January 30, 2015 | 2177 users online

Hair Color - Wella - Color Charm Toner



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(38 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/3/2015 8:24:00 PM More reviews by alexiseptember

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Previously used Wella's T18 and it barely did anything to my hair. After two uses, it left my hair (previously neon orange) pale yellow, then golden blonde. I had left it on for at least 40 minutes each time and always saw only a minimal difference. I left this on golden blonde hair for 7 and a half minutes. Ash blonde, definitely. No question about it. If I left this on any longer it would have made my hair silver. This toner MEANS BUSINESS. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/22/2014 3:45:00 PM More reviews by icarle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is HG. I tried other products before and nothing works like this. I am reviewing the T14 (silver lady). My hair is a level 8-9, dyed and highlighted (at home), natural color is a dark ash blonde. I have short, fine, overprocessed hair. I mixed the toner with a 20 developer (generic drugstore brand) and did my whole head at once. Left it for 7-8 minutes (i stayed in front of the mirror to check) and after 2-3 minutes my hair APPEARED a darker, ashy/silvery blond. I freaked out, but didn't rinse, as i know it can do that sometimes. After i saw that i was starting to get too silvery (8 minutes) i rinsed without shampooing. I blowdried my hair and it is a GORGEOUS shade a light ash blonde, very beautiful, i couldn't be happier.

Pros:
cheap (2 for 8$ online + shipping)
easy to mix (1:2 ratio)
easy to apply, not runny
No bad smell
Easy to rinse
Beautiful results in no time
Roots (virgin hair) are blended as well =)

Cons:
You have to wait in front of the mirror bcz it goes fast
it's a little freaky to see your hair turning dark and silvery....I ALMOST rinsed
My hair is short and i had just enough product
If your hair is darker than a level 8 and you want a light blonde, you might want to lift some more before using this toner.

Overall, this is HG. I am glad i ordered 2!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/7/2014 12:47:00 AM More reviews by Brandonlee94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Alot of people are giving this a bad review, but they arent using it correctly. You need to have lightened your hair to a light yellow blonde. No product will bring your hair from red to blonde, its not magic you must know what youre doing. This and wellas t18 are my go to toners for cancelling out brassiness/yellow tones in blonde hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/4/2014 10:36:00 AM More reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Used in a salon where I used to go - to counteract brassiness and neatralize ceratin colors.
Very good products line and I never had any issues. Mid-priced - not cheap but not expensive either.

Reliable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/2/2014 12:07:00 PM More reviews by jojoS34

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this after a friend dared me to dye my hair red for a party. After following the instructions very carefully and applying as needed i found that it did not work as promised. I have long thick brown hair and all that this product did was give it a slight redish tinge. It was also streaky and only affected some parts of my hair. Next day spent three quarters of an hour in the shower attempting to wash it out. Didnt work, so i had to go to school looking really weird. Nothing special and i wouldnt recommend.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2014 2:11:00 PM More reviews by strawberrymelons

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This review is for T15 in pale beige blonde on BROWNISH hair :). My goal is to go back to my natural after dying my hair dark brown for the last 5 years. I left my hair to grow out for about 7 months and decided I want to make the blending of my roots with the rest look more natural. So I did balayage highlights at home. I bleached my hair twice in 2 months and dyed over it both times with a medium ash blonde dye. This still didn't help me get the orange tones out and in turn, there was a very strong yellow tint to my hair. In some lights it looked nice ad golden, in others it looked yellow. So I researched a bunch of toners with everyone saying that a toner is only for very light blonde hair and not dark blonde (which is what the bottom of my hair was basically). So I mixed the Wella T15 with 20 developer and left it on my hair for 15 minutes. I did not put this on any roots that have grown out. My hair is now a nice ashy, light brown and I absolutely love it. Everything blednds together. The color might get lighter after a few washes but I plan on toning it again in a month to completely get rid of any spots I might have missed. I LOVE THIS TONER.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2014 1:54:00 AM More reviews by Noelle102

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a review for Wella's T14 toner. I had bleached my hair (twice, with 30 vol.) 2 weeks prior, and tried to tone my yellow hair with Wella's T18... and basically nothing happened! I ended up covering it with a dark blonde demi.

I read some great things about the T14 and decided to give it a shot since I wanted to do a blonde ombre over my dark blonde/light brown base. I bleached once with a 20 vol and achieved a yellow-gold base. I then applied the toner with a 10 vol for quite a while... 30 to 40 minutes. (It's hard to break through the brass on my hair--I've struggled with it for years--so Ieft it on longer than others seem to.)

I'm AMAZED--it was everything I hoped for. My hair is a beautiful neutral blonde (not ash, but I started with a gold-ish base). This is a MUST for anyone looking to get rid of brass or tone hair that isn't bleached to the lightest stage. I imagine it would give a beautiful cool blonde if your hair is bleached to a pale yellow!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/7/2013 4:11:00 PM More reviews by Foxxxwolf

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

In high school I started dying my hair permanent black and four years later I decided that I wanted to go back to my original color a few months ago (dirty blonde) I color stripped it, bleached it, toned it with Silver Lady, and then dyed it medium ash brown. The first time toning it didn't work because my hair was too dark of an orange..that's why I dyed over it. A few days ago I decided to try again so I bleached it and it was left pretty pale yellow at the roots and almost light orange everywhere else. Every review I have ever read says that you cannot tone your medium-almost light orange hair but today I did. I went to Sallys and purchased T10/Ivory Lady and 30 volume developer. When I got home I applied it and waited thirty minutes (checking it and feeling it needed the full 30 minutes) After washing out I am very pleased with the results my roots are obviously lighter at the moment but I plan to run to Walgreens and purchase a light ash dye mixed with a gold-red color corrector that I also bought at Sallys. I highly recommend this product for anyone having a problem with orange-yellow hair. :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/8/2013 5:10:00 PM More reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Update: I just tried the T14. I colorfixed my multiply dyed hair and it ended up a gingery dark blonde. I tried the T14 this time because I heard it was for darker, more orangey tones. I mixed half the bottle w double the 20 vol (I have short hair) and left on 10 min. I didn't want to damage hair further or cause it to go green or something haha. When I rinsed, it came out a lovely neutral dark blonde... All brassiness gone. Since I only used half the bottle I can touch up later if the brass comes back or if I decide I want a cooler look. For now my hair needs a break and some DCs and protein treatments. I love wella's toners!


I may have reviewed this before but since I have just now finally, FINALLY achieved platinum/whitish hair I must write my story. I spent a great deal of time color oopsing, yogurt lightening, vitamin C lightening, oil leeching henna and indigo out of my hair. The henna went bye-bye but the indigo just lightened. (Fr black). So I chopped it off into a pixie. Yes, I sacrificed length for color, something I never thought I'd do! But bleaching indigo turns it the color of a swamp monster. So. I used effasol which turned me orange, bleached twice. Pls note this is over a week's period and I have a pixie cut. Pls do not damage your hair. I tried toners including Virgin Snow and White Lady thru the process but they weren't quite taking me where I wanted to be. So in my final process I used ion's 'high lift ash blonde' for 30 min (30 vol), shampooed, followed by a mix of t14&t18 (20 vol) for 15 minutes. I've always been a wuss of leaving these toners on too long but just when I said 'sh*t, my hair's grey' is the point I took it out (shampooed) and it was PERFECT!!!!! Wella toners for life!!!! Keep your eye on it at ALL TIMES because literally 5 minutes or even 2 minutes is the difference of grey or yellow... Trust me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/12/2013 6:41:00 PM More reviews by TexasScorpio

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

After trying to turn my blonde hair red with blonde highlights, I ended up with bright orange hair with neon green highlights. (Curtesy of a well known brand hair college student). Rather than entrust my hair to another student, I purchased Color Oops from Walgreens to strip the color two days later. It removed the green and orange but left me a BRIGHT yellow (I'm pale with blue undertones. Golds do NOT look good on me.). I then applied T10 toner to my hair for 20 minutes and it came close to my natural shade of ash blonde. Dry, processed, but a PERFECT, LIVABLE color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No