Chanel • Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.9(108 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 susu19 on 1/9/2015 10:54:00 AM more reviews by susu19

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE!
I am very late with using primer, I never saw a benefit from using it.
The Chanel one gives me smooth and bright skin, never breakouts. It is a guaranty for an good looking skin day. I need to be very carefull for choosing foundation and primer, because with the wrong one I am prone to get breakouts on my normal skin.
After loving the effect of a primer, I bought Kanebo Sensai and Sunday Riley but I need to say, nothing beats Chanel for me.
The pump bottel is good but you can not get the last drops out, you need to take the pump away to get everything out of the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sofialexiou1 on 1/5/2015 8:45:00 PM more reviews by sofialexiou1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best highlighter ever!
This product is absolutely amazing! It's the only highlighter I have ever found that makes me look luminous and not glittery. This also works really well mixed into foundation for an all over glow. Friends of mine who have used this product have complained that their skin doesn't feel moisturised after applying this. This is NOT a moisturiser, it's a highlighter, and a bloody good one. It's lasted me over a year and I use it everyday on the top of my cheek bones, so it's well worth the money. I think this would be fine for any skin type. If your'e oily, don't use it all over maybe. It also smells really nice which is a bonus :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 spotmeier on 1/2/2015 7:43:00 PM more reviews by spotmeier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

TERRIBLE for dry skin. Maybe it would be ok for other types of skin (which is why I gave it a 3 instead of 1!) Anyways, it makes dry skin drier which makes fine lines more apparent and skin look worse. Also, it doesn't soak in at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Geekwmakeup on 1/2/2015 6:30:00 PM more reviews by Geekwmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to return it much to the dismay of the SA. It sucks having to return stuff, but $50 for something that made my skin look drier and older and just kinda sat on top without sinking in as other reviewers have all noted.... From far away it looks maybe brighter maybe dewy, but close up dull dry and wrinkly... My burberry sheer illuminating liquid base in the lighter color makes me dewy without this weird drying effect. Too bad. I bought it bc a youtube vid, so I can see how maybe from afar I liked the effect...it's just the up close dry effect that kills it.

This also broke me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DBelgium on 11/17/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by DBelgium

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Great stuff. It is expensive, indeed. But it is a first class primer that is worth the money. Chanel thankfully recently changed the packaging. The bottle now comes with a pump, so really easy to take out just the right amount of it. It smells delicious and is easy to apply. I am not a big fan of fancy brushes for my liquid make up, so I simply use my fingertips. Works just fine. I apply it as a base before I put on my BB cream (here I use the Shiseido BB cream). Works just great together. I let the Le Blanc set in a minute or so. Then the BB cream. And only then my Estee Lauder Doublewear concealer for a few selected areas, like under my eyes.
The Le Blanc doesnt really show that much actually. Which is good because we dont like drastical changes, do we? We like to look great but nobody should really be able to say what makes us look great. Le Blanc adds that bit of glow, the healthy look that we are keen to have. If I use my BB cream without the Le Blanc, the effect is gone. So it is really Le Blanc which does the trick. I tried other primers before, none of them was as good.
The other day, the bottle slipped out of my hand and the liquid blended quite nicely with my white bathroom tiles. Really a shame, but I got a new one immediately. Will certainly stick to this brand.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 11/6/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a help on days when I haven't slept well or my skin is lackluster for whatever reason. It instantly makes my skin look more healthy and subtly brightened without me having to do highlighters and light-reflective concealer and all of that stuff. That's my favorite thing about this... how subtle the effect is. It's not going to be a dramatic, shimmering, corrective fix. I think more strongly illuminating primers and liquid highlighters are best if you're looking for that type of result. This just adds a soft, low-key glow to my skin and helps bring a little light to shadowy areas and helps smooth out skin for foundation.

It took a couple tries for me to figure out how this works best for me and I've found that if I apply with a liquid foundation brush (I use a Lancome Foundation Brush #2) lightly all over my face it looks natural, does the job, and doesn't feel filmy, heavy, or like anything at all actually. It just immediately melts into my skin. I dispense one small drop on the back of my hand and just dip the foundation brush in as I go, that way it doesn't apply too thickly and it spreads evenly. I really only need a tiny bit for it to do something. I especially love in under my eyes (which always have bluish circles), and on the tops of cheekbones, but I do use it all over my face most days. I apply it after my sunscreen and before my foundation. I've also used a fluffy skunk style blending brush to apply this and that also works well it thin and very sheer.

I have normal skin, so I can't say whether it helps my makeup last longer since I don't have issues with that. I do have dry areas sometimes from allergies and this didn't sit on top of those areas or bring attention to them, thankfully. I'm NW5-10 (more neutral than cool) and I don't notice any ghostly cast. No irritation or sensitivities either despite this being fragranced. I do wish Chanel would stop adding such strong fragrance to so many products though since I do notice it lingering for a while and I think it can be too much for people with reactive skin types.

I own this in the new pump bottle (new as of Fall 2014), which replaced the old packaging with the spatula. I love this new bottle style since the pump is sanitary and it's very easy to control how much is dispensed... such a big improvement on the old one. Plus it has a secure cap.

So all in all I love this and will keep repurchasing. I do think it's one of those products that's best to try a sample of first (which I did a few times actually) to make sure it works for you and gives you the type of results you're looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* reverie on 4/18/2014 8:26:00 PM more reviews by reverie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What a disappointing product. I'm not sure what it actually does, to be honest. I don't need to pay over 50 dollars for a product to give me a glow (which it actually doesn't) when any decent foundation / tinted moisturizer / BB cream at less than half the price can do so. It doesn't make my makeup last longer either. Beautiful glass packaging, sure. But the cap is sure near impossible to close back properly!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meahl on 3/5/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by Meahl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim one day, and upon taking it home and using it, found I absolutely hated it! It made my skin look greasy, and I found my complexion very pastey. Recently I tried using this in a different way, however, and had amazing results. Originally I tried mixing this with my foundation - this resulted in a pastey, sickly looking complexion, and I also tried applying it over my foundation in the areas I wanted to highlight (inner eye, brow bone etc), with inconsitant results. When I applied it with a brush under my foundation to areas I wanted to highlight and blended it well, and I ended up with beautiful dewy skin that lasted all day. Amazing stuff, wish I figured out how to use it properly a long time ago but totally glad I have it now! One thing I wish was different about this though is the packaging. I find it a slight inconvience because of the wide mouth on this jar, I need to be careful not to dump a ton out (lost the plastic dipstick it came with soon after I bought it). Other then that, good stuff, I will buy again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenc2007 on 1/16/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by jenc2007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really enjoy this product! It does not break my skin out, I can wear it alone without any concealer or foundation, covers up all redness (I have the classic rosacea red "butterfly wings"), can be mixed with foundation to lighten and brighten the foundation, can be used as a base under foundation, or on top of foundation as a highlighter. Does not contain any sparkles or shimmer, but rather has a beautiful translucent opal-like finish. I do not find this product to be drying, or hydrating--which I like! For those with asthma or fragrance sensitivities, if you have never tried any Chanel makeup or skin products test it at a Chanel makeup counter. All the Chanel products I own contain a slight fragrance.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 1/12/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is so easy to overdo. Even on my dry skin, it feels really slimy and awful all day if I pour out too much. I don't find that it helps my makeup stay on better at all - and in fact, over sunscreen it is absolutely terrible, cakes and balls up and slides right off.

HOWEVER: I haven't found another product that's better for sheering out too-matte, too-heavy foundations. I tap on a tiny, tiny bit of this (on dry unmoisturized skin and a no-ss day) and then pat the foundation right over. I also use it to lighten up foundations that are a little too dark. This one product really helps me use up other products that aren't quite right - it's saved me a lot of money throughout the seasons, water changes, skincare regimen changes, etcetera.

Bonus: Works just like MAC Strobe Cream as a highlight on top of foundation, without the godawful fishy-weird smell of SC.

If they ever reformulate it so I can actually use it as a primer, I'll buy another bottle. Since you need so little, I really think I'll have a hard time finishing this one - it's just not worth using every day, even if it is sort of useful.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Primer/ Corrector products