October 24, 2014 | 1549 users online

Treatments - Essie - apricot cuticle oil



image 0

rated 4.0(51 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 6/27/2014 5:32:00 AM More reviews by faune

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I'm not really convinced by this. It's not bad, but not great either and I'm not convinced this will perform better than any other oil applied regularly. I wouldn't be so disappointed if I enjoyed the smell which I don't, even if it is very subdued. I find it smells like cheap knock off fruity perfume. I won't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2014 8:47:00 PM More reviews by rosebud264

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Blue

I'm a fanatical cuticle moisturiser and have tried every oil and cream I can get my hands on. This, for me, is up there with the best. Good consistency (not too runny, not too thick and gel-like), great smell, absorbs well. Price is just OK. I have repeatedly re-purchased. It's probably not the best for on-the-go application unless you've got somewhere to set the bottle to avoid spillage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/16/2014 1:32:00 PM More reviews by saturninus

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this product for several months and it just isn't as effective as other cuticle products.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/9/2014 3:53:00 PM More reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

The packaging is convenient for an oil but that's about all I liked about this product. The hyped up apricot part of the oil seems to do nothing but give it a fake, apricot smell. Luckily that faded quickly but so did most of the effect it had on my cuticles. After a few hours they were back to normal, and even repeated use didn't do much. Frankly I don't have time or the desire to apply this after every hand wash. Save your money and buy something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/17/2014 10:53:00 PM More reviews by crumbley11

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My cuticles have been so dry this winter that I have tried all kinds of things to keep them moisturized. This works well, smells good and I think massaging it into my nails helps as well to keep them strong. This is a nice treat and I will buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/4/2014 6:59:00 PM More reviews by BiancaRose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Firstly I would like to say to any Australian people reading this review, this product smells exactly like those yummy little apricot bars/balls! I love it.
I was originally looking to purchase Sally Hansen nail oil because it was on special at Priceline, but they didn't have any in stock :( My nails are very dry and peel a lot so I was looking for something that I could apply to keep them nourished. I have been using Essence nail oil and at $1.75 that stuff is well worth the price! But I wanted to find something with more benefit to my nails.
I found the Essie apricot oil for the same price as the Sally Hanson oil I was intending to purchase so thought I would give it a shot. I have been using it for only 2 days and I can already see a difference in my nail & cuticle condition.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/23/2014 9:46:00 PM More reviews by nnutcase

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I own this, a Sally Hansen cuticle treatment pen, and a few tins of Burts Bees cuticle creams. I wish I could say that there is no difference and that they all work. They all smell divine, although the Apricot Oil smells the least. It looks smooth, feels smooth, applies easily. I rub it into my cuticles after application, and then... And then it just disappears. I can't tell any difference, I swear. Does it evaporate? How much of it actually absorbs into my skin? I will not buy any more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/17/2013 5:40:00 PM More reviews by emmiemc

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I was given this as a gift by a friend. I really like the smell, and it applies easily. Rubbing it in, I do notice a short-lasted change in the skin around my nails, but it doesn't last long (like two or three hours).

It's nice; my biggest beef is just that it doesn't have any lasting effects, and it's not something I think I really need anyways.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/5/2013 1:09:00 AM More reviews by beautyybabee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is probably my HOLY GRAIL nail product (and I use nail polish like crazy). When I remove my nail polish, I use acetone, the same one the salons use, that over time damages and dries out my nails. After I use the acetone, I paint this over my cuticles as well as my actual nail and it hydrates my cuticles and my enamel. This is such a great product, and if you use this after you remove your nail polish, you can see a difference in your nail. This product is great and it smells good! It is a little pricey, $7 at Walmart, but it's definitely worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/1/2013 7:14:00 PM More reviews by Embeth3

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Eh, I am not impressed.
This comes in a standard Essie nail polish bottle and you apply it with the brush. My brush is very short and is at least a good 4mm from the bottom of the bottle, which means there will be wastage. This is beside the point however, as I doubt I will ever use it up because I really dislike it.
The texture is really thin and fluid so it tends to drip but it doesn't absorb quickly and requires a lot of massaging in, then I leave little oily, smeary fingerprints all over everything. So annoying.
And the smell - I don't know exactly what is supposed to be but it doesn't smell like apricot. More some vague fruity floral with an undertone of castor oil, which I despise. I don't know if that's my imagination of if it does contain it because I never got the box or an ingredient list when I purchased it. But yuck!
Avoplex is better but I prefer the L'Occitane shea butter tube most of all.
This is a major pass all round for me.
:-(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No