September 20, 2014 | 1183 users online

Palettes - Hard Candy - Top Ten Eyeshadow Palettes



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.2(25 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 9/1/2014 12:07:00 AM More reviews by kajkfd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've never written a review but this was so disappointing I was compelled to write one. These chalky, gritty, "pigments" should not even be called eye shadow. Yeah, you definitely get what you pay for. At least there's a small mirror in the lid. Save your $5 and buy a Starbucks latte instead; you'll enjoy it way more if only briefly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/28/2014 3:46:00 AM More reviews by smase

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't find these colours all that bad good for price but ill search elsewhere for better eyeshadows

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/17/2014 7:19:00 PM More reviews by Laughgeo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This palette was my first palette. I was wondering why it was cheap with so many colors?!?! Well the quality of the shadows are terrible and chalky. The fallout is horrendous. I dropped the palette on my dresser and half of the black shade crumbled out in legit crumbs. The pigmentation is terrible. The reason why I gave it 2 stars is because of the price. Otherwise I would have given it 1 star. The only reason to buy this again is if I had children one day and they wanted eye shadows to play with.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2014 12:18:00 AM More reviews by Courtney16

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this.
I love the way the packaging looks.
I love the price.
It was worth it.
I use a sparkly silver or sparkly black.
It gives me just the right amount without looking too dark or too light.
:-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/28/2014 9:41:00 PM More reviews by 8bitAmes

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I didn't have very high hopes for this palette, but I love shimmery brown shadows, so I picked it up. The colours are SO similar (would have been nice to have some variation in colour rather than ten brown shadows - brown is not the only neutral, people!) and the colour payoff is very poor even with a primer. Every colour in the palette is shimmery, again would have been nice to see a few matte shades. The packaging is okay - durable and there's a mirror, too. The puffy lace accent is mildly offensive, but whatever. As far as a drugstore palette goes, I prefer Wet 'n' Wild - affordable, nice formulation, long-wearing, nice colour selection. I'll give this palette another whirl (I hate throwing away barely used makeup), but will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/15/2013 2:30:00 AM More reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have these in Naturally Gorgeous and Smoke Out. Other than the shimmery white (lid color) I can only use them on the outter V as I have hooded eyelids. It takes a lot of product to get a nice blended look and there is a ton of fallout. The only reason I bought them was because I didn't want to pack my NAKED palettes. I guess I'll just have to suck it up and pack them as these palettes just won't do. There is exactly one matte color and that is black. All others have shimmer. Oh well, I'll use them up for the V so the $6 wasn't totally wasted :) Also, these are not wet/dry shadows per se, but I find that if I dampen my brush and pick up the white, I get way more color to pack on my lid. It will crumble a bit when it's wet, but if you work with it, the color payoff is better than when it's dry. The shimmery white and matte black are in the Smoke Out palette.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2013 1:34:00 AM More reviews by RunawayGirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Some of these shadows are hits and miss. There's two eyeshadow that I don't like that don't show up on my skin and 1 shadow that's really grainy. Aside that, I do like the rest of the shadows. They are powdery and have fall-outs. I really wanted to experiment with more neutral colors but I didn't want to shell out $60 for a palette so that is why I looked to HC "naturally gorgeous" as an alternative. The way that these colors play off my brown eyes makes me not regret the purchase. I paid around 6 bucks and i'm not gonna expect it to have zero fallout, and all buttery smooth shadow. It 'mostly' does it job as a inexpensive shadow palette and I am satisfied with the purchase.
Packaging is tricky to open sometimes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/3/2013 8:59:00 PM More reviews by kayceee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I got this product in Naturally Gorgeous. I'll probably get at least one more in the collection. For the price, the shadow is pretty good. It pigments fairly well, again for the price, but it does tend to "powder" easily. It blends very well, and durability is surprisingly good even without a primer. There's a good variety of colour for "just above a nude" look as well as sparkly fall looks.

The packaging is a little obnoxious, I don't really like that little plush layer on top, but I guess it's eye catching. I also wish it came with some matte shades to round it out a little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2013 5:49:00 PM More reviews by Hollynla

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This palette caught my eye right away. The colors are so pretty and the packaging is really attractive as is the $6 price tag at Wal Mart. I got the Naturally Gorgeous palette which is warm neutral shades. The first time i used it, I noticed how much fallout I had all over my face and when I attempted to clean it up, it just got worse and worse. I've never seen anything like this before. The more I tried to dust if off, the darker it got on my face. So the second time I used it, I made sure to do it before foundation and used a tissue under my eye to catch the fallout. My eyes looked great, such pretty colors............. until Iooked again a few house later. Fallout! The shadows were flaking off after the fact, and when I powdered my face, the stroke of the brush did the same effect as the first time I had used it. The fallout smeared everywhere. This is going in the trash. What a shame.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2013 8:50:00 PM More reviews by lesa

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I initially purchased the Naturally Gorgeous Palette and was so pleased, I picked up the Green with Envy palette as well. I like subtle shadows and these work quite well for me. I use UD Primer Potion under them, and they last quite well on my oily skin. The shadows I have seem rather buttery, and nicely textured. I use my UD brushes to apply them. The pigmentation is great for my taste and I like how buildable and blendable they are. I have green eyes and the colors in both palettes suit me quite well. I have read in other reviews that some people have found the shadows to be gritty or chalky, but I haven't found that to be the case. Perhaps I got lucky and my palettes were a good run. I also don't get a lot of fallout with these shadows. I also received a bonus Take Me Out Eye liner mini as a bonus. Pretty good value for 6 bucks a piece.

Is this review helpful? Yes No