November 23, 2014 | 1903 users online

Fragrances - Christian Dior - Midnight Poison [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 3.7(144 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/2/2008 5:56:00 PM More reviews by WillyWonka

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

    I love Dior fragrances and this is no exception. I don't get the "masculine" or "Vabor Rub" comments. When I first sprayed this I said, "whoa" out loud because it's so different and so intoxicating. VERY sexy--this fragrance is definitely for a confident woman that doesn't want to smell like everyone else.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 6/19/2008 1:42:00 PM More reviews by twistedlogic

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    I have always been so bummed that I enjoyed none of the poison fragrances from Dior, because the bottles are TO DIE FOR. I love them and I wish they'd make a really fresh poison fragrance in an equally gorgeous bottle.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 6/13/2008 10:25:00 AM More reviews by goodlight

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Patchouli and rose. Very in your face.

    The first impression was barf-inducing. I usually like patchouli, but this was a little too much. After 5 minutes I got the strong rose. The drydown is still heavy and sweet, but the feeling of "I want to wash this off" went away.

    I would not dismiss this, though, because on the right person I think this would smell fab. Maybe a ice-blonde dry skinned person? (I am dark-haired and combination skinned):D

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 6/10/2008 10:13:00 AM More reviews by samaraiv

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    absolutely hated the scent, like a smack on the head, way too strong,sorry this one is definitely not for me

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2008 3:32:00 PM More reviews by client9

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I absolutely dislike the initial scent of this! It smells like a cologne my dad wore when I was a kid, it smells very medicinal and herbal to me (probably the patchouli). But after a few minutes and once it starts to dry down this scent is divine. I will put up with the first few minutes of this scent because afterwards this smells so dark and mysterious, which I love! I find myself even reaching for this during the day. The scent has great lasting power too. In terms of the poison scents I like this one second best after hypnotic poison, it is much better then pure poison imo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2008 4:41:00 AM More reviews by Legs11

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Really like this. At first it smells kinda minty but then it smells divine.
    Definately a night fragrance, get lots of compliments on any of the Dior fragrances i wear. They seem to smell really good on me.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 5/8/2008 8:10:00 AM More reviews by Ismellyummy

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I usually love Dior scents, but this one is a no go. I tried this at Sephora and I have to say I thought it smelled like Vics Vapo rub. I don't want to go around smelling like a vaporizer. It did clear my sinuses up though. :)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2008 8:15:00 PM More reviews by WhereAmI

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    If you want to smell like mothballs and medicine, this is for you.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2008 2:33:00 AM More reviews by fpih

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    Like everyone I do get the camphor note. This however is not enough to stop me from liking this perfume. If this particular note was toned down a bit it would certainly be a 5 lippies fragrance for me. The lasting power is perfect, as all with all poisons. I appreciate the fact that it is so much different from any other perfume out there which is not an easy thing to accomplish nowadays.
    To me this is the sexiest of the poisons, after the original. The dark blue bottle certainly conveys its gothic, sexy, dark mood. Not addressed to the younger crowds or the more mature ones, this is the night perfume of a sexy woman between 25 and 45 IMO. Due to its camphor note I do not expect it to be easily appreciated though, so it should be worn from a woman that's sure of herself and doesn't care about the opinion of others.

    Yes, I do like it and will wear it, although I expect the 1oz bottle to last me forever since it takes a particular mood to put it on. UPDATE: I tried this on and Addict yesterday and both my husband and my dad chose MP rather than Addict which they dismissed as too heavy and sweet. I bought the 100ml bottle and I can't get enough of it now, nor does my husband! The more I wear it, the more I like it after all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2008 11:57:00 PM More reviews by livadia

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    This is one of the most striking scents I have tried for a long time! That said, I don't think it is different from its time as fruity-florals with clean-ish patchouli are rather fashionable these days. (Think YSL Elle, and Ms Dior Cherie) I usually cannot stand Patchouli but this one is less earthy and caked with dirt. Instead, the patchouli here is somewhat sanitised, giving it the Vicks Vapor Rub smell that someone commented on below. This really isn't dark or sultry like it is marketed to be, and I find it wearable (in smaller quantities) in the daytime as well. I smell berry (more particularly, blackcurrant) notes, as well as a muted black rose, with a vanilla, semi-ambery dry-down. I have read comments that it is masculine, but the rose and tart fruits makes it feminine to me.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No