Beauty Without Cruelty • Daily Benefits • Shampoo

rated 4.0(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Suger_Spise on 9/23/2010 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Suger_Spise

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This was a great shampoo. It doesn't completely transform your hair, but it does get it the perfect amount of clean. The only way I could describe the scent is by saying it smells like fruit loops. Not what I would've expected, but overall a good product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 8/9/2010 1:59:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try this since I love the leave-in and regular conditioner. It has a light citrus scent and lathers well in the shower. My scalp felt clean and my hair felt soft which is good since sometimes I can get greasy roots and dry ends. My hair is also medium textured so all I need is a basic shampoo sometimes. This fits the bill. It's a good alternative for those who plan on going into organic and natural haircare. It is surprisingly gentle, so as the bottle says it can be used daily. You don't need to use a lot either, so I don't feel guilty about paying eight bucks for this. I let this sit in my hair for a minute to let the essential oils break down any oil and product residue. When I rinse, my hair feels light and air-dries nicely. I found mine at a local health-food store, but I have seen this at Wholefoods and even Safeway at one time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JessieWW on 6/17/2009 8:27:00 PM more reviews by JessieWW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a sensitive scalp and dry, fine hair which is highlighted and splits easily. I tried this shampoo because it doesn't contain SLS--which tends to make my scalp itch. The product works fairly well: doesn't dry out my hair, doesn't result in itching scalp, and doesn't strip my highlighted hair. And yet it cleans well enough that my hair doesn't become dirty for at least several days.

That said, I also go to some lengths to avoid a bad outcome:
(a) I just shampoo once to avoid over-dryness
(b) I only apply the shampoo where my head actually becomes oily--along the top/crown, then I shampoo and rinse it out very quickly. Since the shampoo runs down, it does clean the rest of my hair, but doesn't sit on it for any length of time, and the ends don't dry out.
(c) I always use a heavy-duty moisturizer after shampooing and rinse it out well

Hope this helps others with dry hair!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 estrellafoder on 11/16/2008 10:18:00 AM more reviews by estrellafoder

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am trying to switch to using natural shampoos so I decided to give BWC shampoos a try. I bought this and the Volume Plus shampoo and I have to say I prefer the smell of the latter. I tried the Volume Plus shampoo first and I thought it smelled really good and then I tried this and was kinda disappointed. But I think it does lather up pretty well.



After using it for 1-2 months I noticed that I getting more hair fall but I did not attribute it to this shampoo and continued using it. It was until I switched to the Yes To Carrots shampoo that I realised this shampoo was causing the hair fall as I did not getting that much hair fall after switching.



So now I only use it to wash my makeup brushes and I don't think I will buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hell0kitty on 10/26/2008 11:51:00 PM more reviews by hell0kitty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the person below me about the limp part. I bought this because at the time, it was at the top of MUA Top picks, and it was natural, so I thought, why not? The first few uses were fine, my hair was pretty soft and not too dry. Now that I started using it more and more, my hair gets pretty dirty quickly at the end of the day.. no.. at the MIDDLE of the day. Also, my ends became really dry. So somehow it's drying, but it's not a good cleaner? I can't really explain it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LolaBlue on 10/9/2008 2:42:00 PM more reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I hate to be a party pooper, but this shampoo did nothing good for my hair. it's also not "sulphate free", and though it may contain a more gentle, naturally derived form of sulphates it still left my scalp itchy. anyway, after rinsing my hair felt nice, but upon drying it felt coated, and looked limp. so itchy scalp, limp hair, not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Extrapolate73sp on 8/21/2008 11:03:00 PM more reviews by Extrapolate73sp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love that this is a natural product that's not tested on animals. The smell isn't great out of the bottle, but it's not that noticeable in the shower and doesn't linger. The shampoo lathers well, and leaves my hair clean. However, I have to follow this up with a good conditioner, or else my hair gets dry and tangled. Probably works more as a clarifying shampoo for me rather than something I'd use daily, but it's worth a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 appoline on 6/7/2008 6:17:00 PM more reviews by appoline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am a huge fan of products that don't test on animals, furthermore a fan of shampoos that are organic and do not contain SLS or SLES. BWC has continuously satisfied with their products. My baby-fine, highlighted hair loves this shampoo. It lathers up very nicely, smells like lemongrass and the results are very soft, bouncy, shiny hair. What more could I ask for?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moblinger on 4/29/2008 3:31:00 PM more reviews by moblinger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I (like many others buying this shampoo) recently decided to stop using shampoo with SLS and all that other junk my body doesn't need spread onto it. I did some research and found Beaurty Without Cruelty. I could not wait to get the Daily Benefits Shampoo. It does an awesome job of cleaning my long, blonde (dyed) hair that tends to get slightly oily at the roots and dry at the ends. My hair is still clean the next day, and that has never happened with another shampoo! I also use the conditioner, and the combination is awesome. My hair is actually bright, shiny, and gorgeous, just like the bottle promises. My past shampoos have been Pantene and Aveda. This is cheaper than both, and blows them both out of the water!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suiw on 4/24/2008 1:29:00 PM more reviews by suiw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The main reason I wanted to try this shampoo was because I was looking for a shampoo that did not contain any irritating ingredients like sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS). I have acne-prone skin, and products with SLS have shown to irritate and exacerbate acne. So I've been revamping my toiletries and getting rid of products that irritate the skin. This shampoo made a difference not only in my hair, but in my skin as well. My face has improved greatly, has not broken out and is healing. As for the shampoo itself, it lathers up very nicely in the shower. I love the pleasant scent, and it's literally transformed my hair. My hair feels nice and light, isnt weighed down, and has just a nice, clean, shiny look and feel to it. I have natural body and bounce to my hair now, and also less greasiness by the end of the day unlike other shampoos. I love that it's pH balanced because it's "normalized" my hair. And my scalp is clean. I love that it's vegetarian, and I'm not putting any harmful chemicals onto my scalp that soaks into my skin. I also noticed much less hair loss in and out of the shower. It's as if this shampoo has strengthened and improved my hair due to no harmful chemicals in it. I love, love, love it! This is now my daily shampoo, and dare I say, my holy grail of shampoos? Im so glad I found BWC. I have no need to use other hyped brands anymore. I threw out my expensive salon shampoos and conditioners and replaced with BWC shampoo and conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Beauty Without Cruelty products

More Shampoo products