November 27, 2014 | 1283 users online

Polishes - Julep - Nail Polishes

rated 2.4(85 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.4
  • 25% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 11/18/2014 9:10:00 PM More reviews by YuraK

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My friend is a maven and she gave me one of the colors, "princess grace," because she knows I like orange and coral colors. The color itself was cute and the packaging was cute too.

But it takes forever and ever to dry; I figured 30 min would be enough time and I could go to class but nope. I picked up my bag and half the coat scraped off. And it smells horrible, toxic. And it was clumpy for me, which makes it harder because I'm already horrible at applying polish.

My friend wants to cancel but she's scared after reading the reviews here.
We both agree that spending $24.99 plus shipping is a total ripoff.

It's a shame because overall, the colors and packaging seemed cute and nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/18/2014 6:03:00 PM More reviews by rach415

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What drew me to sign up for Julep was the Halloween box that was free with just $2.99 shipping. I think I got 3 or 4 nail polishes and an eye liner which was a steal. I went ahead and continued for one more month because I was offered a discounted price off plus more items: more nail polishes, a hand cream, hand scrub, and I think one more item. They even threw in some candy. I failed to cancel before getting my next box so I got my last one at $24.99 with 3 nail polishes and .. HALF of the plie wand.. the magnet part! Wtf.


*NAIL POLISH = they are no better than a nail polish you can get for $2.99 or even $0.99. The brush is actually the crappy part about it. For years, I've never had a messy time applying my nail polish until I started getting these, which might be why they tempt you into buying their Plie Wand. I believe no one needs another tool to apply nail polish unless you're creating designs because all the companies that make good nail polish include an already good brush! The colors I received were nothing special either. And they always kept sending me dark colors!

*Eye liner = I received one in a plum color and it's just good for a base. Not very pigmented.

*Luxe Care Hand Cream = Moisturizes hands pretty well but I didn't like the smell.

*Glycolic Hand Scrub = I think it actually softened my hands quicker even though the granules were much smaller. But if you have cuts on your hands, they might sting! It also left my hands feeling a bit sudsy after rinsing.

All in all, these products are not worth what they are at full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/8/2014 1:10:00 PM More reviews by Amex131

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Julep Nail Therapy Review
I've used the julep nail therapy a few times and every time i remove my polish my nails have peeled. this has never happened before so i know that it was because of the julep polish. I discontinued use because my nails were getting worse especially at the tips where the peeling was at its worst. I had really high hopes for this base coat, but sadly its just not beneficial to my nails. Besides causing my nails to peel terribly it did work well in providing a smooth base for my polish application. It smoothed all of my ridges and dried smoothly. I really wish it didnt cause my nails to peel because i could see this polish becoming a fave of mine.

Julep Welcome Box Review (important info regarding payment conditions)
I ordered the julep welcome box and it shipped 8 days later. this was not what i was expecting since you are prompted in the confirmation email that that orders usually ship within one or two business days. I received my box 3-4 days after i got the shipping confirmation and was seriously disappointed. I got one ugly glitter color, one white polish, one burgundy color and some facial serum. Overall, the colors were average and pretty boring so that was a let down. Also they are a bit thick its hard to apply, i feel like in the future the polishes will turn gooey because of this. I also feel like if this free box is supposed to draw customers in, it should at least include decent colors. On another note, i realize that a lot of people have experienced TERRIBLE service with this company and i have to say that my experience was pretty smooth. I was able to call them about a week before the automatic shipping date (the 27th of the month when they take payment for next months box) and i got my subscription cancelled in under 5 minutes. the lady was nice and i received a confirmation email a few minutes later. A few days later i logged in to remove my payment info and i realized YOU CANT! I was extremely worried so instead of calling them i sent an email which was answered in about two days. It said that the info CANNOT be removed but they they had replaced my card number with "XXXX" and change the expiration date so its expired. This would prevent my card from being usable. It worked. On the 27th my card was not charged. I have cut my ties to this company and i warn everyone to proceed with caution when doing business with them.

Overall Experience
I do not believe this company is worth doing business with. Their nail colors are pretty but not worth the future hassle that may be incurred (or the price). I am also really upset that there is not a warning somewhere to tell people that their credit card info cannot be deleted from the website, only modified to disable its usability. There are just to many cons with this company and i do not recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/15/2014 5:01:00 PM More reviews by autobotofurdrms

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

So this subscription is 24.99 a month, which is WAY expensive for what you get. I did the free box for October hoping for Halloween styles...yea i got black and purple and some weird clear coat with white flakes and black eye liner. For 2.99 yes it was worth it. But 24.99 NOPE!

So I swatched the colors and painted my nails. The purple only needed one coat, which is nice and it dried pretty fast, but again i just needed one coat. I did the black on my ring finger and it did a nice coat, has a nice sheen to it, and then I did the clear coat and white flake one on my thumb nail.

I didnt like the clear coat because it was very chunky. The purple has a nice color but its not for me, and the black was nice and has a nice sheen, Again the colors were a bit dark, and the clear was weird.

The eye liner i didnt try because i just opened a new one today. But it looks nice. Not something i would spend a lot of money on it looked like a cheap pencil.

Overall...NO i would not spend 24.99 a month on this. for 2.99 it was ok. But still not what i am looking for.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/24/2014 4:05:00 PM More reviews by MySweetShadow

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What a joke! I signed up for the introductory offer where you only pay shipping, and 2 weeks and 3 days later I have nothing! They claim to provide tracking information, yeah, NO, they don't. I called to cancel my account and was given some BS excuse about how my zip code was incorrect so the package was forwarded back to them. I said "excuse me? I'm looking at my online account right now and my address is correct." and the reply I got was "well what we have is....blah blah blah." Yeah? Well, they had my correct address! And that tracking number? The one I had to call over 2 weeks later to get? It showed up as not even existing in the USPS data base. The nail polish colors look amazing but I nothing seems worth this much BS. No wonder you only have less than 3 stars. I'll stick with Essie.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/24/2014 11:31:00 AM More reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have three polishes: a rich magenta called Janel, a metallic gunmetal grey called Stevie, and a deep purple called Padma. Also in my "Welcome Box" was Mighty Nail & Cuticle Serum, a click-pen type brush applicator that dispenses a serum through a brush tip. I signed up after CONTINUOUSLY seeing a link/ad on my Facebook newsfeed, with a "promo" code for a free welcome box, just pay shipping yadda yadda yadda. I signed up, not realizing this company sells primarily nail color (I usually never ever paint my nails. I get them done in a nail salon, french manicure or glitter French manicure.) But I figured for $2.99 what the heck, thinking it was a makeup box. I was surprised when I received three tiny, squarish bottles of nail lacquer and this pen of cuticle serum. My first thought was, "People actually subscribe and PAY $24.99 + s&h for this stuff?" It was an outrageous thought. I mean it arrived packaged attractively in a purple box, packed with some paper grass for cushion, and a 50% coupon with tons of fine print. But the idea of paying the asking price of close to $30 for this crap made me shrivel and die a little on the inside. The colors are gorgeous in the bottle, yes. On your nails, they require many coats, and don't dry very opaquely. Also...they chip preposterously quick. I am calling Julep to cancel today. No way they will rip me off and charge $30 to my debit card for this crap. I wouldn't even pay the $3 again, much less $12 a bottle, their MSRP. Wow. Total HUGE HUGE rip-off, even for a polish/nail junkie, this is 110% gimmicky bull crap. Be warned.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/18/2014 8:50:00 PM More reviews by ihavethewine

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Three strikes.... 1) The nail polish smells toxic and doesn't go away for hours/days
2) The price is way too much and the customer service at Julep is atrocious
3) As everyone else said - this crap takes forever to dry!

Bottom line - don't waste your $$!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/2/2014 10:01:00 PM More reviews by LizB88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

The only thing worse than the products is the customer service! They're horrible! Don't waste your money (they're going to charge you for more than you want) or your time!
Only gave them a 1 because I couldn't give them a 0.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/20/2014 2:06:00 PM More reviews by jgalazios

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't know how to rate this nail polish -
the colors are beautiful, and I usually hate colored nail polish (always go natural or French), but I find myself experiementing with theirs.

When the nail polish is finally dry, it's amazing. My nails break constantly usually. When I have Julep nail polish on, they never break or chip and grow long (finally) I have always wanted long, natural nails.

BUT the polish takes a century to dry. Huge down fall for an almost perfect nail polish. I learned the hard way when I first used it that it doesn't dry fast after I waited about 15 min, then went about my normal business and got polish everywhere. I have timed it up slowly from there and even with sitting, watching a movie, and not doing ANYTHING with my hands, over 3 hours later (no joke) the polish is still soft and smudges off. It takes around a full day for it to get totally hard and by the time it does, I already have areas that are screwed up. Right now, I am trying to give myself a French Manicure at my desk and it's been over 30 minutes and the whites of my nails aren't even dry, so I can't put on a top coat yet. That's how slow it is. I am only putting 1-2 coats. The nail polish is so thick, you don't need more than that.I even ordered the Quick Dry Drops and no cigar, still hours of soft nail polish that gets smudged in a heartbeat, then dries like that, if you happen to be nowhere near your nail polish remover to start again.

The nail polish itself is pretty thick and weird - it goes on beautifully on some nails, and others, clumpy or has streaks. When you try to fix areas, it'll smudge and get worse, so you have to remove it all and start from scratch.

So I still use it because the benefit is having long, non-breaking nails, but the time and energy to get it on is really not that great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/12/2014 12:40:00 PM More reviews by brownsugarncutie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the worst nail polish that I have ever used. I got three colors: Bette, Laree & Princess Grace.The packaging is so adorable and the colors are very pretty in the bottle. Unfortunately, those are all the good things I can say about them.

The formula is terrible. It is thin and streaky and all the colors required at least 3 coats to look somewhat decent. I applied 5 coats to try to get it to look opaque but that never happened. This polish also NEVER dries! I even used Revlon's Liquid Quick Dry, which works beautifully with all other nail polishes, to help it speed along but even with the help, Julep polishes just never dried. I cannot believe they market this stuff as quick drying.

Don't waste your money. I have polishes that cost a dollar that is much better than this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No