November 23, 2014 | 2056 users online

Concealers - Skinfood - Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.0(55 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/11/2014 7:46:00 AM More reviews by NovemberUnderground

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I received my salmon concealer today. I purchased it on Ebay and I think it's really cheap for the amount of product you get.

I'm MAC NW 20-25 and my dark circles are brownish. I chose the lightest of the two shades and I regret it :( the color it's a very light peach... I think shade 2 would look better on me as it is more orange and dark.

Anyways, I applied the salmon concealer with my finger pressing it. I don't have many lines on my skin as I'm 23 years old so it glides nice on me. After that I added my NYX HD concealer in shade 04 beige and I set it with powder. That combo worked pretty well for me but I wish I had bought the darker shade of this concealer.

TIP: if you want to cover dark circles even if your skin is light... go for the second shade! It will look orange on you, but then with the concealer or foundation you'll get your natural skin color and it will highlight the area.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2014 9:32:00 AM More reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have been obsessed with Korean cosmetics and the Skinfood Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream is supposed to be one of Skinfood's best-selling products, so I was curious to try it out.

The concistency is creamy and blends very easily into the skin without leaving it dry making it a great under eye concealer. I always use primer before I apply makeup on my face and I haven't had any problems with this concealer creasing or settling into fine lines.
On top of that it's long lasting and I don't have to worry that it will fade during the day like some other concealers do.

There are two downsides about this product. The first one is that there are only 2 shades to choose from and the other problem it the packaging. I don't like pots because I feel like the concealer gets dirty quite easily and I would have prefered it in a tube, but I guess that's a personal preference.

All in all this is a great concealer that is worth the money. It's very pigmented and a little goes a long way. I would definitely purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2014 8:11:00 AM More reviews by triotrio

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

The main problem with this for me was the colour. It basically corresponds to the "Peach" shade of the Bobbi Brown corrector. Unfortunately as BB knows, there'll be a lot of pink-skinned women who need a pinker corrector, hence their "Bisque" shade. Like me.

So this was too orangey on my skin and I couldkn't make it work. Shame, as you get a ton in tne pot and the consistency is a bit kinder on fine lines than the BB. I gave it to a friend with warm undertones.

I suspect that the 5-star reviews are from people who match the colour well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/6/2014 7:51:00 AM More reviews by MissVanity

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I had to write my review because I bought this because of good reviews here and I don't want other people to make the same mistake.

For reference, I am NC15. I have a really bad purple dark circles under my eyes and almost nothing can cover them completely.

Having said that, this product does not even come close. It has a very creamy and sticky consistency and it's not easy to blend without moving it all over. You have to set it with powder otherwise it will look shiny and strange. I tried using it as a corrector and applying another concealer on top but that did not work either, all I got was a cakey mess.

I will not repurchase and I do not recommend it if you are serious about concealing your dark circles and if you have real dark circles and not just faint shadows under your eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/7/2014 1:41:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

As anyone who has dark circles knows there's almost nothing that can cover them completely and still look natural. First, I decanted a small amount of this into one section of a Japonesque fill-it-yourself palette, because there's so much in this jar (in fact I did this with all of my different concealers). The palette came with a tiny brush that I love, and what I do is stand back from the mirror a bit and focus on dabbing this just on the dark areas. I find the circles are different with each eye, so just patting it all over underneath doesn't really work. This product is very creamy and with too much blending it just comes off, but I find it "melts" into my skin if I leave it for a moment and then needs very little blending. Just the lightest tap tap. The circles are not gone, never gone, but this does brighten and soften and tone them down. It wears off though, and since I'm older powder under the eye isn't the best idea. Maybe primer would help, but I try to keep things simple. This is better than anything I've ever tried for the dark circles, but still has it;s shortcomings.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/2/2014 1:46:00 AM More reviews by yxbaska

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

The Skin Food Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream is actually one of the best concealers I've tried. I mainly use the product to lessen the appearance of my dark circles and sometimes the redness around my nose including scars. The concealer is creamy and easy to blend. Additionally does an excellent job for my severe dark circles (with 2 layers) and would need to be reapplied about every 3-5 hours. The concealer may wipe off if you touch your face. Despite getting shade #2 (comes in only 2 shades), the concealer cream does run in the lighter skin tones.

The product works moderately well on dry patches and scars, but does not work well on redness. Despite the small size (10 g), this concealer lasted for a year in my case. Since the "Korean skin trend" is to have a dewy or glowing face, this concealer cream would do exactly that. In fact it has a more dewy finish than my BB cream (Etude House Precious Minerals). I do apply powder foundation to lessen the dewy appearance. I never experienced any break outs or dryness related to when using this product.

One of the 'cons' is definitely consumer friendly accessibility of the product. You may use a brush for application, but I recommend applying the concealer with your ring finger for a smoother appearance. You'll definitely have to wash your finger well after application. The price of the products can be as low as $10 online. I purchased mines from Amazon and Cosmetic Jolse.

I brought the concealer with me to the park on a hot sunny afternoon and placed it inside my purse. By the end of the day, I realized the concealer has melted and reformed itself in the angle it was placed. Months later when I started to run out, I placed it on the side for it to melt in my car and it had reformed in a tilted angle therefore creating easier access for me to apply. So it's not necessarily bad since the product stills works regardless of the heat and reformation.

Overall, if like the dewy/glowing look and want to lessen the appearance of your dark circles while using a easy to blend concealer then this product is for you! I'm already getting my second one soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2014 1:47:00 PM More reviews by isabellayessi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my correction concealer to even out my dark circles and use L.A pro concealer as my brighter I Have not had issues cakey mess . If you apply to many layers it will cake and that it says don't but it does . I have to order online from ebay USA vendors I don't recommend international for fact is longer wait time. if I buy korea makeup sometimes I try my best find USA vendors due to time and easy tracking I had issues from international vendor's taking 2 months so never order from ebay if I can support local usa business is better for our country.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/24/2014 10:28:00 PM More reviews by JennyTeoh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have very dark circles and is very visible as my face is pale (yellow skin tone) . This concealer is more of a eye brightener . I would prefer using canmake waterproof concealer than apply skinfood cocealer on top . It's very helpful in brightening the eyes ! ^^ very lightweight too <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2014 7:09:00 PM More reviews by bootyturtle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have hereditary very dark circles and have been using Benefit erase paste for years, but this beats that by far. First of all, the color of the Skinfood concealer (shade #1) is a much better match for me (I'm an NW20). I use the first shade of erase paste, but it's always been a little too peachy. The Skinfood concealer looks nearly the same color as erase paste in the little jar, but it's lighter once you've swiped some out, and much less peachy.

Second, it hardly creases on me. It settles into fine lines a bit, but way less than any other concealers I've used. The pigmentation and consistency are pretty great too. It definitely needs a setting powder, and it does have a pretty strong floral scent, but neither of those things have bothered me. It doesn't get cakey with powder, and I'm not sure it needs it for staying power, but it is shiny. This is the best concealer I've used for under my eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/7/2014 7:53:00 PM More reviews by amberlightsss

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought this because of the many good reviews I've read - but somehow this doesn't work for me and that makes me sad.....

My dark circles tend to be more green than blue because of my warm skintone, and I guess that's why this stuff doesn't cover them. It covers a little, but not more than a regular light/medium coverage concealer - Maybelline Fit Me and MAC Pro Longwear covers more than Skinfood. The consistensy is creamy and feels good. It glides on easily. The concealer makes a difference, after applying it under my eyes I look more awake. But it doesn't cover the circles very well. I give it three lippies because it's overall a good concealer, but not good for covering dark, green circles. And I see some people have complained about the smell - it smells almost like nothing. Not a bothering scent at all. Maybe for very very very sensitive noses... :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No