Dermalogica • Skin Clearing Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.5(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jodiib on 3/9/2014 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Jodiib

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for a few months faithfully everyday and it does help in controlling acne. Apart from that It dried my face up quite a bit so if you pair it with a good quality face moisturizer after cleansing it should help with the dryness. Quite expensive so use a small amount, that may also help with not over drying the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LBooz16 on 9/23/2013 11:52:00 PM more reviews by LBooz16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This cleanser will help with acne but use it sparingly. If you aren't excessively oily it WILL dry you out. For best results couple this cleanser with a gentle cleanser like cetaphil and use them every other day to keep some balance to your skin. Otherwise your skin may get too dried out causing rebound acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 seannaghorr on 9/14/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by seannaghorr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination skin which gets very oily in certain areas. It is also dehydrated though. I have mild acne which I had hoped this cleanser would clear up. It didn't and also completely stripped my skin of any natural oils. It made my skin very, very dry which in turn made my skin produce more oil. Could not wear makeup after using it as it gave me severely dry patches. Very uncomtortable cleanser which I think is only suited to people with severe acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flylikeacg on 1/1/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by flylikeacg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

i swear by this cleanser, i use it every single day and i use it with my clarisonic, i've combination skin with oily t zone area and i love this stuff. cleanses my face really nicely, but i hate the smell, idk what it is about the smell but its not that bad to the extent where i feel like puking but i guess its bearable. i would definitely buy this again but the price was SGD 70 PLUS which is totally expensive but its dermalogica, so what can u expect, overall this is a great product for acne prone skin as my skin is extremely sensitive to certain foundations. if u haven't tried this, you haven't lived LOL. great cleanser, highly recommend, but my drugstore cleanser or cheaper alternative would be the body shop seaweed cleanser. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SanjaFika on 10/4/2012 1:04:00 AM more reviews by SanjaFika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This cleanser turned out to be a perfect match for my skin despite the fact that my initial experience with it was less than stellar and i almost passed it on to someone else!
When i first used this I was really surprised that a Dermalogica product preformed so-so badly! It was a mess - not only did i feel it dried out my skin but the texture alone was a total turn off as well (goo is putting it mildly!). No matter how much i rinsed after each wash i could never get rid of the filmy residue left behind :-( I was disappointed to say the least and to make matters even worse i had purchased the JUMBO size so i thought i was stuck with yet another skincare "find" for the back of the bathroom cabinet (the black hole!).
Enter the Clarisonic Mia (amazing)! As i was experimenting with different cleansers that would work with my MIA i remembered the Clearing wash and decided to put it in rotation (for scientific purposes lol).
WOW!!! I was stunned! This time around the Clearing wash felt completely different - it foamed up lighly, rinsed easily and best of all my skin was calm and glowy after each wash :)
It might be that when i was using it with my fingers it wasnt able to emulsify or i could have been using too much? Who knows? And Who Cares? As long as it works i am not questioning it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lamonster on 9/5/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Lamonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This Product isnt "AMAZING" But I Have Acne Pron/Oily/Sensitive Skin. I think Its Pros Is that I Didnt recieve any Breakouts using this product, which for me is a first, However It didnt really fight the ones i was already dealing with as powerful as I thought it would, So i have to use additional products to help with getting rid of my minor acne. Another Con With this product is that my face dosnt feel squeaky clean after using it, so i usually have to wash my face twice with this product in order to feel satisfied that my face is actually "clean." Overall Id buy this product again but I Hope ill find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ScarlettBunny on 9/3/2012 2:44:00 AM more reviews by ScarlettBunny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Kind of pricey but lasts forever. And I would pay any price for something that works as well as this does. HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 koridixon on 1/27/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by koridixon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 20 with pretty oily skin and a few pimples on occasion. I also have some acne scaring from my early teens.

Pros: It brightens up my skin.
Evens my skin tone.
Calms redness.
Get's rid of pimples quickly.
Helps with oily skin.
It has a nice lather, so you don't need to use much.
No artificial color or fragrances.
Cons: Expensive!
Hasn't helped with blackheads.
Hasn't helped with large pores.
I still get small occasional blemishes.

Overall I like it. The only big downfall for me is the price. The product didn't "blow my mind" or anything for $50.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinytapa on 1/21/2012 8:57:00 PM more reviews by tinytapa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

On the whole, I do like this product. I have very oily, sensitive and sometimes acne-prone skin, so this product, with its Salicylic Acid content, is right up my alley. It busts existing blemishes within 12 to 24 hours, at most. My blemishes tend to appear a week before my time-of-the-month, when my hormones are high (darn luteal phase), and there's normally nothing I can to avoid breaking out during that period (pun intended); however, I found that this product miraculously kept the zits at bay.


Yes, it is drying and it is quite a harsh product. But I haven't noticed any of the dryness that other reviewers have described - perhaps my skin is just that extra oily! As well, I am hyper-vigilant about moisturizing my skin with products that restore the balance. I should also add that I only used this product once a daily, not morning and night, and preferred to have it in my nighttime routine, followed by a night cream. Again, this might explain why my skin did not react badly to it.


I am in the process of playing around with my skin care routine to determine what are the best products that work well together. If I don't add this to the lineup and repurchase, it won't be because I hate the product, but because I've found a better combination of products. I would recommend it to girls with very oily skin, and might perhaps suggest starting off by using it every other day to determine whether it's too stripping of your oils or if your skin can take it daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 12/12/2011 11:45:00 AM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 Chinese, oily skin but dry trying to remove mild acne prone post Accutane, early 30s.

I used this for about 2 years to cleanse makeup in the shower at night, combined w/ the powder exfoliant in the mornings... smells nice and cleansed the skin but no miracles. During facials, most of the time the estheticians would state my skin looked dry from the the overstripping of my skin. So moving on and looking at gentler options, since again, no miracles for my mild acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products