July 25, 2014 | 1987 users online

Liquid - Estee Lauder - Double Matte



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(91 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/25/2013 3:06:00 AM More reviews by Beautyguru101

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This used to be my holy grail foundation. I've heard it's been discontinued, so you may want to look into that before taking a long trip to the mall only to be disappointed.
I've got very acne prone skin, and I'm very oily. I bought this with the primer, and it worked wonders to me. Before this, I used a sephora foundation which left me blotting every hour and a half. With this one, I only blotted 2 times a day, if that. Which is amazing for me!
The downsides to this product... If you apply it with a dense brush or too thickly with a sponge or fingers, it WILL look cakey. I used a thin stippling brush, and then went back and applied more with a concealer brush on my problem areas and it covered it up. That made it look good and almost airbrushed.
If you have any dry patches, BEWARE! During wintertime, my nose gets dry. Also sometimes I get dried out zits from acne topical treatments. IT WILL CLING TO THESE AREAS. The foundation is made for OILY SKIN. NOT for dry skin. Keep this in mind.
Some people complain about the color choices.. I never ran across that problem because I matched cool fresco perfectly.
And finally, because it is full coverage, it did clog up my pores if I wore it for a full day and caused some breakouts. 7am to 7pm, 12 hours. I never liked to wear it for more than a full school day, which was 8 hours. If you wear it for less than 5, you're golden.
My overall opinion: it's good for a time to time application. 2-3 times a week maybe, or for a big event. It gives coverage, keeps you matte, and makes you look flawless. Just be careful as to how you apply it, and only buy it if you have a very oily skin type.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2013 7:55:00 PM More reviews by Jhulagurl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This foundation makes your skin looks so dry and flat! It is also very cakey and masky looking on the face. Very hard to remove, I had to use ponds to get it off. It also clogged many of my pores and caused a lot of acne! Super expensive too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2013 10:55:00 AM More reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When they started making the "Double Wear" I believe they might have discontinued the original "Double MATTE". Now I have used both. The Double WEAR is pretty much similar, except its a bit more flexible and blendable. But since I have used this one (double MATTE) since 1998, I was a bit sad when I couldn't find it during the last few years. SO glad they brang it back! I love this one a little better because it controls oil and shine even more than the Double Wear. A must for oily skin tones like myself! This literally is the best foundation out there (next to Double Wear,and Revlon Colorstay). You can be in 105 degree weather and this won't even come off or rub off. TRY THIS!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/3/2012 3:32:00 AM More reviews by Wijg3

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I just joined this site so I could write up my experience with EL double matte. This was my absolute HG foundation....very full coverage AND controlled oil without being too matte looking. I wore it all the time despite being somehow matched completely wrong ( a very dark skinned SA gave me cool fresco, the second lightest, and I am extremely fair.) I went back and told her what happened and she said the lightest was ivory so I bought it without even trying it. I then went to get my drivers license picture done. Boy was I surprised. I looked like I had a mud mask on!!! Ivory? Or should I say "ivory....yeah right." I went to the Lancôme counter and the SA was appalled anyone had sent me home with either one of those colors. When she took a section of it off to test her colors there was a very evident white circle there. I was sooooo angry that I had been walking around like that for who knows how long!! I obviously don't have much time to look in the mirror. I knew it was a little dark but the orange was coming , i assume, from a horrible horrible oxidation. It went on 2-3 shades too beige and an hour later was 20 shades too orange! And yes i was wearing a good primer. I searched and searched only to find that Estée lauder doesn't go any lighter than that dark orange ivory! Why? That's what I would like to know. Maybe EL really is the "old lady" makeup some people claim it to be and take into account 60 years of sun damage and liver spots?? I don't know, but I do know I am by far not the fairest person in the world. I am NC 20 in MAC, a very common shade. Why would a company create a product that shuns half the population? Anyway, I will still repurchase this if they ever get the colors together and they won't oxides. Has anyone else had this problem?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/27/2012 2:02:00 AM More reviews by uncontrolled

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is a very nice foundation with a natural matte finish. It feels very light on the skin. If you have normal to combination oily skin and you like a matte look you will love this. However, if you have very oily skin don't expect it to have the same staying power of the Estee Lauder Double Wear (my Holy Grail Foundation.) I will repurchase again but will only wear it during winter when my skin isn't so oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/12/2012 3:10:00 PM More reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I am giving this a 3 and only for one reason. The poor color choices!! I went to the Estee counter and got a match...so I thought. I came home and reapplied to my whole face. My face looked PINK with orange undertones. When I thought they gave me the wrong color, I looked online and yep, thats the lightest it goes. THE LIGHTEST. I am not too fair by any means but I am definately not pink or orange. I am more like a fair kinda yellow tone. I did try to tan with this, meaning I self tanned to maybe make it look believable for my neck, body etc. But still the color is way too pink even when I do look tan. I love the coverage, love everything about it, but wrong color. I can't believe they haven't gotten more complaints. I am going to complain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/14/2012 2:12:00 AM More reviews by Layla313

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Whenever I wear this product I feel as though I'm clogging my pores and as though I'm hiding my skin. It does what it says on the packet but for me it's just to full on-more of a night time look. It covers acne well but during the day your face will become oily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/24/2012 9:05:00 AM More reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

For reference, my skin is combination, not too acne prone but often sensitive. My skin is leans towards neutral/warm but I have a a lot of redness in my cheeks which causes many SA's to mistake me as cool-toned. I was matched to Cool Ivory and given a sample, which I used for 2 days.


Like Revlon Colorstay, you have to work fast and apply in sections. This works better if you apply it in a stroking down motion w/brush, fingers or sponge...I tried stippling with a brush and it did not look good! I think because of the texture and finish if it is stippled on when it dries it looks powdery and spackle-y when it dries.


COVERAGE: definitely medium to full. More coverage than MAC SFF and Colorstay for sure. I don't really think you would need to layer this, in fact because of it's finish a thick layer wouldn't look good.


FINISH/OIL CONTROL: Definitely matte. If you have normal or even slightly dry skin I wouldn't recommend this because for the first few hours it is very matte and would cling to every dry flake of skin. As the day wears on though, I didn't find that it had any extra-oil control. I still got the shiny nose and forehead after 3 hours or so while sitting at my desk at work. The name "Double-Matte" was misleading...I was really hoping for something with a little extra oomph in terms of keeps oilies at bay.


LASTING ABILITY: Awesome!! It does stay on and keeps it coverage better than Colorstay from my experience. I find that CS does transfer on me and this had minimal transferring on my cell phone or even when I blotted my forehead with a tissue. Wears evenly despite the fact that I didn't find it to be extra oil-controlling.


IN SUMMARY: This is a solid, all-day foundation with medium to full coverage that gives Revlon CS a run for it's money and makes MAC's SFF look like a joke. This did not turn orange or change color on me. Unfortunately, I didn't find a close enough color match that made me feel comfortable making a purchase. I am in the NC/NW15 range of MAC depending on formula and the Cool Ivory (this lightest shade) was NOT IVORY! It was more of a light neutral beige that ended up being a bit too dark for my skin.


I would re-purchase this if they had a color match for my skin AND if I didn't live in a hot, humid climate. Don't get me wrong, this didn't make my skin any more greasy than any other foundation, it was just disappointing because of the "double-matte" claim. This is a great option in terms of coverage and lasting ability but for now I am choosing not to re-purchase this foundation.





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/2/2012 5:39:00 AM More reviews by danni72

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i love this foundation so much!! it has a light feel to it and its not cakey plus it covers all my imperfections and it last all freaken day.. i have yet to find another foundation that will last as long as this one does. it has an odd smell but its not overpowring . i have very sensitive skin and this didnt make me breakout so thats great as well.
i already have another bottle put away for when i run out of the first,
i use this everyday and its great.
i will continue to buy this foundation its just so amazing .
its expensive but im willing to pay for something that will last all day, make me look great , and not break me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/16/2011 5:24:00 PM More reviews by randomtaskzombie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Overall, I really like this foundation a lot but there are a few reasons why I won't be buying it again. I LOVE the coverage and the overall consistency of the foundation, the downsides for me are that it doesn't control oil worth a shit and they don't have a very big selection of colors. The whole not controlling oil thing isn't new to me. I have tried what feels like hundreds of products and foundations and remedies that claim to reduce oil or control oil and none of them have ever worked. The shade I have is way too pink for my skin and from what I could see there isn't one color they sell in this foundation that will even come close to matching my skin. The price to me isn't worth it if it doesn't control oil and doesn't match my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No