No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Argan Oil • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(121 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 daisyismydog on 12/19/2014 10:57:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Garden of Wisdom's argan oil. For reference, I have dehydrated-normal skin and stereotypical straight Asian low-porosity untreated hair.

On my face and body, I found that this oil didn't absorb well although it was okay as a moisturizer. I do prefer rosehip seed oil over this because for me they moisturize at the same level but rosehip seed oil sinks in faster and leaves my skin feeling and looking supple rather than looking sweaty. To me, the texture of argan oil is most similar to apricot kernel oil (from TKB Trading) and they are both somewhat lighter and less heavy than olive oil but none of those do much for me.

However, I find that argan oil does make my hair much softer and easier to detangle than any other oil I've tried in it (coconut, broccoli seed, castor, etc.). To apply I take a drop, rub it between my palms to distribute, and then smooth the hair past my shoulders down with my hands, and the grab my hair as if I'm going to tie a ponytail and distribute the rest of the oil on the underside. I do this when my hair is not completely dry, but still partially damp although I'll also do it on the days I skip washes. It works really well, although I think Biosilk works a little better in terms of softness.

Overall, I was disappointed with argan oil's performance on my skin, but it was a winner as a hair oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thereisalwayshope on 12/13/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by thereisalwayshope

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After trying every oil under the sun to soften and detangle my hair I have finally found the winner. This was the last oil to try because I did not want to buy into all the hype, however, I am so glad I decided to purchase this years later. It makes my hair feel like pure silk. I don't even want to wash my hair because I looks great even after days of wear. I use the NOW Argan Oil and use about 10 drops in my long hair. Best hair decision I have ever made! This is an absolute staple in my skin care regimen as well. I use is day and night! LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 11/27/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype about Argan oil. I tried it in many ways and from many brands. It doesn't work for me.
Too oily for my face. I have very very dry skin in the cold months and it didn't hydrate it.
Gave me pimples.
Too oily for my hair- and I put just a tiny drop but it still leaves it greasy and disgusting.
For my body- it just sits on my skin and doesn't sink in.
This oil is a miss for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dreamqueen on 11/27/2014 3:14:00 PM more reviews by dreamqueen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The trick is to slather generously on your face. Then leave it overnight. Don't mind that it's oily when you sleep. When you wake up your face is immaculate!!! You'll need a tiny amount of make up. You can even skip the concealer. My face transformed literally overnight from red and super dry and pimply to glowy and clear. At first i didn't like on my face , the reason was i was putting a little and i was tissuing off the excess. You should't. I used two brands and both are awesome. I 've been using this on my hair only for 2 years, it completely changed my hair texture (except the roots cause i don't apply it there). Just place a small amount or hair may get oily and limp. Really liquid gold!!!! The only beauty product i need. Trying it on my body next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellavee on 11/21/2014 12:34:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

can you say HOLY GRAIL? When I say I have oily skin, I mean I am a grease ball within minutes of washing my face. It feels like I've tried everything, from face washes, to moisturizers, to masks. I've heard about "oil combatting oil" and really wanted to try the Josie Maran but couldn't justify dishing out $60... While at TJ Maxx I saw 100% Argan Oil (no brand name) for $12, and decided to try it on impulse.
At night, after I washed my face I put a light layer all of my face. It didn't absorb amazingly but it wasn't heavy or gross on my face either. Although I definitely wouldn't wear it during the day or under makeup. I woke up the next morning and my skin looked pretty radiant if I say so myself. But here's what made all the difference; not only was my skin smooth, clear and matte but it stayed matte ALL DAY. I've changed a lot in my routine so my makeup lasts at least a 3-4 hours depending on my routine or foundation that day but this made my makeup stay flawless ALL DAY. And not only that it makes my skin look beautiful without makeup as well. It said, "liquid gold for your face" on the bottle and it was right. Solved all my oily girl problems in one use. 1 week using and no breakouts either!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imperiale on 10/26/2014 5:46:00 AM more reviews by imperiale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have incredibly dry skin (to the point where it flakes off in patches) and I've been hunting for anything that has the potential to moisturise. My mum's the same - we both had been doing our research and decided to try oil - she said she'd had a good result, so I poked around and thought I'd try Argan oil.

I purchased oil made by a company called Moroccan Gold - because it was very reasonably priced, their oil is 100% organic, and most importantly - cold pressed. It comes in a brown glass bottle, and helpfully comes with 3 gold coloured caps: a screw cap, a dropper, and a spray nozzle. The oil itself is a yellowish colour and smells slightly nutty, proof that it is indeed cold pressed.

As for use, I found it really pleasant and effective, but not mind blowingly incredible (I always get my hopes up, lol). I like the feeling - it is oily when you apply, but it's a "dry" oil, it doesn't feel thick or masking, and it does absorb quite quickly. It gives a lovely moisturised but still dry feeling to the face, if that makes sense. I can't use it just on its own unfortunately, because it's just not enough moisture for me, and I have to follow it up with a cream, but it DOES impart more moisture than a cream on its own, and I've been lucky to not experience any breakouts from it.

I only use the oil on my skin - I don't use it on my hair because my hair is incredibly soft and shiny naturally, and the oil overwhelms it. If you have drier or coarser hair it might work wonders, but I would think castor oil would be more effective for you.

I'll definitely repurchase when the time comes, as for me, it really has been a good addition to my moisturising routine, and I'd definitely go with Moroccan Gold again. Don't expect a miracle from it, but it DOES work quite well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jillfoshizzle on 10/4/2014 3:06:00 AM more reviews by jillfoshizzle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

An ok oil, too oily for my hair and I wasn't impressed with it on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sxyleolady on 6/21/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by sxyleolady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The brand I use is from Aura Cacia. Great oil for the under eye area, not so much for my entire face. I have oily, acne prone skin which can be a bit temperamental at times. Hearing so much about Argan oil and how it's great for all skin types including oily skin, I decided to give it a try. Two weeks into using it, I experienced a couple of breakouts. Not sure if it was from the oil or my occasional hormonal breakouts, I stopped for a while and returned back to it a few months later. The same thing happened again. I quit using it for my face and started using it for my under eye area.

Now for my under eyes, I love it. I use a very small amount around my whole entire eye area nightly and by morning the skin around my eyes are so soft and hydrated. It soaks in within minutes of application. Be sure to use a small amount. I have no wrinkles, dark circles, or crows feet, but I do have a few fine lines and since using this oil there has been major improvements. I will continue to use it for preventive measures. The fact that it's natural and doesn't cause any irritation around my eyes is a definite plus for me. Great natural alternative to irritating eye creams.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bonton on 6/18/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by bonton

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have to disagree with the information with the long list of great Argan oil companies. She right to a point. Yes when they puchased the oil is pure....what the companies DO to the oil when they get it is totally different. The oil they buy has sediments in it The heat it at high temperatures to clean and or strain it. That process kills alot of the good benefits that we are seeking. The best argan oils are hand strain or cold processed,these can be found in companies that don't mass market. Most of those companies there oil is slimy and sits on your skin. Unprocessed by heat should feel soft and absorb into your skin immediately.It should smell like nuts, some even say rubber bands. If yours has no smell its been heat processed.
Raw Argan oil is NOT clear. If yours is clear you may want to question it. I by mine from Saadia Organics.100% cold pressed by hand in Essaouria. The web site have very good information on what you should look for to make sure you are getting the real stuff. I only added this because I have received emails asking what brand I use. I purchase it from the Georgia salon in the USA online. Its on her website for where to purchase in Canada and USA. I got mine in two days under $5.00 shipping.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ami85 on 6/9/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Ami85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

First of all, I have to say I have oily to combination acne prone skin. I used this a couple of time on my face, just a few drops, and it feels great, leaves a very smooth skin, however this makes me break out sooo bad... And not just the little white dots, but those painful HUGE RED BUMPS. I will never use it on my face since it is so bad for my skin. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products