviews that some girls need to shampoo *after* treatment which I have never done, so it *could* be better if I try that, but the AB was fine just as a leave-on-for-a-while-and-rinse-out. The consistency is similar, it's not like it left my hair sticky, so I can't see myself needing to shampoo this one. I actually would also put it on before the beach or pool to sort of protect my hair. I suppose I could do that with this product, or give it away, because it just sort of has been sitting on a shelf for quite a while. I have better ones to use now so...eh.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
UPDATE: I did try this again last night after shampooing, left it on for an hour or so and then RE-shampooed and conditioned. My hair feels really soft. Better than I remember. I don't know if using this as a pre-poo made the difference but it's nice and I'm going to update to a 4. Though there are better products out there, this went from 'ok' to 'good' and I like it WAY more than the Silk Elements Mega Cholesterol Conditioning Treatment which got rave reviews. This makes my hair MUCH less sticky and more silky. Pretty happy now, because I bought this ages ago and don't have a receipt, so glad I found a way to use it that works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tbabi on 10/1/2012 11:58:00 PM more reviews by tbabi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I've tried different deep conditioners looking for the best one and I keep coming back to this one. The great thing about it is it's not expensive and it's a pretty big tub unlike a lot of other deep conditioners out there. I use it weekly since I use a lot of heat and it really repairs your hair and makes it feel strong. I love Organic Root Stimulator products, they all seem to work great and not just on me but everyone I introduce it to. Sometimes I mix Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner with it and it gives a little bit more moisture which is always a great thing since I have naturally curly 3b hair. After straightening your hair it leaves a weird feeling to the hair so I wouldn't use this before straightening. It's good for any texture hair but not if your planning on styling immediately after because the product is thick and leaves gummy feel behind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Collage909 on 7/23/2012 5:29:00 AM more reviews by Collage909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for 1 to 2 years now and this is fantastic. The tub packaging makes it easy to scoop out what I need, and its fairly cheap for such a large amount. Every other week or so, I usually put this on wet freshly shampooed hair and leave it on anytime from 10 minutes to 3 hours when I have more time, and my hair thanks me for it. I recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Organic Root Stimulator products

More Hair Treatments products