NARS • Night Rider • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mielr on 5/4/2013 4:15:00 AM more reviews by mielr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

*(UPDATE of 2010 review):

Really pretty shadow...but you HAVE to use a base or primer of some sort under this, or you end up with a fairly sheer shadow with flaky glitter that doesn't stick where you put it. It's a muted, mid-toned mauve-plum (I don't see any taupe in this at all).

I wish that this shadow had more pigment and that the silvery flakes were a silver microglitter instead, but having said that, I got pretty results by using a creme shadow as a base- I used Clinique's "Rock Violet" (*which is now discontinued) and then used a sponge applicator to sort of "pat" the Night Rider onto the creme shadow while it's still slightly tacky. I don't think using a brush applicator would work, since I don't think you could pick up enough product with one.

*I first got this shadow in 2010 and I doubt I'll ever purchase it again. This is because to get it to apply well, it takes more effort than I care to expend most days (especially considering the high price). If they improved the formula a bit...maybe, but I doubt that will happen.

Besides, my current HG eyeshadow (Prescriptives "Plum Smoke") is only $14 and a lot easier to apply, has great pigment and no flaky glitter. Why would I want to bother with "Night Rider" again as long as "Plum Smoke" is still available from Prescriptives.com?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* masqued_dreamer on 7/16/2012 more reviews by masqued_dreamer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this eye shadow! It looks so pretty in the pan but when I swipe it on, it is a glittery, chunky mess. It's sad when the ELF eye shadows I paid $3 for are better quality than this. I've had NARS eye shadows in the past and they've been great! this one was a complete miss. I will not ever repurchase a NARS eye shadow with this texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Morahmakeupblog on 4/10/2012 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Morahmakeupblog

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous metallic mauve color with classy translucent glitter! The only downside is it doesn't work well with regular primer. To make the glitter stay on the lid, use a lilac colored jumbo pencil like Sephora 506 as the base, then press Night Rider on top and the glitter will adhere quite well. This is such a unique combination of color and texture, I love it despite the extra work involved to make it work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 8/20/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

The color is very subtle. However, upon reading other's comments, I am going to try as they suggested and use a stickier base. I typically use TFSI for all my shadows except when they need something stickier, then I use NYX white base. So I will try the white base and add to this review then. The color itself is gorgeous. If the sticky factor works, I'll definitely be marking this up a few points.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 montrealvixen on 9/20/2010 12:13:00 PM more reviews by montrealvixen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the most unique eyeshadows I own! Where do I start? Well first off, I'm pretty certain that everyone appreciates Nars packaging. Classy, clean, elegant. The eyeshadow itself is a GORGEOUS light purple that really suits my light Mediterranean skintone (Mac Studio Fix C3/C4). Subtle but sexy, The shimmer is the best thing about it. You get huge chunks of flecks that look like glass. When I wear this colour I always get asked what it is. For people who may have a hard time getting this to show up: use a sticky base over your eye primer. What I do is prime my eyes with Too Faced Shadow Insurance and then add a sticky base made especially for glitter underneath (I use the Sephora one). I pack on the colour with my Mac 239 and the shadow does not budge. It goes on vibrantly and lasts well into the night (even after hours and hours of dancing). I don't get any creasing or fading. While it's true that Nars shadows are on the pricier side, you do get a lot of product. The pans are large, so I keep on going back to them. I definitely think this one is worth the money and it has prompted me to become addicted to the brand. Would buy again, 100%

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aeternitas on 7/13/2010 4:14:00 PM more reviews by Aeternitas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Night Rider is by far the most shy eye shadow I have ever come across. Shy or subtle is the best way to word it. I was not expecting the lack of pigmentation. It's like a love affair; it's so secretive and you cannot get enough. To describe its quality is to describe a love-hate relationship. You cannot stand this person, but the sex is good. Oh, how I wish this color would be more pigmented! But I love it anyway, for its purpose to be silent. I think Nars is genius this way.


As for the color, I can certainly understand where previous reviewers get the "taupe" reference. This shadow is a light gray purple. It does have a cool, lavender-beige vibe going on. There are silver flecks infused within. It's very interesting, to say the least. A primer MUST be used (for me, anyway). Mielr's review explains the process of application best. You need something to make it stick! When translated on the eye, it's barely there - it looks like residue from eyeshadow worn a night before that has nearly completely worn off. It's not bad at all, but so dainty and fair. I have to use Urban Decay's "Grifter" underneath to bring out it's true colors, which is a perfect compliment to Night Rider.


The silver flecks are great. No, it isn't shimmer or glitter, they are big flecks. Night Rider is just so dazzling. This can be worn casually or out at night, it doesn't matter - it's so versatile! I like to pair this with gold or silver eyeliner, which I love to use MUFE's Star Powders as a liner for this effect. It's very elegant together. However, I wouldn't buy this again. The texture is difficult to work with, and my personal tastes call for more pigmented color. But I will still pay my respects to Night Rider.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aperfectegg on 1/17/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by aperfectegg

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

RIS and so glad I did! This is a gorgeous yet subtle shade. I would describe it as a taupe (and not too light) with a smoky violet cast and then a little shimmer added. The silver glitter is negligible and I had absolutely no fallout even after heavy application. Beautiful and can be worn day or night! 2 thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lileuripop on 5/14/2009 11:22:00 PM more reviews by lileuripop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the very first high-end eyeshadows I purchased when I stepped foot into the whole makeup craze. I will admit spending TWENTY TWO dollars on a single eyeshadow is very expensive, but keep in mind, you're definitely getting a whole lot more product than you would get from a standard-size eyeshadow. Night Rider is a GORGEOUS light purple color with shimmery reflects and can be suitable for both day and night! Pigmentation is fantastic and I don't find myself having to dig to get the color on my brush. This is definitely a staple in my collection. There's just something about NARS that makes it unlike any other brand! Definitely $22 well spent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 niuniu on 2/23/2009 8:38:00 AM more reviews by niuniu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is one of my favourite eyeshadows of all time. I can wear it during the day and night. The colour is so pretty with and without a primer. I love the big glitter pieces, I love the soft plum colour. I know some people has had problems with the glitter falling on to the face, but I suggest using a smaller eyeshadow brush with less bristels instead of a medium size eyeshadow brush this will prevent the glitters from the face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CattySpice on 1/30/2009 2:54:00 PM more reviews by CattySpice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Yeah, so....I think I am addicted to NARS eyeshadows. This is my third single eyeshadow purchase within a week and I'm still anticipating for more. The color is very nice, light--yet rich..shimmery. Perfect for day or night! Since it's full of shimmer, I use a sponge tip applicator brush to make the shimmer and color stick to my eyes...so do not use a regular brush for this. But overall, I wear this on casual occassions...it's nearly $30 for one, but hey come on, it's BEAUTIFUL! MAC has better watch out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products