Ulta • Mystique • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cakexcuddles on 3/9/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by cakexcuddles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a little pot of this for free. It's a very very pretty color and reminds me of colors I've seen in expensive palettes. It is a bit crumbly and dry but since the color is gorgeous and light it still works out fine. Nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jackie7354 on 12/27/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by Jackie7354

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has become my go to eyeshadow for everyday. I would describe it as a cool toned, taupe and purple combination with a slight shimmer. I usually put mystique in the crease and the shade naked on the lid and under my brows. This also looks great with black, gray, brown or purple eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 11/22/2011 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am disappointed in this eyeshadow. I purchased it based on the positive reviews, but it doesn't show up on me at all. I tried building it up with a couple of layers and it didn't help. I don't know if it came from a bad batch or what, but it looks like I'm wearing nothing except for a few shimmers.
Update: I've been experimenting and I do like this; when I layer it with a darker brown (Clinique's chocolate chip) it really seems to show up more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srscott on 12/9/2010 3:50:00 PM more reviews by srscott

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought every Ulta eye shadow that looked even vaguely taupe on their website during a bogo sale. The way the colors show up on the website is very misleading! I ended up with some colors I really love and some that I really don't think will work on me. In hopes of helping others avoid purchasing shades they can't use, I'm summarizing them here. I also have a picture in my profile.

Organza - light shimmery shade with hints of lavender
Sandstone - light shimmery pinkish brown - identical to Revlonís Nude Slip - a good base color.
Mystique - My favorite out of all of these! A true medium taupe, great for the crease. It is also shimmery.
Plum Smoke - My second favorite. This is another shimmery medium taupe, but with plummy undertones. Another good crease color. A perfect dupe for Elizabeth Arden's buff which I loved and is now discontinued.
Gold Dust - Quite dark, given the name! There is nothing gold about it -- one of the least shimmery out of the bunch. However, it is a great neutral taupe color, excellent for lining. I am quite fond of this one!
Chestnut - This has the least shimmer of them all. It is also one of my least favorite. It is a reddish brown color and just doesn't look good on me.
Mesmerize - This color looks nothing like it looks in the pan! It is quite shimmery and quite red! Many reviewers mention this, but I didn't believe them -- well, believe it! This is my absolute least favorite.

The quality of these shadows is excellent! They are very smooth with little fallout. The color payoff is very good and they are long lasting. I do not have a problem with the hard coating on top that some reviewers mention, even though these are the new shadows with the word Ulta imprinted on the shadow. The price ($7.00) is cheap, especially with the bogo deal ($3.50). Overall, I highly recommend these shadows and the colors are dependent on your personal preference.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 11/25/2010 12:27:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a really pretty neutral taupe color....probably one of the most neutral taupes I own. I never noticed the blue irrdescence before....I'll have to check that out for myself one of these days. I really appreciate this shadow for the fact that it is so midtoned....makes a beautiful natural crease shade that works with almost anything else, or a not over or under-whelming shade to just wash over your lid for a pretty but subtly polished look. I do own the newer version of the shadow with the Ulta imprint others were referring to. I've found that if I scrape off the top crust of the shadow, there is some very nicely textured, soft and pigmented shadow to be found underneath....I don't know why some shadows have this crust on them, but scraping will usually solve the problem. I had the same issue with the Flirt 40 set I bought at Kohls last year. BTW, Sharalyn, your pictures are wonderful advertising for this shadow!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 9/3/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would describe this as a medium dark taupe colour. It is more (reddish) brown than other taupes and does not have hints of other colours like green or purple like some taupes do. The colour looks really pretty in the pan.

But this shadow sucks! Big time! Although this is my first Ulta eyeshadow, I think what one reviewer below makes sense: that these new ulta shadows with the embossed Ulta logo on the shadow and the 'made in china' label totally suck. Possibly there was a better formulation before that was made in the US and is responsible for some of the good reviews and pretty swatches.

But the one I have goes on REALLY sheer. Which would be workable by itself. But the texture also sucks. It's one of those shadows that's really powdery feeling and the shimmer is, like, separate from the powdery shadow...you know what I mean?

The shimmer in this also creates fallout allover my cheeks throughout the day. This was the deal breaker. No flaky shadows for me, thanks. And there isn't ever glitter in this so thee is no excuse.

Absolute crap. Don't buy them!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugamonkey on 8/25/2010 1:21:00 PM more reviews by sugamonkey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As others have said, color is hard to describe: taupey/grey/purple w/slight shimmer. On my Asian nc25 w/yellow skin tone, very natural w a hint of smokeyness. Goes on smooth and good color payoff. Good dupe for Cargo Yukon e/s.
only con: shadow has a lot of fallout in the container so I always have to blow it before closing the container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candystripelegs on 3/12/2010 6:29:00 PM more reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

(read on for pic) Mystique is a beautiful taupey (somewhat reddish) brown with a greenish/blue pearl sheen...really a very beautiful and complex color!!
No glitter, stays on for 8+ with TFSI and isn't chalky. the problem is that it made me look like I got punched in the eye. In fact, I used this for zombie makeup and it was pefect hehe. if you have a problem with reddish browns skip this, other wise it is a very pretty color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mielr on 2/26/2010 10:23:00 PM more reviews by mielr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I read all the good reviews for this shadow, but unfortunately, I was very disappointed.
I love taupe shadows, and this one looked like a winner in the case, and by trying out the tester on my hand. However, when I tried using this on my eyelid when I got home, I found the shadow to be very hard, dry and chalky. I had a difficult time even getting enough of it on the applicator to apply to my eyes. The pigment was very sheer, and layering it was impossible.

I noticed that this shadow is "made in China" (embossed with the "ulta" logo) while previous Ulta shadows I've purchased were "made in the USA" (not embossed w/logo). I'm wondering if there has been a change in the formula for this shade, since the switch. I suspect that to be the case.

In any case, I won't be purchasing this -or any other- Ulta shadows again. :-( Too bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katyd316 on 1/22/2010 12:03:00 AM more reviews by katyd316

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a suck for all taupey browns. I love layering it over a silver base (like NYX pencil in Pots and Pans or Skinny Jeans) for a nice daytime look (add a little black eyeliner for night and I'm good to go). Ulta shadows are really impressive to me, and if I wasn't on a no buy, I'd be grabbing more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ulta products

More Eye Shadow products