Almay TLC Truly Lasting Color

3.8

348 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

NEW 6/2013 - Aqua (water, EAU), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cyclohexasiloxane, butylene glycol,talc, boron nitride, HDI/trimethylol hexllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, PEG/PPG -18/18, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, sodium chloride, trisiloxane, hydrolyzed rice protein, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond seed extract), laminara japonica extract, nerreocystis leutkeana extract, macrocystis pyrifera extract, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, trihydroxystearin, lactobacillus/lemon peel ferment extract, camellia sinesis leaf (green tea) extract, aspalathus linearis leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, tocepherol acetate, sodium ascorbyl phophate, methicone, tribehenin, hydrogenated lecithin, triethoxycaprylysilane, alumina, silica, hydrolyzed glycolsaminogkycans, sodium hyaluronate, sorbitan sesquioleate, palmitoyl, hydroxypropyltrimonium amylopectin/glycerin crosspolymer, sorbitol, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, May contain/ +/- titanion dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) zinc oxide (ci77947), 22757. ORIGINAL- (Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 3.3%, Zinc Oxide 2.3%), Water, Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Talc, Nylon-12, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Trisiloxane, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Nereocystis Leutkeana Extract, Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Magnesium, Potassium, Trihydroxystearin, Lactobacillus/Lemon Peel Ferment Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methicone, Tribehenin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Alumina, Silica, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Sorbitol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


on 6/3/2015 9:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

My skin is oily and I was using mineral foundation but my skin needs to be evened out a bit and needs more coverage than a mineral powder can supply so I decided to go back to using a liquid. One of the hard things about having oily skin is that foundations usually wear off quickly. As I am 49 years old, some foundations tend to settle in my pores as well and my face gets shiny a hour after application.

Based on some reviews, I decided to try this product. I apply liquid foundation with a wedge sponge which I dampen. The coverage for this is not heavy. I did a light layer all over and had to go back and put an extra layer on my nose which has light freckles and an acne mark on my cheek that has been there for 2 weeks now . Foundation felt light and the coverage was good with layering on the trouble spots.

Lunchtime at work, I checked myself. Foundation looked good. No shine. Did not settle in any of my pores. 3:00 p.m., I checked myself. My face was a little shiny but I have rice paper to blot so no biggie. Still no settling in pores. I arrived home about 7:00 p.m., my skin looks a little shiny but the coverage is still there.

I have used other "long lasting" foundations and they feel heavy or rubbery on my face. This product did not.

So my fellow reviewers, thank you for your reviews. It helped me find this foundation and I like it and will continue to use it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 5/19/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

In my opinion, the only pro with this foundation is the packaging. It is a pump and it is easy to control how much comes out.

Texure-The consistency of this foundation is weird....it looks like a liquid, but it's not really. It's somewhere between a liquid and a cream. But it's not really either one.

Coverage-This foundation is very light coverage. I have to use 3 very light layers to achieve any coverage at all. When I do, you can still see redness underneath the makeup.

Staying power-This stuff does not even come close to lasting 6 hours. Heck, it doesn't even make it through 8 hours, much less 16. I apply this in the morning, and by my lunch at 11:30, there are huge bare patches. This is even with a primer!


Price-This makeup is definitely NOT worth the price. I think I paid $9.99 at Walmart. It's even more expensive other places.

Buildability-I apply this with my fingers, like I do all my foundations. This stuff doesn't spread very well at all. It's not easy to worth with. This is not buildable at all.

I'm still debating whether I'm even going to finish this bottle. I'm getting very frustrated and close to just tossing it in the trash. If you have flawless skin, and only need very light coverage, this foundation will probably be great for you. But you need more than sheer coverage or have any type of flaw on your face, then you should skip it. I will not be repurchasing this. Which is disappointing, because I was really looking forward to trying this foundation.


on 5/17/2015 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I honestly did not like this foundation. It would be okay for someone with dry skin, who needs a light coverage foundation, but otherwise avoid this!

Pros-
It has a pump so product is not wasted, and application is not messy!

Does not oxidize/get darker throughout the day like other long lasting foundations


Cons-
Claims to be oil free, and does not clog pores but broke me out the first day I wore it. (Foundations typically do not break me out.)

Very Very Very light coverage and not easily buildable

Does not lost 16 hours as it claims


I pretty much hate this foundation, it is pricey for being a drugstore foundation. You are basically paying the extra money for the packaging of the product. It does nothing it claims to, and when I put it on, it does not cover any of my blemishes. This might be a good product for anyone over the age of 25 who do not have issues with acne, but for young adults/teens I 100% do not recommend.


on 5/9/2015 2:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE this foundation! I have tried nearly every low-end and high-end foundation out there and this is, by far, the best. FYI: I'm going to be doing a lot of comparing to Revlons Colorstay foundation in this review, because based on what the products offer, I think many people might be looking at both.

My skin type: I'm combination oily. Where I'm oily, I'm VERY oily, but I also am 29 and developing some drier areas and fine lines that tend to be accentuated with most long-lasting foundations.

What I Love:
It LASTS, even on my combination/oily skin. This blows Colorstay out of the water.
It does NOT look cakey/unnatural (ie: like the new formulas of Colorstay, the new EL Double wear do, etc)
It does not settle into or accentuate my pores or fine lines
It controls oil SO WELL but not so much that I feel overly matte or flat. It has a very natural, amazing finish. I think all skin types should try this.
It DOESN'T break me out. This is big, Colorstay has always broken me out but I used it anyway because I was under the impression it was the longest lasting.

What I don't like:
Absolutely nothing!

This is the only foundation I've ever tried than somehow manages to last on my oily/combination skin, without being dry looking or accentuating my pores or fine lines. It has am amazingly natural finish and really seems to just blur over areas that foundations like Revlon Colorstay (either one) or EL DW would just accentuate. The part that really impresses me, and I'm not sure how it achieves, is the lasting power. Usually drier formulas will last longer, but this one looks so natural, yet is the only foundation I've used that manages to actually last. I will mention that I use it with a damp beauty blender, but I also think it applies really nicely with just fingers :)
Seriously, don't ignore this product! TRY IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Just a horrible foundation. I am an NC30-NC15 at my lightest and I could not find a shade to match me! This looked super ashy on my skin, terrible quality overall and just looked super thick and fake.


on 3/20/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've never posted a review for foundation because I've never been impressed by a foundation for my very dry, sensitive, rosacea skin. Everything I try ends up looking dry and blah. And then I tried this. So far this is by favorite I've tried and I've tried revlon colorstay, L'Oreal luminous, revlon anti-aging, mac studio sculpt, and rimmel 25 hour foundation (which is my second favorite). I loved how this didn't look like I had makeup on and it didn't wear off throughout the day. If you have dry skin, it's a definite try. I didn't give it 5 stars because I felt like it wasn't as "luminous" as some other foundations I've tried and seemed a tad dull.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I first got into makeup, I bought this and loved it. I thought is was the bees knees, I noticed it was very drying and made me itchy. I honestly believe it's because when I first got it, I was in a constant battle with teenage oiliness, and since then, my skin has become more combination, super dry some times, super oily others, perfectly fine occasionally, and sensitive always. my mom didn't like the feel on her skin, she's very sensitive too. while the pump is convenient, it pumps out too much I'd you do a full pump. the color is great though.


on 2/3/2015 4:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

WHY ME?!

Let me just say, the oil-control and lasting power was amazing! I'd put this on at 8 a.m. and 8 hours+ later, it would still look amazing. It lasted through a Canadian blizzard when I was walking home too, that itself says A LOT!
I love natural-looking foundations in all types of lighting especially natural lighting (under direct sunlight), this passes the test. It makes my skin look good even in natural lighting and it almost looks like I'm not wearing any make-up (almost). I have this in the shade 'Sand' and it matches my skin tone perfectly! For reference I'm a 203 in MUFE Mat Duo, Tawny in Estee Lauder, #40 in Mat Velvet+, 08 in Clinique Stay Matte...
The coverage could be better, but I'm not looking for full coverage so I'm totally ok with it. It evens out my skin tone very well. It just doesn't cover up some of the darker hyper pigmentation/acne scars that I have.

It has EVERYTHING I look for in a foundation: natural-looking, even medium coverage, lasting power, does not make me oily...

Except for the fact that it clogs my pores! Honestly, why me?! I had the same problem with Estee Lauder, everything was perfect except for the massive skin-coloured pore clog epidemic that wreaked havoc on my face! I had these clogged pores on my forehead, I have not had a pore clogged on my forehead since Grade 8! And that's a long time ago... though I still do break out on my cheeks and chin mostly, I'm pretty acne-prone.

I didn't want to give this foundation up so I had to make sure that it was this before I did and when I checked the ingredients, it shared so many similar ingredients as Estee Lauder Double Wear... and since I had the same reaction to ELDW, I had to confirm that YES this does break me out.

For reference here are the common ingredients that both Estee Lauder Double Wear and Almay TLC share:
"Aqua (water), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, butylene glycol, PEG/PPG - 18/18 dimethicone, methicone, tribehenin, alumina, (May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides)"

I don't know if I missed some but those are some of the major ingredients that I found.

It's honestly saddening and I WISH I could use this as it wears beautifully but I am not about the clogged-pore life! *Sighs* If you're not as acne-prone as me, do give this a try because it's a great foundation... just be weary and spot test first!


on 1/19/2015 5:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am oily and it didn't make me oily but the coverage wasn't good enough.


on 12/2/2014 7:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm really impressed with this foundation. I wanted something without sunscreen because sunscreen products usually feel really gross to me. I use Clinique Dramatically Different Gel Moisturizer first, then I buff the foundation in with Sephora #56 foundation brush. Color is great, I'm fair and very yellow. Lasting power and finish is great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top