Argan Oil

4.1

124 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Argania Spinosa Oil


on 4/15/2015 5:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've found that this is lighter and soaks in better than coconut and jojoba oil. Applied it to my parched frizzy hair and it really helped with dryness/frizz and added a glossy look. You can overdo do it, no question. The result doesn't look quite so stringy/greasy like it does with the heavier oils, though.

I used Glonaturals Organic (purchased at vitacost.com, $7 for 1oz).



on 4/12/2015 5:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I purchased a sample of Argan oil from Garden of Wisdom. I have sensitive, oily/sometimes dehydrated skin that is prone to closed comedones. In the past I've had luck with multiple oils, my favorite being Passionfruit AKA Maracuja. Unfortunately Argan turned out to be a major no-go for me. First impression was that it felt calming, but a bit too greasy as it did not sink in as well as I'd hoped even on damp skin. After using once a day for two days I spotted 3 incoming cystic spots, each on a different area of my face. I NEVER get cystic acne unless it's product related and even that's incredibly rare, so this one is destined for the trash can while I simultaneously start piling on the Persagel.


on 2/24/2015 10:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So amazing for a glowing moisturized complexion...I will never use anything else. Pat on at night after cleansing


on 2/24/2015 6:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Overall: 5
Price: 2-3 depending
Packaging: 3
Buy again: yes
-------------------------------------------------------------------
About me: Asian, late 20's, acne prone, oily. Medium sized pores, freckles.

I am a big fan of using oils for facial moisturizing but the ones by big brands (Khiel's, Josie Maran, etc) are just so pricey! I started using extra virgin olive oil (evoo) back in 2009 when my skin was super dry and it was amazing. I stopped using it in the summer and then kind of forgot about for a while until last year when I got my hands on some khiel's midnight recovery. Using oil to moisturize oily skin sounds ridiculous but I tell you, using oil on my skin has been the best decision and I really find it decreases oil product, pores and helps my makeup last longer.

The oil I'm using is by Rexall, a Canadian pharmacy brand "Be.Better". It's 100% pure Argan oil in a 50 mL amber glass dropper bottle. I decided to try Argan oil because my face was breaking out, oily and dry, and I was frankly frustrated with all the other lotions and creams that I already own and wanted to simplify my skin care routine.I didn't want to spend $60 on one product (I'm looking at you, Josie Maran), so I was pretty happy when I found this oil on sale at $11.99.

It is a light yellow colour, doesn't really have any smell, and is somewhere between jojoba oil and EVOO in terms of texture. I use 4-5 drops twice a day after cleansing, morning and night. I just apply the oil to my hands and rub them together to warm and distribute before patting or massaging th oil on my face. I do not find Argan oil to be heavy or greasy on my skin,I usually let it sit for 5 minutes before I apply any makeup though.

I don't have any problems with breakouts with this - in fact this helped heal my skin after a particularly bad breakout episode. I was left with minimal scarring or post inflammatory hyperpigmentation. I have had issues with using jojoba oil and the sephora brand face oil.

The glass dropper packaging is simple and functional. For this particular product I find that once the bottle is opened, the top never screws back on fully so it is not travel friendly at all, and a separate dropper bottle needs to be purchased.

All in all Argan oil is Argan oil, and I don't think you need to spend an arm and a leg to get a good product. I'm looking to try grapeseed oil next, either alone or blended with Argan oil to have a slightly lighter feel in the summer time.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for Garden of Wisdom's argan oil. For reference, I have dehydrated-normal skin and stereotypical straight Asian low-porosity untreated hair.

On my face and body, I found that this oil didn't absorb well although it was okay as a moisturizer. I do prefer rosehip seed oil over this because for me they moisturize at the same level but rosehip seed oil sinks in faster and leaves my skin feeling and looking supple rather than looking sweaty. To me, the texture of argan oil is most similar to apricot kernel oil (from TKB Trading) and they are both somewhat lighter and less heavy than olive oil but none of those do much for me.

However, I find that argan oil does make my hair much softer and easier to detangle than any other oil I've tried in it (coconut, broccoli seed, castor, etc.). To apply I take a drop, rub it between my palms to distribute, and then smooth the hair past my shoulders down with my hands, and the grab my hair as if I'm going to tie a ponytail and distribute the rest of the oil on the underside. I do this when my hair is not completely dry, but still partially damp although I'll also do it on the days I skip washes. It works really well, although I think Biosilk works a little better in terms of softness.

Overall, I was disappointed with argan oil's performance on my skin, but it was a winner as a hair oil.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After trying every oil under the sun to soften and detangle my hair I have finally found the winner. This was the last oil to try because I did not want to buy into all the hype, however, I am so glad I decided to purchase this years later. It makes my hair feel like pure silk. I don't even want to wash my hair because I looks great even after days of wear. I use the NOW Argan Oil and use about 10 drops in my long hair. Best hair decision I have ever made! This is an absolute staple in my skin care regimen as well. I use is day and night! LOVE!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 4:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't get the hype about Argan oil. I tried it in many ways and from many brands. It doesn't work for me.
Too oily for my face. I have very very dry skin in the cold months and it didn't hydrate it.
Gave me pimples.
Too oily for my hair- and I put just a tiny drop but it still leaves it greasy and disgusting.
For my body- it just sits on my skin and doesn't sink in.
This oil is a miss for me.


on 11/27/2014 3:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The trick is to slather generously on your face. Then leave it overnight. Don't mind that it's oily when you sleep. When you wake up your face is immaculate!!! You'll need a tiny amount of make up. You can even skip the concealer. My face transformed literally overnight from red and super dry and pimply to glowy and clear. At first i didn't like on my face , the reason was i was putting a little and i was tissuing off the excess. You should't. I used two brands and both are awesome. I 've been using this on my hair only for 2 years, it completely changed my hair texture (except the roots cause i don't apply it there). Just place a small amount or hair may get oily and limp. Really liquid gold!!!! The only beauty product i need. Trying it on my body next.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 12:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

can you say HOLY GRAIL? When I say I have oily skin, I mean I am a grease ball within minutes of washing my face. It feels like I've tried everything, from face washes, to moisturizers, to masks. I've heard about "oil combatting oil" and really wanted to try the Josie Maran but couldn't justify dishing out $60... While at TJ Maxx I saw 100% Argan Oil (no brand name) for $12, and decided to try it on impulse.
At night, after I washed my face I put a light layer all of my face. It didn't absorb amazingly but it wasn't heavy or gross on my face either. Although I definitely wouldn't wear it during the day or under makeup. I woke up the next morning and my skin looked pretty radiant if I say so myself. But here's what made all the difference; not only was my skin smooth, clear and matte but it stayed matte ALL DAY. I've changed a lot in my routine so my makeup lasts at least a 3-4 hours depending on my routine or foundation that day but this made my makeup stay flawless ALL DAY. And not only that it makes my skin look beautiful without makeup as well. It said, "liquid gold for your face" on the bottle and it was right. Solved all my oily girl problems in one use. 1 week using and no breakouts either!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 5:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have incredibly dry skin (to the point where it flakes off in patches) and I've been hunting for anything that has the potential to moisturise. My mum's the same - we both had been doing our research and decided to try oil - she said she'd had a good result, so I poked around and thought I'd try Argan oil.

I purchased oil made by a company called Moroccan Gold - because it was very reasonably priced, their oil is 100% organic, and most importantly - cold pressed. It comes in a brown glass bottle, and helpfully comes with 3 gold coloured caps: a screw cap, a dropper, and a spray nozzle. The oil itself is a yellowish colour and smells slightly nutty, proof that it is indeed cold pressed.

As for use, I found it really pleasant and effective, but not mind blowingly incredible (I always get my hopes up, lol). I like the feeling - it is oily when you apply, but it's a "dry" oil, it doesn't feel thick or masking, and it does absorb quite quickly. It gives a lovely moisturised but still dry feeling to the face, if that makes sense. I can't use it just on its own unfortunately, because it's just not enough moisture for me, and I have to follow it up with a cream, but it DOES impart more moisture than a cream on its own, and I've been lucky to not experience any breakouts from it.

I only use the oil on my skin - I don't use it on my hair because my hair is incredibly soft and shiny naturally, and the oil overwhelms it. If you have drier or coarser hair it might work wonders, but I would think castor oil would be more effective for you.

I'll definitely repurchase when the time comes, as for me, it really has been a good addition to my moisturising routine, and I'd definitely go with Moroccan Gold again. Don't expect a miracle from it, but it DOES work quite well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

109 reviews
image

Sugar

249 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

41 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

201 reviews
Back to Top