Aveda Smooth Infusion Style-Prep Smoother

4.0

93 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqueous Extract:Aloe Barbadensis Leaf, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Palmamidopropyl Trimonium Methosulfate, PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate, Cetyl Alchol, Tamanu Seed Oil, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Tapioca Starch, Tocopherol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, PG-Propyl Silanetrio, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Babassuamidopropyltrimonium Methosulfate, Benhentrimonium Methosulfate, Fragrance, Linalool, Citronellol, Citral, Geraniol, Limonene, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Benzoate.


on 7/26/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have thick curly hair and I use this on washed detangled and conditioned hair. I used it before I apply heat to it. It smells great. It makes my hair soft and manageable. I loved it! But I do not think I will buy it that much due to the fact that I do not apply heat or straighten my hair much anymore. If it wasn't so expensive I would keep it in stock in my hair product stash.



on 5/18/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I purchased this product for something to give a smooth and silky texture to my curly hair...After three uses, my hair is ike straw...For the price, this is ridiculous...I have used damage remedy shampoo and conditioner and did fine...I have also used other Aveda products and had no problem I realize that different hair will produce different results...This girl's hair was bombed...


on 4/12/2015 9:15:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A few months ago, I reviewed the Smooth Infusion line and gave it a glowing review. I can't find my Makeup Alley review but I feel somewhat guilty and want to write an up to date review.
First, I bought the shampoo, conditioner and Naturally Straight styling cream. A few weeks later I bought the Style-Prep. At that point, I was using all four products. My hair turned into straw. I have blonde hair so it really did look like straw. I then used Acai Daily Smoothing Serum to smooth things out (and hopefully restore some shine) but no dice. I don't want to toss the Aveda products as they were so expensive. So last night I drenched my hair in Acai Deep Conditioning Masque, put an extra pillow case on my pillow and went to sleep. This morning I shampooed and creme rinsed my hair with the Aveda products and then used Aveda Naturally Straight styling cream. I did not use the Style Prep. Next time, I will use the Style Prep, but not the cream. I'm curious as to which is the really nasty product. My hair does look better this morning but that is due to the Acai Masque. So, yes, this Aveda line does straighten hair but you will end up with straight straw line hair.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have to finally write a review for this product...it's definitely a holy Grail for my hair. I have used this in my long (bra strap length), color treated, damaged, wavy and frizzy hair for several years now. I recently chopped off almost all it in into a very short stacked bob since I'm attempting, at 38, to grow out my grey hair. My hair is an absolute mess if I don't use this prior to blow drying and/or flat ironing. After towel drying I work a couple of pumps (much less now with the short hair) through my damp hair and then style. It never weighs my hair down, never feels sticky or "producty", controls my frizz and adds weight to my flyaway hair. Humidity is the mortal enemy of my hair and makes it poof something horrible, but with this in my hair it almost completely prevents that. I've tried so many other products recently in an attempt to find a cheaper alternative but always come back to this. It's well worth the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2014 7:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Living in a coastal town in the South means that humidity can quickly become a major existential crisis for my hair -- there is no way to win, so why fight it? While Smooth Infusion Style Prep has not been a total cure, it has helped manage it. If you have fine hair, you might have to use most of the product on your ends -- I do think it can weigh down your roots if you put too much on them. But it is generally a really great styling product, very lightweight and it smells wonderful. For the price, it is not unreasonable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 10:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using the Smooth Infusion Style Prep Smoother along with Smooth Infusion Naturally Straight, and it has done nothing for my hair. I have colored hair that has become coarse due to greying and was hoping for something that might tame it but this product simply has not worked. Save your money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 11:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Makes my hair smooth and soft with no stickiness or dryness. Doesn't weigh my hair down either. This is something I'd purchase again in the future. For reference I have hair that is thick, dry, wavy-texture, color-treated and I heat-style it regularly. So it's important that I take care of it with the right products. I always use some type of leave-in product on my damp hair before I blow-dry, and this one is a winner- recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2014 6:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got a sample of this at an Aveda store and have to admit I liked it enough to get the full size bottle. I have curly, course hair that I occasionally straighten with a flat iron. I washed my hair with conditioner (co-wash), put this product on ONLY and let it air dry during the day. I didn't notice anything amazing but i wasn't expecting much as it's not a styling product. The next day I straightened my hair, no products other than the style prep from the day before AND it left my hair so soft and straight! I wore my hair like that for 4 more days! My hair remained straight the whole time. It was great in preparation for straightening in the absence of any other product and that is what I want, simplicity. So when I want to straighten my hair, this will be my only product. The only draw back is that it is expensive for 3.4 ounces, but as I don't straighten my hair often it will last.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2014 9:54:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've used Smooth Infusion Glossing Straightener for over a year and really like it. I've only just started using Style Prep Smoother because the SA at the Aveda store where I went to get the new Smooth Infusion Naturally Straight said this was a really great and necessary product. Maybe I have to play around with this a bit more but for now, I'm not super-impressed. The SA said it was amazing for controlling frizz but I don't find it makes any difference. What I do notice is that this seems to make my hair feel "crispy" and sort of dry. I only used a small amount - perhaps I need to use more, especially since I really want this for frizz control in heat and humidity. But as much as I like the other products in the Smooth Infusion line, this one is disappointing. If things improve, I will come back to edit my review but as this stands, I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2014 9:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

I like this product better than the Kerastase thermique products (Ciment thermique and Chroma thermique). Best thing about that is that it is half the price of the Kerastase counterparts!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Aveda Products

image

Lip Saver

104 reviews
Back to Top