Dermalogica Skin Clearing Wash

3.4

52 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid 0.5%, Water (Aqua), Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-3 Glyceryl Cocoate, Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acids, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Extract, Arctium Majus Root Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Taraxasum Officinale (Dandelion) Rhyizome/Root Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Golden Seal) Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract, Silybum Marianum Fruit Extract, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Sodium PCA, Lactic Acid, Camphor, Menthol, Butylene Glycol, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin, Diammonium Copper EDTA.


on 7/6/2015 3:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to write this review to help others avoid terrible result as I have been through last 3 months.

My skin was oily, but smooth (thanks to SKII), sometimes it has acnes, few and occasionally but I hate it. So I decided to use this product - Dermalogica Clearing Wash + PreCleanse. With all the review and reputation of this brand, I expected this couple will help me never see acne again.
After I used it, for the beginning, ance hadn't come up. Skin was quite smooth n clean. Then soon after a while, acne started to grow, and grow, and growwww...

At first few weeks, I calmed myself down by the belief that: "maybe it helps hidden acne grow out of skin, then kill it, then acne will never appear again". So I keep using it, with the belief that an acne cleanser will help reduce the acne, but NO, ABSOLUTELY NOT, THE SITUATION JUST GET WORSE N WORSE N WORSE..

You can''t imagine how destroyed my face had been. I had to go to see doctors, take medicine, do treatment, etc. till now is 3 months treatment, and stopped using that product for 2 months (yeah, I was so stupid keep using that, then until I stopped, the acne also stopped growing more, then I understand that is surely because of this product that my skin became shit) , a lot of SKII (Clear Lotion + Essence + Cellumination Serum + Mask), then my skin recovered 80%.

So, my lesson learned is:
1. If your skin is combination to oily, but sensitive & non break-out much, don't ever use the couple Clearing Wash + Pre-cleanse. It's super dry & causing u hell lots of troubles.
2. Anything you suspect causing problem for your skin, no matter how expensive it is, stop using it immediately, or you will pay times much more than that to fix the consequences.
3. Don't rely on reputable brands & not all expensive products are safe for you. Get the sample and be very careful for whatever putting on your face, or you will regret it in vain (just like i do).



on 3/9/2014 2:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for a few months faithfully everyday and it does help in controlling acne. Apart from that It dried my face up quite a bit so if you pair it with a good quality face moisturizer after cleansing it should help with the dryness. Quite expensive so use a small amount, that may also help with not over drying the skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2013 11:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This cleanser will help with acne but use it sparingly. If you aren't excessively oily it WILL dry you out. For best results couple this cleanser with a gentle cleanser like cetaphil and use them every other day to keep some balance to your skin. Otherwise your skin may get too dried out causing rebound acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2013 11:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin which gets very oily in certain areas. It is also dehydrated though. I have mild acne which I had hoped this cleanser would clear up. It didn't and also completely stripped my skin of any natural oils. It made my skin very, very dry which in turn made my skin produce more oil. Could not wear makeup after using it as it gave me severely dry patches. Very uncomtortable cleanser which I think is only suited to people with severe acne.


on 1/1/2013 12:51:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

i swear by this cleanser, i use it every single day and i use it with my clarisonic, i've combination skin with oily t zone area and i love this stuff. cleanses my face really nicely, but i hate the smell, idk what it is about the smell but its not that bad to the extent where i feel like puking but i guess its bearable. i would definitely buy this again but the price was SGD 70 PLUS which is totally expensive but its dermalogica, so what can u expect, overall this is a great product for acne prone skin as my skin is extremely sensitive to certain foundations. if u haven't tried this, you haven't lived LOL. great cleanser, highly recommend, but my drugstore cleanser or cheaper alternative would be the body shop seaweed cleanser. :)


on 10/4/2012 1:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This cleanser turned out to be a perfect match for my skin despite the fact that my initial experience with it was less than stellar and i almost passed it on to someone else!
When i first used this I was really surprised that a Dermalogica product preformed so-so badly! It was a mess - not only did i feel it dried out my skin but the texture alone was a total turn off as well (goo is putting it mildly!). No matter how much i rinsed after each wash i could never get rid of the filmy residue left behind :-( I was disappointed to say the least and to make matters even worse i had purchased the JUMBO size so i thought i was stuck with yet another skincare "find" for the back of the bathroom cabinet (the black hole!).
Enter the Clarisonic Mia (amazing)! As i was experimenting with different cleansers that would work with my MIA i remembered the Clearing wash and decided to put it in rotation (for scientific purposes lol).
WOW!!! I was stunned! This time around the Clearing wash felt completely different - it foamed up lighly, rinsed easily and best of all my skin was calm and glowy after each wash :)
It might be that when i was using it with my fingers it wasnt able to emulsify or i could have been using too much? Who knows? And Who Cares? As long as it works i am not questioning it :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/5/2012 3:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This Product isnt "AMAZING" But I Have Acne Pron/Oily/Sensitive Skin. I think Its Pros Is that I Didnt recieve any Breakouts using this product, which for me is a first, However It didnt really fight the ones i was already dealing with as powerful as I thought it would, So i have to use additional products to help with getting rid of my minor acne. Another Con With this product is that my face dosnt feel squeaky clean after using it, so i usually have to wash my face twice with this product in order to feel satisfied that my face is actually "clean." Overall Id buy this product again but I Hope ill find something better.


on 1/27/2012 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm 20 with pretty oily skin and a few pimples on occasion. I also have some acne scaring from my early teens.

Pros: It brightens up my skin.
Evens my skin tone.
Calms redness.
Get's rid of pimples quickly.
Helps with oily skin.
It has a nice lather, so you don't need to use much.
No artificial color or fragrances.
Cons: Expensive!
Hasn't helped with blackheads.
Hasn't helped with large pores.
I still get small occasional blemishes.

Overall I like it. The only big downfall for me is the price. The product didn't "blow my mind" or anything for $50.


on 1/21/2012 8:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

On the whole, I do like this product. I have very oily, sensitive and sometimes acne-prone skin, so this product, with its Salicylic Acid content, is right up my alley. It busts existing blemishes within 12 to 24 hours, at most. My blemishes tend to appear a week before my time-of-the-month, when my hormones are high (darn luteal phase), and there's normally nothing I can to avoid breaking out during that period (pun intended); however, I found that this product miraculously kept the zits at bay.


Yes, it is drying and it is quite a harsh product. But I haven't noticed any of the dryness that other reviewers have described - perhaps my skin is just that extra oily! As well, I am hyper-vigilant about moisturizing my skin with products that restore the balance. I should also add that I only used this product once a daily, not morning and night, and preferred to have it in my nighttime routine, followed by a night cream. Again, this might explain why my skin did not react badly to it.


I am in the process of playing around with my skin care routine to determine what are the best products that work well together. If I don't add this to the lineup and repurchase, it won't be because I hate the product, but because I've found a better combination of products. I would recommend it to girls with very oily skin, and might perhaps suggest starting off by using it every other day to determine whether it's too stripping of your oils or if your skin can take it daily.


on 12/12/2011 11:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NC25 Chinese, oily skin but dry trying to remove mild acne prone post Accutane, early 30s.

I used this for about 2 years to cleanse makeup in the shower at night, combined w/ the powder exfoliant in the mornings... smells nice and cleansed the skin but no miracles. During facials, most of the time the estheticians would state my skin looked dry from the the overstripping of my skin. So moving on and looking at gentler options, since again, no miracles for my mild acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top