October 22, 2014 | 1654 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Hot Tools - Professional Ceramic Flat Iron



image 0

rated 4.6(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2011 2:59:00 PM More reviews by Shoppingisasport

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I actually "borrowed" this from my mom when my Chi that I had for over 2 years stopped working (for the second time. The first time my boyfriend had his electrician friend fix it, and it worked good for another 9 months). But basically my Chi wouldn't turn on anymore and my boyfriend tried to fix it himself by taking it apart and googling how to fix it. Well when he plugged it in after he'd "repaired" it, he almost burnt the house down, so for a few months I did not use a flat iron at all. I started to get used to the way my hair looked without being straightened, and it felt much healthier. But I was at my mom's house one day and I happened to take a shower there and get ready there so I decided to use her Hot Tools flat iron. I was surprised by how well it worked. It worked just as well as the Chi I'd say and if my memory serves me right it's much more affordable than the Chi. I also think the cord on the Hot Tools iron is longer than the one my Chi had but don't quote me on that. Anyway it works really good and since my mom said she never uses it I took it to my house and use it every so often. I still try to not over-do it with the iron because when you flat iron everyday or every time you style your hair, your hair can get really, really fried (even if it appears healthy after you straighten). But I like to use it more now because I just got my hair cut and I got a few more layers in it so I like to smooth out the ends. Also I use it to create waves, you flip your hair up instead of under or straight down when you're running it through a section of hair and it gives you nice beachy waves. Overall I'd say this is a nice alternative to the Chi. We'll see how long it lasts as I am trying, like I said, to not overuse it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2010 6:34:00 PM More reviews by pmburk

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Just for clarification purposes, I bought the Hot Tools T1 Ceramic 1" flat iron. My husband bought me this for Christmas, because I pointed it out to him (on sale at Beauty Brands for $20). I was previously using a Conair Nano 1" Ceramic Tourmaline iron. I've had the Conair for 2 years and wanted to try something new. This Hot Tools iron is the one my stylist uses, so when I saw it on sale for $20 I knew I wanted to try it. First off, the Hot Tools iron is *much* lighter weight than the Conair, so my arm & hand do not get tired as quickly. Also, this iron is shorter in length than the Conair, so somewhat easier to maneuver. It has some type of finger-grip type shaping on the exterior part you hold, so it is very, very easy to handle and maneuver. My hair is extremely coarse and thick, and I used it on the hottest setting of 430. It heated up in about 1 minute, and straightened my hair in one pass. That definitely means less damage if I don't have to keep going over the same spot again & again. The plates have some type of coating on them, and nice rounded edges, so it glides over my hair ridiculosuly easy without catching anything - it also doesn't really "clamp" down heavily, so it is much easier on my hair as well as faster. After ironing my hair looks smooth and sleek. I am very happy with this iron and would definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2010 3:16:00 PM More reviews by Product_Junkie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Overall, this is is a pretty decent flat iron; much better than others that I've tried in the past. I purchased the 3"inch one because they did not have the 1-1/2'inch (which I prefer because I find on my hair, the slimmer the plates, the more volume I have). The iron itself is definitely good quality, however, I also found inconsistent heat. What's more, although I like the ceramic plates as they are very smooth and impart a wonderful shine afterwards, my hair tends to look greasy because I think the plates are coated with oil. So for now I give this straightening iron 4 lippies; maybe the 1 inch will work better. Aside from that though, I really like Hot Tools...hopefully they will introduce more variety....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2009 10:24:00 PM More reviews by megathon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I have naturally pin-straight hair that doesn't hold any kind of style at all and heard that flat irons are sometimes better for that purpose than curling irons. Since I'd never tried a flat iron before, I figured I'd start with an inexpensive one to see if I even liked the effect. For the price and given that it's my first flat iron, I'm pretty happy with this. My hair does hold style with this better than it ever did with a curling iron, which is all I really wanted it for. Also, I use this daily to style my bangs, and it works well for that purpose.
I have noticed some issues with it, however. It seems to heat inconsistently--sometimes it takes longer to heat up than other times, and it doesn't always stay hot for the length of time that it takes me to style all of my hair. I can live with this for now because I don't curl my hair daily, but when this stops working, I'll probably invest in a better iron.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2009 11:08:00 PM More reviews by skylo0406

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have bought more expensive straighters and less expensive ones. This one is my fave by far. I was lucky enough to find it on sale at Ulta one day for 19.99! My cousin said she loved hers so I went to get one when my old one broke. It gets really hot unlike others I have bought in the past but still seems to cause the least amount of damage to my hair. Love it and couldn't live with out it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2009 4:44:00 AM More reviews by Dinahout

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a huge upgrade for me, not necessarily in price because it's so reasonable, but in quality! I was using an over-priced Cricket X2 for years and this Hot Tools CeramicTI 1" flat iron has all the features that I was missing and really needed! I love the floating head technology, it's fairly light weight and the swivel cord works great. Smooth and no pinching. Granted, I don't have to straighten a lot of hair, but I smooth out and shape my naturally straight, chin length hair. Also helps give my hair body, which it lacks. Very pleased!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/13/2009 7:01:00 PM More reviews by goose09

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I had some really awful one before this one which was not ceramic. It would never straighten my hair at all! I would spend at least an hour going over part by part of my hair and NOTHING. So eventually I came across this little tool and it was amazing, life altering product! Even my mother uses it on her hair religiously and she hardly ever believes in home-hair styling. It def provides salon results at home for all under 30 bucks (yes, as usual, I found it one sale - why buy things at full price?!)

I highly recommend all those who are looking for that clean/slim hair look!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/13/2008 8:44:00 PM More reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This flat iron gets my hair super straight down to the root. Ceramic irons are much gentler on the hair because they seal the hair cuticle and help hair retain its natural moisture. It features 10 heat settings and a swivel cord to guard against tangling. I have the 2" iron. Hot Tools irons feature separate heating systems for each plate, and they heat up really fast. My friend styled my hair recently, and she loved it so much that she borrowed it. I have had it for 3 years without any problems. I will always have this iron as part of my beauty routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No