October 22, 2014 | 2082 users online

Fragrances - Joop! - Joop! Femme



image 0

rated 3.6(29 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 2/22/2013 1:03:00 AM More reviews by pinkstarpm

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Review for Joop! Femme
~
I purchased a huge bottle based on the reviews I found on here and on Basenotes. I have had much luck in blind buys because of other people's experiences.
~
At first, this sillage monster had a real medicinal quality to it. It smelled close to mothballs and I wanted to curl up in a corner and hide.
~
Then, after over an hour, it calmed down to a more "grandma" scent. I detected White Diamonds in this stage. Although I like the smell of White Diamonds on other (much older) women, I still found this too strong, and still medicinal.
~
About an hour after that, it morphed into something so familiar---- it was BURBERRY LONDON meets SHALIMAR... What a treat! It has been there for the past two hours.
~
Burberry London, although nice, tends to have a medicinal quality on my skin, and only mine. On other people, it smells divine with no hint of medicine/mothballs.
~
Although I would probably like this scent on others, it seems that this is just not for me. I wanted to love this so bad, but unfortunately it wasn't meant to be. Perhaps I will give this one more try- but this time with just one spritz instead of the usual two and a half on my back and back of neck.
~
I will most likely be returning it.
***************************************
EDIT: Okay so first thing this morning, I sprayed this once in the air, and moved my arm through the mist. Fifteen minutes later, I realized it wasn't very noticeable, so I sprayed once directly onto my wrist. That was perfect!
~
At first, it smelled medicinal. Again.
~
Thirty minutes later, it smelled like a weak White Diamonds, with a slight twinge of Shalimar.
~
Now (well over an hour later) I just smell Chantilly's powdery vanillic drydown.
~
That's all, folks.
~
It's not terrible, but it's just not was I was expecting. I would definitely appreciate this more on other people than on myself. It is definitely getting returned.
~
Besides, if I wanted Chantilly (I used to use it as a kid, and it was nice), I would have gotten Chantilly,

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/27/2012 9:49:00 AM More reviews by katieflo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This perfume is lovely, musky and its staying power is amazing. The only reason I came to know about it was because my oldest sister kept wearing it and she always smelt amazing! It's nice because its not too feminine, in fact quite masculine but in a good way. It gorgeous :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/5/2012 3:21:00 PM More reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

It is beyond me how this fragrance got to be a women's fragrance as it is not even remotely a feminine smelling scent. It is totally a men's fragrance. If you are the type of lady who likes to wear men's cologne then Joop Femme should be right up your alley. It is to masculine for me even. LOL Joop Femme is kind of obnoxious and shrill too. The bottle is a big, thick, chunky glass bottle that fits in your hand nice and tightly and is easy to spray. The scent itself is odd...very odd. Try and imagine lemons. Lemons that have turned bad or are just completly rotten. Then throw in some basil or coriander and woods, grass and fresh cut hay and you have Joop Femme. I like fragrances that dont comform and Joop Femme is a total rebel. If you are looking for something wild and different then get Joop Femme.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2012 8:37:00 PM More reviews by DevonBlue

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I agree with previous reviewers that Joop Femme is underrated. It's almost like a forgotten gem. It's an extremely strong perfume, you only need a small amount and you're good to go. Don't let the initial blast put you off as it smells totally different when it settles and melds with the skin. I find one small squirt on each wrist is more than enough. It's a gorgeous oriental woodsy fragrance, perfect for cold winter weather. What I love about it is that the vanilla is not overly sweet, it's a kind of mellow, balanced and sophisticated vanilla rather than a cupcakey one. This perfume is not for the shy and retiring type! It's very bold and sure of itself. Joop Femme is quite rare nowadays which is a bonus because you won't smell like everyone else. Would make a perfect signature scent. If you love this scent, I would advise you to stock up, as I'm seeing it in the discount shops, often a sign that it's about to be discontinued. I hope not as I love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/27/2010 6:45:00 AM More reviews by dolce8

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Joop Femme,hmmmm.This is one my 5 top fragrances.I think Joop Femme is underrated.It is unique and long lasting oriental fragrance which can be used in winter and summer as well.This was also my first perfume mini bottle which I bought when I was 17..I couldnt afford big bottle at that time,but was saving and taking care of this little mini as precious.It lasted quite long time as you only use a little bit. I have many memories back then about this fragrance and reminds me of my younger age..I love it and will buy forever.I love it so much,that I carry about 5 bottles now.and I also love male version and bought it for my husband who loves it as well. :)))
Lasting power is excellent and strong.Please allow some time to develop on your skin,as it smells very different in the beginning and after when it sits on your skin for some time.It is beautiful fragrance :)))

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/13/2010 1:25:00 AM More reviews by Bronz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is another scent i always have in my stash. It's a really nice oriental fragrance, which can be a bit strong when you first apply but it does die down into a nice mellow spicy woody smell. Definitely a winter smell for me- a little spritz goes a long way!
:)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2009 10:52:00 AM More reviews by maxxx

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a lovley fragrance. I bought it without smelling it and thought..Oh Dear what have i done and then an hour later...Mmmmmm yes i agree it does morph into the most gorgeous scent. :) Love it..use sparingly...

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2009 11:09:00 PM More reviews by OSusanna

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Strikingly beautiful. I have always thought this was too strong and that its strength subtracted some points off of its beauty because it's so easy to overdo with even one spritz. However, I decanted a bit into a separate bottle and added just a bit of vodka to dilute and got a lighter fragrance that I found wearable. I fell in love with it all over again. Sweet and unique, at full strength, this smells different from what's in the bottle and usually morphs into a wonderful fragrance on the skin.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2009 8:50:00 AM More reviews by essija

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I know this is old but what a great perfume! This is something a friend of mine used to wear years ago and l loved it on her. I just got my first bottle and I love it. This has so much depth and its just so lovely. It is very strong and I do rec that you spray and walk through it. Its to die for. I will be so happy to wear this this spring and summer. brings back lovely memories of my old time friend... wish the bottle wasn't so boring..

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/17/2008 9:32:00 AM More reviews by LauriD

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Yuk!!!!
On paper I should like this perfume, but I really don't!
Maybe there is too much jasmine for me.... but I thought it smelled of... well, urine!
Sorry, couldn't really put it any other way.

I was a bit shocked when it was launched actually. I used to wear Joop! Homme which I really love. So when this was due for release, I expected the femme to be a more feminine version of the homme.... but it wasn't!

Recently I had a sniff of Armani Code For Men, which I think smells like a sweet version of Joop! Homme..... exactly what I had expected Joop! Femme to smell like.

Is this review helpful? Yes No