Sally Hansen • Insta-Brite Nail Whitener • Polishes

rated 3.3(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 12/4/2012 2:55:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Really not impressed with this. My nails aren't especially yellow or discoloured, but they do sometimes show discolouration, and I was hoping to use this on its own to just brighten up the nails for when I don't want coloured polish or a more involved French manicure. Unfortunately, this doesn't live up to the packaging promise of "instantly brightening" anything at all.

Two coats doesn't improve the "brightening" effect. Three coats and it starts to get weirdly cloudy.

I thought, well, maybe it would be an okay base coat, since it doesn't brighten anything, but it's not really even that. Certainly not as good as a proper base coat. Even using this regularly for a couple of weeks didn't show any sort of "brightening" effect on my nails.

Plus, it literally stinks. I'm not usually that bothered by the smell of nail polish, but this one has a very, very strong and sharp smell. If it did what it promised and/or was a good base coat, I might not mention it, but since it does nothing it promises AND it's got a very strong, acrid smell, I just had to add that to the list.

So, didn't work in the short term or long term to brighten my nails, not an especially good base coat, doesn't look that great on its own, and it stinks to high heaven, plus, not cheap. You can see why I won't be buying it again.

I will say that this product did lead me to find something that definitely does work to whiten nails. Mix two tablespoons of bicarbonate soda (baking soda) with about a tablespoon of hydrogen peroxide to form a paste, put that on and under your nails and let it sit for a few minutes, If you have really grungy tips, you can use an orange wood stick to gently scrub the underside of the tips. Rinse well with warm water and clean your nails well with a nail brush. Repeat as necessary, but be aware that this process can be drying, so keep an eye out for that and be sure to moisturise well. This is a process that is both effective and cheap.

So, thank you Sally Hansen, for a product that didn't work so that I could find something that does! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 psouper on 2/7/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by psouper

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Tried this after my nails were damaged from several Axxiom manicures. Not sure about the brightening aspect...I guess my nail beds do look lighter in color...but as a clear polish, this ROCKS. It has a really slick feel, stays super shiny, doesn't chip. I am a housewife with my hands in the sink all day long, and this seems to be quite durable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sallyen on 12/1/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by sallyen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This works. At first I didn't think it did because I didn't see any immediate effect, but I used it as a basecoat and totally forgot about it. Some time after, I don't remember exactly how long, I removed my nail polish at I saw that my nails were significantly brighter! I could see it because my nails grow really quick and I saw where I had applied the product.

It works and my nails look great, but the nail whitener does not give immediate results. You have to do it for a while and keep applying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lauriehall on 10/16/2011 1:53:00 PM more reviews by lauriehall

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product ticks me off. It did nothing to whiten my nails and not only that, if I just use it without polish over it, it turns yellow. I am so disgusted with paying for marketing B.S. (especially in cosmetics) that is simply lies and "they" all get away with it. I say we revolt!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kermide on 8/21/2011 4:17:00 AM more reviews by kermide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

SOOOOO.... this product sucks, I have been using it in hopes of getting my nails back to their natural color since they've gotten yellow from wearing nailpolish without a base coat. I am going back to what actually helped me in the past NAILTIQUES. Honestly this product gave me false hope hence the name "INSTA-BRITE NAIL WHITENER" did not make it worst but definitely did not make it better. SAVE YOUR MONEY, PASS ON THIS PRODUCT go for Nailtiques it really works to strengthen nails and nourish them and ive noticed a difference in the color of my nails also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 3/30/2011 9:02:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I said I would buy this again, because it does work ok as a base coat even though it doesn't brighten nails much. I have pretty stained nails from neglecting to wear a base coat under polish for so long. I knew not to expect miracles from this product from reading the reviews here, but decided to try it anyway. After using this since January I can say that it hasn't done much for the stains on my nails. I do see a very slight amount of brightening on the parts of my nails that are not stained. I have even had polish stain my nails while wearing this base coat, so it doesn't really protect the nail from staining. It does look nice on it's own if you just want some shine on natural nails. The bottle is also not made well - the brush has come loose from the top on mine and it would be nice if the bottle were clear so you can see how much is left. I may repurchase or I may look for another base coat when I run out, I'm undecided.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 findingeva on 2/7/2011 3:45:00 AM more reviews by findingeva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love Sally Hansen products and everything that i have tried has been amazing, that is why i didn't bother to MUA to check the reviews for this product! What a mistake!
this product doesn't really do anything for me, it didn't take the yellow out my nails and hasn't made them look natural, it's even made my white bits look dull :(
However, it's a great base coat, so this product is not going to waste.
To agree with some of the comments below, the name of this product is misleading, and i was also under the impression that it would whiten the tips and leave a ultra-violet shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hungryforjesus on 10/3/2010 1:17:00 PM more reviews by hungryforjesus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I absolutely love this product! I was hesitant about buying it at first because I didn't think it would work to be honest, but I wanted to try something since years of tanning has left my nails pretty yellow. I was pleasantly surprised when I put it on, I noticed immediately the difference. I even kept one hand bare just to compare. And I couldn't stop showing my room mates, they were convinced and even went out and bought there own! I was hooked when nutra- nail came out, and I am totally hooked to this product. I will definitely be buying this again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jqsuared on 8/30/2010 9:42:00 AM more reviews by jqsuared

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wearing this stuff on my nails and toes for about 2 years now. I just love it. 2 coats and it's the perfect look. It makes my nails look finished and very natural. Although the bottle tends to leak, which sucks and the product dries out fairly quickly. All and all, I still love it and will continue to buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KeenKitty on 8/30/2010 9:20:00 AM more reviews by KeenKitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I too am surprised at the low reviews on this product.

I was hoping this would be more violet tinted to mask the yellow effect my nails were having but it wasn't.

And the smell, yes I can attest that it is pretty gross. However, I didn't notice that it lingered after my nails were dry.

I took off a point for packaging quality because the bottle being opaque makes it hard to know how much product you have left.

However, this product DID go on smoothly, dry quickly, and I noticed that even after wearing black, red, and bright blue nail polish my nails looked whiter.

So calling it "Insta" may be a mis-nomer but it does in fact protect and whiten the nails so I for one will be using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products