September 30, 2014 | 1191 users online

Foundations - Sheer Miracle-Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 4.5(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/6/2014 9:10:00 AM More reviews by SoniaN123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am in my early 30s and all my life I've had perfect/near perfect skin until this year. This year my skin starting breaking out on my cheeks and chin. Needless to say I was so upset and started changing many habits that I didn't even realize could cause me any issues as they never had in the past! One of the things I changed that took me the longest to finally do was my makeup. Before I was using stuff you could get at drugstore. I never wore much make up at all. Mainly a light foundation and some bronzer or blush, but I really do think the stuff I was using was a big part of the problem (though maybe not the entire problem). For the last month I have been using Sheer Mineral foundation and bronzer and my skin is finally starting to improve (I hope i didn't just jinx myself!). I live in Canada and shipping is expensive but this stuff is great and worth the cost. Keep your eyes peeled for BOGO offers or coupon codes to help cut the cost.

If you aren't sure, start out with sample sizes. I am still using the samples while I wait for my first order of full sized products. The microdermabrasion cloth is good too and I will most likely use it more now that I don't have "active" acne on my skin and just a few marks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2012 3:50:00 PM More reviews by pinkgirl123

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this!!! My skin looks perfect with a beautiful dewy glow. I used the bronzer and the pink concealer with it. PERFECT!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/3/2010 10:36:00 PM More reviews by Davixa111

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I am acne-prone skin just like the memebers listed below. I have mild acne but (with hyper pigmentation scars) and this mineral makeup does not have the heavy coverage I need. Also I noted after using it more than 5 hours my skin starts to breakout (some new forming whiteheads.) Also when Im exposed to sunlight my leftover scars are RREALLY, REALLY VISIBLE I have to use tons to cover a small fraction of my face (its a horryfing experience). IT DOSENT COVER like it says it does. I thought this mineral makeup was gonna be a miracle product just like everyone noted below, but much to my dismay it wasn't all that spectacular.Maybe to those who have fewer problems, also although they do have sales every so often, I often find that Earthen Glow Minerals has the same size for he fraction of the cost 15.25 (which includes shipping and handling). And so far I have switched and Im happy with the results of my new foundation (SHEILA). So don't be decived and think that this will be your miracle makeup, it may not work for everyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2010 4:35:00 PM More reviews by SheerMiracle

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Just a couple minor corrections to the comments below...

Sheer Miracle SPF 30 Mineral Foundation does contain titanium dioxide (non-nano/non-micronized).

Also,non-nano titanium dioxide has been approved by the FDA since the 1970s and is also currently listed on Skin Deep: The Cosmetic Database as a 1 (on a scale of 0 - 10, 0 being the least toxic, 10 being the most toxic).

Here's what Skin Deep says about non-nano titanium dioxide:

About TITANIUM DIOXIDE (NON-NANO): Titanium dioxide has a long history of use in sunscreen and other products. It appears safe for use on skin due to low penetration.

And the FDA says:

Titanium Dioxide: Inert earth mineral used as a thickening, whitening, lubricating, and sunscreen ingredient in cosmetics. It protects skin from UVA and UVB radiation and is considered to have no risk of skin irritation. FDA approved for general use in cosmetics including eye area use in 1973.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2010 3:17:00 PM More reviews by joyousjoyness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Sheer Miracle is my first experience with mineral makeup. My previous foundations were liquid to powder, and I always hated how heavy it felt on my face. My skin is also acne prone, so these types of makeup always triggered break outs. After a long hiatus from any makeup, my girlfriend hinted that I should wear some, and I'm glad I took her advice! After extensive research, I luckily stumbled upon Sheer Miracle. Loving the prices and the purity of the makeup, I gave it a shot. I tried 2 sets of 4-samplers, got the basic mineral set with medium light neutral foundation and glow finishing powder, and a brush. I fell in love with this stuff! I really like the pink concealer to cover my under eye circles, the foundation gives good coverage, and the finishing powder gives me a dewy finish. The foundation also has really good lasting power, and I haven't had any breakouts from this makeup. I've recently put in another order to try out their eyeshadow powders, which should be fun to experiment with. Definitely have become a lifetime customer! You can find them at www.sheermiracle.com.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/6/2009 1:15:00 AM More reviews by fortune222

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Since Prescriptives, which had been my HG foundation (Y/O Real Cream) for a decade, announced that it was closing up shop, I could either do a giant internet order or admit reality. Reality struck.

After searching a few popular lines such as Chanel, MAC, Dior, Lancome, Makeup Forever, Revlon, Almay, Neutrogena, Physician's Formula, Gabriella, Dr. Hauschka, etc. I found that the formulations of contemporary foundations aren't kind to those of us over 40 with sensitive, combination skin.

Each one had some problem. Those that don't irritate don't last, and those that don't irritate and last give you pimples, while those that last and don't give you pimples magnify your crow's feet.

Finally I decided to try mineral makeup. I tried Revlon, only to immediately develop contact dermatitis from the bismuth oxy. I moved then to OrganicWear - sounded safe - only to find the talc in that product made my cheeks swell like beets while the alcohol stung.

Trying to find makeup without bismuth, talc, alcohol, parabens, silicone, etc. is a harder task than I could have imagined. Quite a few mineral makeups can't pass this test.

I saw Sheer Miracle highly reviewed here, and saw it contained nothing problematic, so purchased some samples, including the emu oil.

The color choices are a bit limited in the foundations, but since 2 of Jane's - yes, all dealings with Sheer Miracle are really friendly & personal - foundations cost as much as one from a bigger brand, it's easy to buy 2 and mix just by shaking them on a plate.

Since my tragic experience with Revlon & OrganicWear, trying Jane's makeup was literally the 3rd experience with mineral makeup I'd ever had. First I started with the emu oil, in hopes it would soothe my irritated, bumpy skin. (Don't mean to gross you out, but bismuth oxy causes horrible uncomfortable puss-filled bumps in those of us who are sensitive).

I will say that 3 days of applying 3 drops of emu oil to my face cleared up 90% of my problems! It's really amazing stuff. And I didn't get any new pimples or blackheads around my nose, despite my fears about rubbing pure bird fat on my skin. Jane's emu oil doesn't smell and leaves the bottle in luxurious thick pearly drops. After that I felt a little more confident about trying the makeup.

i just washed my face very gently with Cetaphil, dabbed on some Thayer's non-alcohol rose witch hazel, and warmed the emu oil drop by drop on my fingertips before gently dotting it to apply. 2 drops will cover your whole face - maybe even 1-1/2 drops if you warm it well on your fingers.

While waiting for Jane's samples to come in the mail, I'd purchased a flat-top Japonesque brush from a local store because it was the softest I could find without splurging on a MAC. I mean, I'd just swallowed the cost of tossing a bottle of Chanel foundation!

After waiting 5 minutes for the emu oil to vanish into my skin - it's amazing how it does that, if it doesn't, you've used too much - I just shook out a sample of the Light Warm foundation into the lid of a yogurt container(!) and mixed it with a drop of Neutrogena eye cream. The minerals do shake out a tiny bit clumpy, but dissolve instantly into the eye cream to form a light concealer.

Since the emu oil had really come through for me, I didn't need as much concealer as I feared, so this light combination was adequate. Then I shook some of the Medum Warm Neutral into the yogurt lid and did the swirl/tap thing all the youtube videos show you. I thought I'd need that color to cover the redness of the bismuth bumps.

But actually it turned out the emu oil had really reduced the redness, so the Medium was a bit too dark. The Japonesque brush carried the powder beautifully, and I just swept it on in downward strokes from the center of my face outward.I was amazed at how it completely covered the bumps, the larger pores on my cheeks but didn't seem to pack into my little lines.

I also had purchased a sample of the Adobe Sunset blush, which I shook out and patted on with a cotton ball on my cheeks, temples, nose, eye creases, and forehead. At first it seemed really intense, but the cotton ball put it on sheer.

Another sample was the matte white finishing powder, which I shook out and put on with the same flat-top brush. This wasn't so successful - I did look a little powder-y until I spritzed my face with some more Thayer's.

Then I went to work and had a normal 10-hour day. I was quite surprised to see that - unlike, for example, the pricey Chanel - this mineral makeup didn't just slide off my face or fade away. After lunch I did blot my face with an oil-paper in the T-zone, but I do that every day anyway.

The second day I talked to a friend of mine at work who told me that big kabuki type brushes are really important for the success of these mineral finishing powders. So I picked up the Japonesque version - another lovely brush but spendy - to use the next day.

That's when I found my friend was right - the flat-top is great for the foundation, but the kabuki is really necessary for the finishing powder. The matte white powder was actually translucent when applied with the fancy brush, so it in fact does make a difference. Then I saw the "airbrushed" effect all the mineral makeup devotees here talk about.

I worked another 9-hour day and then went to Pilates class. I was astonished to see that the foundation survived an hour of Pilates quite well. The powder certainly didn't streak; it seems somewhat sweat-proof.

Jane's makeup claims to have an SPF 30, so I assume it has nano-ti oxide in it to make it so sheer. But so far this hasn't bothered my skin at all.

So despite the loss of my beloved Prescriptives, and the unpleasant contact dermatitis from my unwise previous mineral explorations, I'm surprisingly happy with Sheer Miracle makeup so far. The emu oil deserves special mention I think - that's really magical stuff.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/24/2009 7:59:00 AM More reviews by Belann

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

After using many mineral foundations, I have finally found one I love.
This foundation NEVER makes my skin itch and the application is easy and the finish is amazing.
I ordered samples off the sheermiracle.com website and promptly received very generous samples.
My final choices are the Light Warm Mineral Foundation, Matte Finishing Powder and Sienna Rose Blush.
Never have I received so many compliments on my face!
Without being heavy, it hides imperfections.
I am sort of fair with some red areas on my face. The color I have chosen has a little yellow tint but does not look yellow on my face. Once blended in there are no marked lines so it looks very natural.
Does a good job of hiding little age or sunspots without looking like I have a mask on my face. Love the finishing powder. It is white in the jar and goes on without adding anymore color to my face. The blush is beautiful as well. It is pretty pigmented so I only use a little. Also, the color stays true throughout the day.
Very, very nice products!
Do not let the reasonable prices fool you. These are high quality products. Fabulous!

Update: I am still using this foundation and love it! A couple of people have said that it does not provide great coverage. I have a few sundamage spots on my face and it truly does soften the look enough that others never notice the spots. If you do not want a spot to show up at all, use a little concealer.
Along with Sheer Miracle blush (very pigmented) and their finishing powder I look nearly flawless.
I use their repair oil, which is very nice) followed by Marie Veronique sunscreen and let it dry for a bit. Really prepares my face for an amazing application.
Update: Dec. 8, 2010
I am still using this foundatin in Cool Light and Med. Neutral.
Some of my friends are now using their products and love them. You owe it to yourself to purchase a couple of their generous samples and try it.
Update: April 7, 2014
I quit using this in 2012 only because powder foundations stopped working for me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/24/2008 12:29:00 AM More reviews by lala_tee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Although mineral makeup brands claim to be natural and good for the skin, in reality most of them contain talc (such as the L'oreal one) and titanium dioxide, which is as bad for your skin as other liquid or powder foundations. Sheer miracle has none of these--I've slept in this miltiple times and didn't add any breakouts! The coverage is good- not a miraculous "full" coverage as the website claims (don't think its possible for any foundation to be of full coverage), but alot better than the average medium coverage foundation (though for darker red spots concealer is needed). The colour selection is great- most mineral makeups only have three shades but this has around 6: I use medium beige which is a yellow based tone perfect for not-too-pale asian skin or caucasion skin with a light tan. The finish is natural, matte with a glow and no one can tell ur wearing makeup. With mineral foundations, its either a hit or miss as you either get a flakey and patchy look or a sheer, natural look. Apart from the quality of the foundation itself (size of the grains and softness), a large determinating factor is the condition of your skin. With mineral makeup, its important you skin is fully hydrated (or else the minerals will flake and the coverage will be patchy and uneven)- sometimes applying moisturiser before is not sufficient. Its important to realise that even if you have oily skin, you can still be dry underneath. If you skins feels dry or flakes, don't even try to apply mineral foundation unless you want to look like a clown- go for a liquid foundation or wet powder instead. Also, make sure your moisturiser is completely dry before applying mineral makeup. As long as these two requirements are met, sheer miracle goes on natural and is perfect for everyday wear.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2008 4:03:00 PM More reviews by dollface6

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used several name brand minerals, namely BE and Jane Iredale, both okay but with things I didn't like. Then I saw these Sheer Miracle Minerals on ebay (she has an ebay store) and I had to give them a try due to the many huge rave reviews. I got a starter kit of the mineral foundation, a mineral veil and a flat bottomed foundation brush, all for $19.99!! I got the Medium Light Neutral which is a perfect match to my skin. i normally use a warm sand liquid foundation, as I am a light/medium yellow/orange skin color. She has a color chart with photos of women to help you select your color, but I think these are pretty forgiving and this color will probably suit a lot of women. They apply smoothly with no drag and the finish is a matte with no shine (like BE) but looks like flawless skin. This is not a dry crepey matte but looks touchable and just darn pretty. I highly recommend this line and for the price, you cannot get flawless looking skin for this cheap anywhere. The ebay store seller is very nice too and the shipping was in 2 days!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/3/2007 12:53:00 AM More reviews by Goldie_Loks

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was apprehensive about trying this foundation...only b/c MY MOM was the one who told me about it, since this is the foundation she uses (I'm sorry I doubted you Mom!). Sheer Miracle loose mineral foundation provides the best coverage of the mineral foundations I have tried (and I have tried many ie. BE, Youngblood, Signature, Jane Iredale, Physicians Formula, Loreal, Sheer Cover) just to name a few! Sheer Miracle's foundation is wonderfully matte (I hate shiny mineral makeup!), provides the best full coverage, and the colors stay true all day! While it is matte, it looks creamy once applied, not chalky, it does not dry out your skin or make it appear flat, but radiant and flawless! A little really does go a long way in this brand. The foundation is around $18.50 for 10gm in a 30gm jar, which isn't the cheapest I have found, but there is a Sheer Miracle eBay store, and you can usually buy it there for around $9.99 (that's more like it)! You can also buy samples, which is always nice. Although their foundation color range is limited, their shades are very forgiving, so even if the color isn't a perfect match, you can't tell at all once it's applied. Best of all are it's totally minimalist ingredients: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, (+-ultramarine blue). So bottom line, it's good for your face, and it makes your face look good!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No