Avene Cleanance Exfoliating Mask

4.0

26 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Avene Thermal Spring Water (Avene Aqua), Triethylhexanoin, Kaolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclomethicone, Glycolic Acid, Water (Aqua), Glyceryl Stearate, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyethylene, Ceteareth-33, Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Zinc Gluconate, Bisabolol, Cetrimonium Bromide, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Oil (Cucurbita Pepo Seed Oil), Fragrance (Parfum), Pyridoxine HCL, Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum.


on 5/15/2015 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this mask once a week for a year. I wanted to just stop using it after 8 weeks but since I spent alot of money on it, i just continued using it until it was finished. The smell, texture and form was good. The only problem was that it didn't do what it was suppose to do. The mask was suppose to be exfoliating but it wasn't.

The mask was like a lotion with little exfoliating beads in it. I used the palm of my hands to apply it onto my face. After, I used my fingers to gently rub it in for a few seconds. After, I stopped and waited 5 minutes. After 5 minutes I washed it off with warm water.

My skin was softer every time I used this but didn't make my face smooth or even textured. I have oily acne prone skin. I was on topical acne medication and I puchased this mask as aditional aid to correct and treat my acne since it had glycolic acid AND salycylic acid AND lactic acid. But no such luck. The texture and the acne remained the same and became worse.



on 10/8/2014 12:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my preferred current masks! I was using for years a currently discontinued Clinique mask which I loved (deep cleansing emergency mask), and I've been trying and trying masks from other brands with little success since, till I found this one! This mask is really a miracle and affordable product: you see immediate results with a reasonable price! That's why I give it 5 lippies. I apply it on previously cleaned but dry skin and let settle in for 5 minutes (if I leave it rather longer on my face, it irritates my skin a bit). I wash it off while massaging the tiny bits or white granules you can touch, feeling how it exfoliates. It not only exfoliates but it also absorbs, as it states in the packaging ("Avène Cleanance mask: exfoliating, absorbing"). Thanks to this latter, I really think you may use this on its own as a 2-in-1-product (exfoliant/scrub and mask). When I don't use this and want to indulge me more, I sometimes use another separate exfoliant from Clinique and follow with a Shiseido mask... or I also add this one between the 2. After washing off this mask, my skin looks really clean, fresh, smooth, even, relaxed, healthy and bright. Its consistency is very light and does not tight your skin as other traditional masks. As a plus, packaging is very convenient: small, easy-to-travel with, and very hygienic. I think this product should have better comments, as I feel it is very efficient. If you are acne-prone, don't doubt and try this out! ( PS: I have no conflict of interests!). I'm on my second tube and will repurchase for sure!!!


on 11/27/2013 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This sounds like a TV ad, but if you need something that will give visible results almost immediately, try this. I had no idea what this product was like, but I was buying different things out of desperation. Recently I stopped taking the pill for a few reasons, which I had been put on as a teenager to prevent acne. Now I'm not on it, I have acne on my face (chin mostly), back and on my chest, where it's the worst. The acne on my chin tends to be bigger, more cystic spots (thankfully not too many though), and on my chest it's almost like a rash-dozens of smallish, bright red bumps and blocked pores.

I try and use this at least once a week, but I'll admit if I am having a better skin week, I'll skip it since it's expensive (plus I go through it quickly since I use it on my face AND chest---form a line, gentlemen). The results are always really great. I used it according to the instructions on my face and chest this morning, and washed it off in the shower. It doesn't have a heavy, clay like consistency like a lot of masks, it's quite light. When you rinse it off, It turns into a creamy lather with a bit of a gritty texture. It washes away easily too, so no chunks of green-ish clay in your hair.

Every time, I see improvement in the redness and inflammation of my acne straight out of the shower. Tonight, after work, about 12 hours after the treatment, I went in the shower again. My chest showed the biggest improvement. The aggravated, red pimples don't look like a rash anymore. There's still a few of the bigger pimples left, but they have faded to pink. There's no little pustules and the skin texture is overall smoother-probably because a lot of the blocked pores have been cleared. I would say that compared to last night before the mask, it's about 80% better. My face shows good improvement too, although with the pimples being deeper and larger in that area, the effect isn't quite as dramatic. The reduced inflammation is probably the biggest improvement. My skin feels lovely and soft though, and I can tell that the bigger pimples are coming up to the surface now. Usually when I use this, I find over the following few days, a lot of the bigger pimples will either flatten out and disappear, or come to the surface where they can be extracted and dry up within a day.

I'm seeing a dermatologist in just over a month for what I hope is a proper, long term solution. Until then, this mask helps me gain a little bit of my self-confidence back.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 12:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think it's fairly average to be honest.

I mean it does all the things I want it to do. It goes on well, and dries fast. You need to wet your fingertips in order to work the product in a little bit as it's quite sticky and does not spread onto your face easily.

After 5 mins or so you can wash it off. It washes off easily but whilst it does make my skin feel soft, I notice no difference in the look of my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2013 2:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this mask. For some odd reason I can't buy it in Canada right now, but I assume that will change when our evil, oppressive government changes.
I ordered a 50ml tube from Ebay. It's one of the longest lasting products I've ever tried.
It's very effective at exfoliation. Both chemical and physical. Plus it contains Kaolin Clay. This mask is like, 3 masks in one. AHA+BHA and clay. AND it's moisturizing. So whilst removing dead skin and unblocking congested pores, it is also NOT DRYING the hell out your skin. I think this product is one of Avene's best. I hope they start selling it again in CanaDUH.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Please follow the instruction how to use it! I always do it before go to bed twice a week. And if you can follow with Avene Clearance K moisturizer ( its acids will continue the process of clearing your pores) . This mask takes inflammation out and clears pores around nose, chicks and chin. It does not dry out skin like mud clay masks. Obviously you can not expect from any mask Clearasonic effect. But if to apply generously and rub gently around a spot with a dump fingers and leave it for 30 min, spot will be dry within 24 hours.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2012 1:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i was looking for a chemically clarifying mask, but this turn out to be more liked a scrub mask. The scrub is actually quite rough when i tried to wash it off my face the first time which really suprise me because it states that it's suitable for sensitive skin. The gentle exfoliating scrub from them is by far much much more gentle than this. I have acne prone sensitive which is very reactive towards harsh ;physical exfoliating agent so i'm not a big fan of this mask.


on 2/7/2012 10:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i love it!! the skin after using it is so soft and clear!! i strongly suggest you try it!!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

Bought this as an *extra* with my avene cleanace trial kit range however with the results I've been having from just cleanance K ad diacneal, I found I didn't really need this. SA recommended I use this 2-3 times a week but I didn't wanna aggravate my skin and overdo the exfoliating so I tried this once a week.

Application is easy. Dries fairly quick but I don't like the idea of moisting my fingertips and then gently rubbing off to exfoliate. I feel like if my fingers are too dry, it'll be too harsh, if my fingers are too wet, it won't be as efficient. Perhaps I'm more used to conventional scrubs.

However, I wont mind purchasing again just to have an avene scrub lying around

EDIT : 18/2/12
Second time using the mask after being on Cleanace K ad Diacneal for about a month and I find it stings and feels prickly/itchy upon application. If you have ultra sensitive skin, I don't think this will suit you. I'm guessing the exfoliation regime I've been on recently has made my skin slightly more sensitive so that's why I feel the stings only now and not when I first used it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2012 5:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This mask leaves my skin soft and it doesn't seem aggressive as some scrubs I tried in the past. I also use Cleanance Lotion Antishine and I think both are very good products.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4238 Reviews
Back to Top