Aveda • Smooth Infusion Style-Prep Smoother • Hair Treatments

rated 4.1(86 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 temadeamor on 7/17/2014 6:03:00 PM more reviews by temadeamor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a sample of this at an Aveda store and have to admit I liked it enough to get the full size bottle. I have curly, course hair that I occasionally straighten with a flat iron. I washed my hair with conditioner (co-wash), put this product on ONLY and let it air dry during the day. I didn't notice anything amazing but i wasn't expecting much as it's not a styling product. The next day I straightened my hair, no products other than the style prep from the day before AND it left my hair so soft and straight! I wore my hair like that for 4 more days! My hair remained straight the whole time. It was great in preparation for straightening in the absence of any other product and that is what I want, simplicity. So when I want to straighten my hair, this will be my only product. The only draw back is that it is expensive for 3.4 ounces, but as I don't straighten my hair often it will last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 7/3/2014 9:54:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Smooth Infusion Glossing Straightener for over a year and really like it. I've only just started using Style Prep Smoother because the SA at the Aveda store where I went to get the new Smooth Infusion Naturally Straight said this was a really great and necessary product. Maybe I have to play around with this a bit more but for now, I'm not super-impressed. The SA said it was amazing for controlling frizz but I don't find it makes any difference. What I do notice is that this seems to make my hair feel "crispy" and sort of dry. I only used a small amount - perhaps I need to use more, especially since I really want this for frizz control in heat and humidity. But as much as I like the other products in the Smooth Infusion line, this one is disappointing. If things improve, I will come back to edit my review but as this stands, I would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 reveriex on 3/1/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by reveriex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I like this product better than the Kerastase thermique products (Ciment thermique and Chroma thermique). Best thing about that is that it is half the price of the Kerastase counterparts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rjmom on 2/5/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by rjmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

No matter what I do, this does not make my hair "smooth"...overpriced and doesn't do anything for me. I much prefer an Argan Oil or CHI Smooth Infusion. They actually keep my frizzies and fly aways at bay. Wish I didn't waste my money on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LovelyLisXO on 1/16/2014 12:58:00 AM more reviews by LovelyLisXO

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the holy grail of hair products for me! It's a three in one product; not only does it make your hair frizz free it also keeps it soft shiny AND serves as a heat protectant. I went into aveda on a cold clammy San Francisco day. My hair was super frizzy! I needed help, and the stylist new just what to suggest. It took about a week or two of use for me to really notice the difference. Haven't had frizzy hair for over a year now, no matter what the weather is like. It's truly a miracle worker. They bottle lasts 6 months+, so it's well worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melkoz on 10/25/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by melkoz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have wavy shoulder length hair with course patches, I don't find this to make any difference after blowdrying and/or flat ironing. I have tried using it with 1, 2, and 3 pumps and the amounts do not seem to change the outcome - dull finish with ends that tend to clump together. I find that I must use something over top to give shine and movement to my hair. I also do not like the fragrance of this product either, herbal and sort of medicinal. Save your money and use Aussie hair insurance products instead (1/4 the cost) great shiny hair with a pleasant smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amy1334 on 9/15/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by amy1334

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It took me forever to figure out how to use this!! I use the smooth infusion shampoo and conditioner and i always thought it was the conditioner weighing my hair down. After squeezing my hair with paper towel; best thing to prevent frizzing; i would put about 3 squirts of the style prep throughout my hair then blow dry it. Well it held my hair in place all day but it felt like my hair was stuck to my head and heavy. Well today i only put 1 squirt on the ends then blew dry my hair and it looks amazing!! Shiny and silky and not heavy. So now the price doesnt seem so bad. This stuff will last me for a year. The old saying is sooo true" too much of anything isnt good for you!!! Also only expect what you want to happen. Our thoughts create our reality. God bless and best wishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lorwayk on 3/5/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by lorwayk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A wonderful product! This makes my hair flyaway free when blowdrying. It's on the pricey side, but I still have not found anything I like more than Aveda hair products. Smells great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimmie578 on 2/28/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by kimmie578

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My hair: fine (but lots of it), color treated, wavy, with frizzy ends.

I blow dry my hair straight, but prior to using this product, my hair would be frizzy looking, not sleek. Now, when I use this in my hair, after blowing my hair dry it is much more sleek. I use this in conjunction with a few pumps of Phomollient (which I have been using for somewhere around 8 years) and the two make a great combination. I also use Light Elements Smoothing Fluid as a finisher to further "sleeken" my hair, especially on the ends. I don't know how, but the style prep smoother definitely does what it says!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charlagold on 9/24/2012 2:17:00 PM more reviews by charlagold

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This product pretty much does what it says - it smooths and preps your hair for styling. Don't expect any miracles, it's not going to change anything until you've actually styled the hair, then you'll be able to see a shine and softer texture. Putting too much of this, however, like any product, can cause buildup and make the hair limp and lifeless, so i'd avoid putting more than one pump of this product through the ends, and maybe a little at the top (a LITTLE) to eliminate frizz in that area.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Hair Treatments products