April 19, 2014 | 1689 users online

Skincare - Body - Bath and Body Works - Rice Flower and Shea (all)

no image

rated 4.5(23 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2010 1:10:00 PM More reviews by skelterhelter

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was another scent I picked up during their Semi-Annual Sale (along with Pink Grapefruit), and once I put it on, I was transported back into the late '90s, which was when this scent was originally introduced into their line. My mom used to wear this so whenever I sniff my arm, I think of her wearing this in the fall. It makes me think of her, heavy sweaters, crisp air, and gold leaves struggling to hold on to almost-bare branches. Cheesy but true. When I was testing it in the store, I wondered why it smelled so familiar and comforting, and when I brought it home I remembered why. Anyway, enough of my babbling. The scent itself oozes comfort: it's grainy, ricey, warm, yet light and fresh. Another MUA reviewer said it was minimalist, and I agree. It's something you wear when you want to be as natural as can be, with just a hint of scent. I can really smell the shea butter in this. It's just a really all-around non-offensive scent. Pick it up if you can. Not sure if it's still in BBW stores, but you can still find it in their Classics line on the website.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/2/2010 9:37:00 PM More reviews by JazzleBug

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

*sigh* I love this smell...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/31/2010 8:07:00 PM More reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this sight-unsniffed solely based on the reviews here and I am beyond pleased with this product. This review is for the body cream in the tube. The fragrance is nearly identical to milk and honey scented bath products -but with a little citrus kick and not cloying as I find all milk & honey bath products terribly sickening. It's a sweet, doughy or starchy, skin scent that warms up into an airy Egyptian musk. I don't think it smells of Play Doh. I have little girls and thus tons of Play Doh in the house! I prefer the Classics packaging to the new Signature packaging so I gave it a 5 for packaging. I also purchased the body splash and it is identical to the cream. I wear musks and chypres almost exclusively. This is a nice 'cleanse the palate' kinda fragrance. Will definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2009 7:44:00 PM More reviews by NailPolishAddict9

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I love this scent. I don't smell play-doh at all. I agree with the person who said this smells like a hot summer day. It's my summer scent! It's a very fresh smell. You can smell it on you all day! I hate to see it's been discontinued but you can still order online, I'm doing so.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2007 5:28:00 PM More reviews by uplate6674

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

This is a very soothing scent. It's a quiet grainy sort of fragrance, nothing brash or sharp about it. You won't overpower your coworkers with this, but you will probably feel very relaxed when you smell it. I do get a faint whiff of Play-doh when I first sniff it, but it quickly dries down into a warm rice/grain smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/21/2007 8:13:00 PM More reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

Certainly the best smelling scent from BBW -- especially the body lotion which is really rich and warm smelling, nevermind such a great body product. It smells like warm rice pudding.. creamy, vanilla, rice (starch) and some flour notes. It's a warm and comforting scent. I can't believe BBW discontinued it. That's a shame --- and unfortunate for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2007 5:59:00 PM More reviews by starskyee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have this in a lotion, and would prefer it in a lotion rather than body spray.
I love this scent! This is definitely a minimalist fragrance scent for BBW. Usually I find their scents so overwhelming. This one is delicate and natural. It smells like a hot summer day at the beach. I love it! It is a real comfort scent, barely there, but just enough. I am so disappointed that in my BBW, it has only been around for a very short time, and already discontinued. My guess is that they released it here in the wrong season. But I for one, actually like having it to wear in the winter. Today, such a cold snowy yucky below freezing day, and I have this little bit of summer to hold on to.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/29/2005 5:33:00 PM More reviews by Muartsy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the Rice Flower & Shea scent from Bath & Body Works. It smells a bit like homemade rice pudding to me. Not overpowering at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/18/2005 3:28:00 PM More reviews by lilacterp

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Rice Flower and Shea is simply the best scent offered by Bath and Body Works, and yeah, they discontinue it. Good job! It's not strong and fake smelling like a lot of the B&BW scents. It smells sweet, and warm and comforting with just enough of a scent. Very unique and pleasant and it won't make you queasy. I absolutely adore it and have just now discovered it. I'm stocking up on the Body Cream- such a heavenly scented and good product. I love the shea butter in this. Yummy and awesome. Nothing bad to say about this creamy rice-pudding wheat-like scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2004 3:07:00 PM More reviews by CloudsInMyCoffee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favorite scents, I have the whole set (sooo of course it 's discontinued). It's a warm, cozy scent. Vanilla, almond, and just a nice creaminess. Does smell a bit like playdoh, but that doesn't last. The scent lasts all day on me, and even the shower gel lasts on skin. I think this is one of BBW's most sophisticated scents, and I'll definitely stay stocked up on it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No