Too Faced • Shadow Insurance • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1589 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sarahrose53 on 11/28/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by sarahrose53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This primer does a good job keeping my eyeshadow from creasing, but after the 12-14 hour mark, I do start to see some creasing occasionally. The most bothersome thing for me, though, is that this product separates and sometimes when I squeeze it out, this weird water/oily substance comes out. I just don't think a $20 primer should do that. My Milani primer does the same thing, but it's a much more reasonable price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 11/26/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I rate this eye primer 3.5 stars because it does a decent job of keeping eyeshadows on my lids from creasing or fading for most of the day. After the 12 hour mark, I can see a bit of creasing and fading.

I'm deducting lipsticks for the price tag as I think it's rather pricey for the amount of product and it can't compete with the Etude Proof 10 eye primer or WnW's Fergie eye primer. Those primers make my shadows last for more than 12 hours and my eye makeup looks almost as fresh as when I applied it in the morning.
Plus they're much less expensive than the TF Shadow Insurance.

I wouldn't recommend this primer unless you love all things Too Faced and don't mind the price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciccastars on 11/16/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by ciccastars

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This has been my go-to eye primer for about 5 years. Over the years, I've tried many other primers that came as samples from Sephora, but this is the only one that truly works all day on my oily lids. (The NARS primer also works; however, the applicator makes it difficult to dispense the right amount of product and it also irritated my eyelids a bit.) I also like the fact that it's beige rather than white - it blends more nicely and is a good match to my skin tone. It has never caused irritation for me. The tubes seem to last forever as you only need a small amount each day, and the price isn't bad, either. I haven't experienced any problems with separation, but I do use it daily, so I'm sure that helps. I have and will continue to buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frostwoman on 11/4/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by frostwoman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This does work very well. I have very oily lids, and this really makes my shadow last without creasing. The tube lasts a long time, and you only need a small amount of product. Only dislike is that product is now separating, I get oily liquid come out if I don't shake it up really well. And it's hard to do this with a tube. For that reason, I will probably try other brands as there seem to be many good options out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lea420 on 10/30/2014 3:02:00 AM more reviews by Lea420

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Benefits one to try out but I prefer this one. I bought a gift eyeshadow pack from Sephora around Christmas and it came with a tiny tube. A little goes a long way with this one. I do use it as an eyeshadow sometimes since it has a golden hue, it does crease but stays better in place with eyeshadow. My eyelids are super oily especially if I'm in at the office but if I wasn't this would definitely sit better on my eyelids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ibangal on 10/30/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by ibangal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has just replaced my Urban Decay primer potion as my fav eye primer. I put it on underneath my eyeshadow, go to work, 14 hours later after im home my eyeshadow still look the same as when i put it on this morning. Love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vickie34 on 10/29/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by vickie34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a good primer
It prevents they eyeshadow from possible smudging if you have oily eyelids
Also, the color of the eyeshadow really pop after i apply the eye primer
packaging is cute
Will i buy it? i don't know..cuz i wanna try out the UD primer to compare

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ThePetiteRunner on 10/29/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by ThePetiteRunner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried a few different primers, including the cult favorite by Urban Decay and I have to say I like this one more. I just dab a tiny bit over both lids and it keeps my eyeshadow totally in place all day. I love the silky, smooth texture and personally I think it works better than the UD primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JessicaIsCool15 on 10/22/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by JessicaIsCool15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

honestly - i felt like this didn't do much for me. maybe I am crazy but I felt as though I didn't get many results when using this primer.. I mean, it definitely did keep some of my eyeshadow on all day but at the same time, never gave me great vibrancy or hold that I crave. I like to think the UD shadow primer does a much better job.,.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mckinleykulman on 10/22/2014 3:35:00 PM more reviews by Mckinleykulman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried a ton of different eyeshadow primers, and this is by far my HG. I never have to worry about my eye shadow fading with this. I apply it either with my fingers or a sigma makeup brush and it blends right away. The tube lasts FOREVER. I literally bought it almost a year ago, use it every day, and I'm not close running out. Will def repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products