October 25, 2014 | 1470 users online

Palettes - Estee Lauder - HOLIDAY BLOCKBUSTER SET

no image

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/9/2011 3:35:00 AM More reviews by katrosado5

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the 2011 Estee Lauder Color Stylist Blockbuster.

What you get:

1. 18 eyeshadow palette: with following colors- Tempting Mocha, Ivy Envy, Chocolate Bliss, Amethyst Spark, Flirty Lilac, Pink Flash,Summer Linen, Amazing Grey, Purple Passion, Nude Fresco, Tranquil Moon, Peacock Blue, Smokey Ember, Berry Burst, Ivory Slipper, Sandbar Beige, Hot Cinnamon and Riviera Rose.

The eyeshadows themselves are quite small in quantity. But they are a great way to be able to try a large variety of the shadows EL offers.

2. 3 Pure Color Long Lasting Lipsticks that are full size – Barely Nude, Candy and Exotic Orchid.

3. Deluxe All Over Face Compact in Nude Rose, Radiant Peach and Pink Kiss, plus Bronze Goddess Soft Matte Bronzer.

I found the compact a bit small and although I haven't used it yet I'm wondering about how to get a blush brush in there for just one color. But again I haven't used it yet.

4. Pure Color Gloss - full sized – Orchid Passion and Electric Ginger.

These are nice, EL makes some really good lipglosses.

5. Full Sized Gentle Eye Makeup Remover (I reviewed this earlier).

6. 2 Artist’s Eye Pencils Travel sized - Soft Smudge Black and Soft Smudge Brown.

7. Deluxe Travel sized Sumptuous mascara (black)

8. 4 makeup brushes- blush, powder, lip, eye. (not my favorite brushes but good for backups).

9. A travel mirror- This one was kind of odd to me. It is a trifold and I wasn't too crazy about it. Gave it to one of my daughters to take to her gym locker.

10. A small makeup bag labeled as a clutch- uh, no I don't see anyone carrying this as a clutch--maybe a preteen, perhaps. Might be a cute makeup bag though. It is small.

Okay who will like this? 1. Those who do use Estee Lauder and like to the palettes as staples to use during the year. 2. This is a great gift under the tree for anyone who likes makeup, I don't think they will complain.

However, if you bought it last year---you are getting the same eyeshadow colors as last year. From what I remember. Is it worth the money? Yes, if you didn't buy it last year and want the eye shadows again. Yes, if you have someone on your list you want to pamper. Yes, if you like the Blockbuster release every year.

(NOTE: For those with military ID card, go to your PX, I bought mine at 44.00 and did not have to purchase perfume in order to get it, good deal that way).

Hope this review helps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/29/2011 9:32:00 PM More reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I have drooled over these for about 3-4 years and finally got one this year, 2011. I have mixed feelings about it. You do get a lot of products to try, so if you have a fragrance you want to purchase and would like to try Estee Lauder cosmetics, it's fun to try. But I will not be buying it again. I would not buy this unless you already are getting a fragrance you love.
First, the largest piece is the eyeshadow palette. I have other EL e/s and they are gorgeous and creamy and pigmented. I own a lot of MAC, but my favorite highlighter is still EL. However, I wonder if they let the quality slip for these palettes because they are powdery and not very pigmented. They remind me of drugstore eyeshadows in that the fallout is horrendous and when you try to blend the colors disappear. E/s are a total miss and an unfair representation of typical EL quality.
The blush and bronzers. These are better. These are also what really pushed me to purchase this. I wanted to try some blushers and buying one full sized one is about half the price of this kit. I am enjoying these. They are just a little small so it's a little difficult getting the colors on my brush.
The Eyeliners. They are ok. I wish they had included the doublewear ones instead, but they are okay. Maybe sharpen them before using them if they seem hard or dry.
The Lipsticks and glosses. I love the quality but they never include colors I would wear. EL in general makes colors too dark for me. One color is a little wearable, the nude, and the lipglosses are wearable. But the other two lipsticks are so bright! Also both glosses are glittery-I wish they had put in one matte/shiny one and only one glittery one. So great quality, wish they had more wearable colors and variety of finishes.
The makeup remover is not my favorite honestly. I LOVE their cream makeup remover. It's amazing! This stuff that is included in the kit is on par with your typical drugstore remover.
They mascara is ok. It just slides off my eyes like water if it's cold or wet at all. But I do like how it looks when the weather cooperates.
The bags are fun. I use the clutch to hold all the little things I keep in my purse. The big one will be nice if I ever need to pack up a lot of makeup. The mirror is nice, but I'll never ever use it.
The brushes...sigh...they are soft but the shapes SUCK! They all have blunt ends. Totally useless. I saw an Asian version of this kit online and I wish I could have gotten that version of the kit. A huge reason is that instead of these brushes they have a lipliner instead. I would have loved that. Also, the lipstick and gloss colors are more the kind of colors I might wear.
Anyway, overall, I will not be using very much of this kit. I'll use the brown liner. Probably swap the black. Use the eyemakeup remover, mascara, bushers/bronzers, one lipstick, glosses. Probably end up getting rid of the eyeshadows and other two lipsticks, brushes, and mirror. So I still say it's worth it-I'm still getting my money's worth from the products I do like. However, I feel no need to get one again. Overall, a little disappointed. If an EL rep were to read this I would want them know I think they should improve the quality of the eyeshadows, don't bother with brushes unless they are good, put in the cream remover instead of liquid, put in doublewear eyeliners instead of softsmudge, put in more everyday lisptick colors (not hot pink and bright red or dark brown), do one matte lipgloss and one shimmery lipgloss. To save money to accommodate the pricier changes, leave out brushes and mirror and mascara (we all have tons of all those items anyway). That is a kit I would buy every year!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/17/2009 2:14:00 AM More reviews by shoujupanda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My mother got this holiday blockbuster set from Macy's. She gave most of the lipsticks away as gifts ans gave the rest to me.
The eyeshadow palette is nice considering that it had all the basic colors that I needed: beige, dark brown, light gold, dark gold, white... While I was on my vacation at Taiwan, I brought this palette along w/ me because the packaging is good and it's easy to carry. I didn't need anything else. But, some of the lighter colors are a bit alike (I swear there was like 2 light pink-ish colors). I love the huge mirror it has though! It makes a great travel palette to bring around!
The eyeliner is pigmented, soft, and glides on nicely. I like it very much!
As for the blush, I find myself reaching for the middle color the most since the pink blush on the right is too red and dark for my face, but the middle color is great to layer it on to add dimension. The bronzer on the left is okay; it has a little bit of shimmer, but nothing over-the-top noticeable.
The brushes were not that great. They all had the same shape except in diff sizes, which were hard to use. But, the smallest e/s brush is good when I use it grab highlighter and run it down my nose, it is the perfect size for these type of small application.
The mascara......didnt like it. It had a very watery formula and it really made the lashes long and dramatic...and droopy. My asian straight lashes were very flat by the end of the day. Also, I think it also smears because at the end of the day, I looked like a panda in the mirror. Honestly, I dont think EL makes nice mascaras at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2009 5:35:00 PM More reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I think this is ok. Nothing special. The e/s are def too sheer. The blushes are cute. I don't use the brushes or makeup remover. I think this is really nothing special at all to be honest.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/17/2009 2:45:00 PM More reviews by eternalstarangel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this off ebay and wanted so badly to love this..it seemed like such an amazing deal..and for the most part, it is. The 15 shadows are great, neutral colors for everyday wear. Unfortunately, they are very sheer, and not all that buildable. They don't even show up that well over my beloved UDPP. The bronzer is very nice and light..the two blushes are nice and pigmented...unfortunately they have 0 staying power for me...Moving on to the eyeliner, the eyeliner is a soft black color. The pencil is not smooth and tugs, making for unsmooth application, though it stays still afterwards and doesn't budge..which is good. The three lipsticks that came with the set are nice colors, though I prefer sheerer lipsticks. I felt that Bois de Rose, which is a matte, orangy pink could not be worn alone and had to be topped with a gloss. The lipglosses are probably the best part of the set. They're both gorgeous colors that look and feel pretty good on the lips. they're slightly sticky, which seems to give them slightly better lasting power. I haven't touched the mascara. The makeup remover is a good size and good for cleanups.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/28/2008 8:25:00 AM More reviews by uvitana

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love the "2008 Holiday Blockbuster Set". DH bought this for me for Christmas. I am truly loving everything. This is the first time I have every used this much of EL makeup. I usually wear Bobbi Brown, MAC or Laura Mercier.

The Set Includes:

A Deluxe All-Over Face Compact (Blush).
Colors: Bronze goddess Soft Matte Bronzer, (a light bronzer)
EL Signature Silky Powder Blush in Nude Rose, (a dusty rose)
EL Signature Silky Powder Blush in Pink Kiss. (a light pink)

Deluxe Eye Shadow Palette.
Pure Color EyeShadow (13) and EL Signature (2).

Colors:
Vanilla, Ginger Drop, Sand Box, Amethyst, Bronze Cube, Camouflage, Cinnamon, Honey Drop, Mocha Cup, Pale Moon, Mink, Ivory Box, Roseberry Duo (Berry), Roseberry Duo (Rose), Sugar Cube.

Eye Liner: Softsmudge Black

Lip Gloss:Rose (a light peach)
Berry (a rosy pink)

LipSticks:
Pure Color Long Lasting "Sugar Honey" (a neutral)
Pure Color Long Lasting "Bois De Rose" (a wearable red)
EL Signature Hydra Lustre "Pink Champagne" (a sheer pink w/sparkle)

Brushes:
I didn't care for any of the brushes. I didn't think they performed well. The lip brush came without a cap. I usually use Bobbi Brown and Chanel.

Eye Makeup Remover:
The romover worked very well and I would repurchase.

The Makeup Cases:
I found the big case to be very good for travel. Because its hard and won't budge in a suitcase. The soft bag is a nice size and feels durable.

I loved that the set also came with a "Look Book" which gave 4 looks to do.

All of the colors are in the neutral family. I wish there would have been more matte colors because some are extremely sparkly. But all in all a great value and you can make them all wearable for day as well as omph them up for night. The LipSticks were wearable for me. Even the Red (Bois de Rose). I never really wear reds they don't usually look good on me. I wear Roses that are in the red family instead of true reds. But EL's color is a good red for me. The three LipSticks are not drying and have staying power while being moisturizing at the same time. The colors are really good and very wearable for day or night. I would definately repurchase these The EyeLiner I haven't worn much. I instead prefer Bobbi Brown's Gel EyeLiner. But I did find that EL Softsmudge Black is a nice color. It just doesn't last as long as Bobbi's Gel Liner. The Blushes are beautiful and love the variety. I would repurchase these. The Bronzer is soft and light which I like cause it doesn't make your skin look orange or dirty. I have had such a nice time mixing and matching that I would definately consider buying EL Holiday set for next year. Of course this set has so much I don't know if I will finish any of the colors, even though I wear makeup everyday.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/5/2008 9:07:00 PM More reviews by abbe4

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It has been so long since I went for this seasonal tradition from Estee Lauder....I don't even remember ! At least 5, maybe 8 or more years. But this one is really very good: just the travel box alone is really handy: you can pack it full and place it into a suitcase, even one of the soft duffle ones, and not fear anything breaking - although for flying I'd stuff nooks and crannies with soft things.
The eye shadows are a Wonderful selection, mostly stylish neutals, but some great browns, bronzes, an amethyst, all really lovely. Even the brushes are nice. What am I forgetting ? The lipticks, all of which I can use, and I appreciate that in the sample form they are Much lighter to tote around. I don't use powder blushes, so I have given this away, but it looks nice. I bought my old favorite, Cinnabar, to qualify for this - I think about $33 - probably the least expensive to buy, and I Still Love This. I get compliments from men when I wear this, always sort of fun.....I do really recommend this, especially in this time of financial strain, a decent gift to oneself, ultimately economical.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/27/2008 1:28:00 PM More reviews by nurseexec

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hubby bought this for me for my birthday, and I love it! I've used both blushes (the nude rose, I've actually used before) and the bronzer almost every day. I'm happy with the large eyeshadow palette, and I've always loved EL eye shadows. There aren't any crazy colors--it's a very neutral palette, and one that can be dressed up or down. I love the MagnaScopic mascara, and will buy another full size tube. Two of the three lipsticks work for me, and both glosses. All in all, a great gift (along with the Sensuous perfume he bought!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/21/2008 7:48:00 AM More reviews by ferarri

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

i bought the blockbuster set which doesnt have nail colors. (malaysia), after a year (now in 2008), I finished only 1 of the eyeshadow colors (which I find not very pigmented) and half a tube of gloss. The gloss is great. Blush is so nice and too lovely to use. The three lipsticks, lipliner, mascara are still untouched. I think the whole set will last me at least 2 more years. Love it! This year estee lauder has a black snake skin case, the same gold brushes, only 2 lipgloss, 3 lipsticks, 3 blushes, 15 eyeshadows, eyemakeup remover and I think they added a mascara-full size. But I will skip this year as the colors are quite similar to last year except the shadow palatte. One thing about the blockbuster (last year) is thtat their eyeshadow pan is very shallow and the shadow finishes quickly. I have almost finished 8 of the 10 shadows. Beautiful packing but only .5 gram in each color. I have almost finished one crystal pink lipstick too. Very moisturising but it is more gloss than lipstick. In fact, it has no STAYING POWER at all, just like a gloss.

Eyeliner and lipliners are good and lasting.


This is 2009 color spectacular review. We have 2 versions in Malaysia, the creme bag and the red n gold bag. Both bags have diff eyeshadows, lipsticks, blusher colors. One has eye makeup remover, the other face makeup remover. Other liners are the same. I bought both and the lipgloss set - gloss to go with 6 gloss colors. Regretted not buying the 2008 set as this year makeup case is soft!. Still the gold makeup pouch is beautiful enough to go out with. The colors of the eyeshadows are still sheer and not very lasting. I love the 08 slate eye pencil. All the 8 lipsticks are nice. I gave away Crystal Baby as I have 2 of these! Paid a total of RM 615.00 for the two blockbusters and gloss to go.

very happy. Now I could play with lots of colors, but the browns are very similar to each other. Lipsticks are moisturising. The 4 lipsticks in the case are full size and cost the price of the whole set if purchased separately!

The mini lipgloss are 4.6ml each - same size as my Bobi Brown lipgloss! Love the sugarcane. Hope to finish these in two years before I splurge on blockbusters again!



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/20/2008 11:22:00 PM More reviews by sconzzy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I brought the 2007 gold collection and I love it, the set has a great selection of make-up for every day plus a few things that are nice for night. I esspecially love the eye shadow liner, it goes on a treat. The lipsticks are in really great shades having 3 that I wear for everyday and a red for going out. The only thing I don't like in the whole kit is the shade of nail polish, other than that everything goes on well lasts well and look great.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No