September 30, 2014 | 2105 users online

Concealers - Skinfood - Salmon Darkcircle Concealer Cream



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.0(51 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/7/2014 1:41:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

As anyone who has dark circles knows there's almost nothing that can cover them completely and still look natural. First, I decanted a small amount of this into one section of a Japonesque fill-it-yourself palette, because there's so much in this jar (in fact I did this with all of my different concealers). The palette came with a tiny brush that I love, and what I do is stand back from the mirror a bit and focus on dabbing this just on the dark areas. I find the circles are different with each eye, so just patting it all over underneath doesn't really work. This product is very creamy and with too much blending it just comes off, but I find it "melts" into my skin if I leave it for a moment and then needs very little blending. Just the lightest tap tap. The circles are not gone, never gone, but this does brighten and soften and tone them down. It wears off though, and since I'm older powder under the eye isn't the best idea. Maybe primer would help, but I try to keep things simple. This is better than anything I've ever tried for the dark circles, but still has it;s shortcomings.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/2/2014 1:46:00 AM More reviews by yxbaska

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

The Skin Food Salmon Dark Circle Concealer Cream is actually one of the best concealers I've tried. I mainly use the product to lessen the appearance of my dark circles and sometimes the redness around my nose including scars. The concealer is creamy and easy to blend. Additionally does an excellent job for my severe dark circles (with 2 layers) and would need to be reapplied about every 3-5 hours. The concealer may wipe off if you touch your face. Despite getting shade #2 (comes in only 2 shades), the concealer cream does run in the lighter skin tones.

The product works moderately well on dry patches and scars, but does not work well on redness. Despite the small size (10 g), this concealer lasted for a year in my case. Since the "Korean skin trend" is to have a dewy or glowing face, this concealer cream would do exactly that. In fact it has a more dewy finish than my BB cream (Etude House Precious Minerals). I do apply powder foundation to lessen the dewy appearance. I never experienced any break outs or dryness related to when using this product.

One of the 'cons' is definitely consumer friendly accessibility of the product. You may use a brush for application, but I recommend applying the concealer with your ring finger for a smoother appearance. You'll definitely have to wash your finger well after application. The price of the products can be as low as $10 online. I purchased mines from Amazon and Cosmetic Jolse.

I brought the concealer with me to the park on a hot sunny afternoon and placed it inside my purse. By the end of the day, I realized the concealer has melted and reformed itself in the angle it was placed. Months later when I started to run out, I placed it on the side for it to melt in my car and it had reformed in a tilted angle therefore creating easier access for me to apply. So it's not necessarily bad since the product stills works regardless of the heat and reformation.

Overall, if like the dewy/glowing look and want to lessen the appearance of your dark circles while using a easy to blend concealer then this product is for you! I'm already getting my second one soon.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2014 1:47:00 PM More reviews by isabellayessi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

So is food for the skin and I tried it for last 2 weeks and so far no breakouts and my skin under the eyes is smoother . I apply this alone under the eyes. Like 2 layers around the eyes and doesn't cake . Is really sticky and glossy at the touch but after you move around using a sponge on your hand to control it before applying a little goes a long way . I am so amazed and that I plan to order 2 more in next week so i won't run out and test out the other ones that the line has . I have the blooming which is not to yellow for my warm skin but it blends perfect to match my skin without looking like a racoon eyes.
I ordered mines on ebay and took like 4 weeks to get here . I plan to order it on amazon or with in the USA to get it faster . I can't find it anywhere here in the states so, for now all I can do is order it online which I don't mind because now I know this product works for me . It smells great and is huge pot that I think would last for or until next year because a little goes a long way . I noticed how it covered under eye circles and mines are little deep on one side of my face more than other . I have adult acne which never had until I hit my late 20's and it covers my red acne scars and new acne . I let it dry out for few mins and than apply the mineral power to even skin out . I try not to clog pore more by apply less coverage . I have a glasses mark and covers it too . I don't have tattoos so can't say if it works on that to cover up. But , I can tell you that I think it would since it blends into skin and melts like 2nd skin . My box came with required signature and it was really wet and coming from south korea but once I opened the box and checked what was inside and didnt care anymore about the box being beaten up as long the product was there and safe lol . Diff try it before you waste money on chemcial concealers . Is safe and been in business since the 50's . This will be in my MUST have product daily routine .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/24/2014 10:28:00 PM More reviews by JennyTeoh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have very dark circles and is very visible as my face is pale (yellow skin tone) . This concealer is more of a eye brightener . I would prefer using canmake waterproof concealer than apply skinfood cocealer on top . It's very helpful in brightening the eyes ! ^^ very lightweight too <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2014 7:09:00 PM More reviews by bootyturtle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have hereditary very dark circles and have been using Benefit erase paste for years, but this beats that by far. First of all, the color of the Skinfood concealer (shade #1) is a much better match for me (I'm an NW20). I use the first shade of erase paste, but it's always been a little too peachy. The Skinfood concealer looks nearly the same color as erase paste in the little jar, but it's lighter once you've swiped some out, and much less peachy.

Second, it hardly creases on me. It settles into fine lines a bit, but way less than any other concealers I've used. The pigmentation and consistency are pretty great too. It definitely needs a setting powder, and it does have a pretty strong floral scent, but neither of those things have bothered me. It doesn't get cakey with powder, and I'm not sure it needs it for staying power, but it is shiny. This is the best concealer I've used for under my eyes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/7/2014 7:53:00 PM More reviews by amberlightsss

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought this because of the many good reviews I've read - but somehow this doesn't work for me and that makes me sad.....

My dark circles tend to be more green than blue because of my warm skintone, and I guess that's why this stuff doesn't cover them. It covers a little, but not more than a regular light/medium coverage concealer - Maybelline Fit Me and MAC Pro Longwear covers more than Skinfood. The consistensy is creamy and feels good. It glides on easily. The concealer makes a difference, after applying it under my eyes I look more awake. But it doesn't cover the circles very well. I give it three lippies because it's overall a good concealer, but not good for covering dark, green circles. And I see some people have complained about the smell - it smells almost like nothing. Not a bothering scent at all. Maybe for very very very sensitive noses... :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/6/2014 4:08:00 PM More reviews by ehlisen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This concealer has a brightening effect which I must say is quite good. What I don't like about this is the very waxy/plastic scent that it comes with which makes it very unpleasant. I have used the eye cream under the same series but do not face this problem so it must be specific to the concealer only. The consistency is quite thick and I feel is not suitable for people with oily lids. A disappointment after so much hype about it. I bought this in Korea which totals up to abt $9SGD only. Worth the piece I paid for if purchased in Korea. Not sure if I would repurchase as i really do not like the scent + the thick consistency which is not ideal for oily eyelid

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/14/2014 10:04:00 AM More reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is one of my favorite concealers/correctors. I normally don't have dark undereye circles, but they do pop up around my TOTM. This stuff is so pigmented, I barely tap my finger into the pot and use that to cover my entire undereye area. It is extremely cream, pigmented and blendable.

For the price, you cannot beat this corrector!! The only downside is that it's hard to find. Had to purchase mine off ebay and wait a few weeks for it to arrive, but totally worth it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/14/2014 4:57:00 AM More reviews by Belle84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

OMG! Total HG-product after the first try!

I have seriously dark under-eye circles. It's more genetic than because of lack of sleep (even if that's also applicable at the moment, with two children under 3 years of age) and I have tried tons of concealers.

My problem is that my under-eye area is also superdry, and everything I've previously tried either gets caky after a while og sets into my small lines caused by dehydration. Some have been moisturizing enough (the click-pencils for example), but then it doesn't cover the blueness half as much as it should.

When I first applied this product I said out loud to the mirror ''ooooooooh'' and was instantly blown away. I was afraid - since it's in a jar and jar-based concealers tend to be too drying for my skin - that it would be too dry, but it's so creamy and smooth! The color (I have the lightest color, Blossoming, and I'm a NC20-ish kinda girl) is perfect and it manages to both light and cover perfectly. You don't have to work with it to get it to look nice (I often have to spend a lot of time putting on a liiiiittle bit at a time, and be careful to blend a lot so as it doesn't get caky og settle into my fine lines), just dab it on there and it looks perfect.

The staying power is also fantastic. I always set my concealer (and foundation) with powder anyway, and it lasts all day and night without fading or slipping off the skin.

LOVE IT!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2014 9:08:00 PM More reviews by Kiuura

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I'm using this product for three years and I'm still using it.
I found out this concealer on ebay, I already read a few positive comments about it, and I really love this concealer, I don't buy other pricey concealer anymore.

This is a very thick consistancy, but very blendable, it exists in two shades, the 1 is perfect for me, i have violet darkcircle, i tapped a little with my finger and the darkcircles are completely hidden.

It last longer, sometimes when you put too much, it stays in the little wrinkles of the eye, to last longer and make it less brillant, I use the powder of the same collection.

I recommend highly this product, will definitely but I again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No