January 26, 2015 | 1860 users online

Powder - MAC - Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

rated 3.7(3735 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/4/2014 8:53:00 PM More reviews by bobbi0908

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this powder! The color really matches my skin it does crease under my eye, and my smily lines()... But it doesn't cause me to break out and just in the summer time my face gets a little oily so it feels a little heavy in the heat. I apply it over prep+ prime and concealer and it stays put on a normal day, using bare minerals kabuki brush and it works just fine. I would recommend it and I will be purchasing again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2014 12:44:00 PM More reviews by AnnaNicholeB

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation! I can wear this everyday with no issues and it is so quick to apply. I do not use the sponge, I use a kabuki brush! I always seem to come back to this foundation because no other foundation does what this does for me. I wear NW 45. NO breakouts. Does not melt off my face by the end of the day. Also, on my skin it looks very natural. I prime (prime time) and moisturize (cetaphil) my face first, and then i set my powder makeup with my rosewater spray (or you can use Skindinavia finishing spray) to get rid of the cakey look. I always receive a lot of compliments when wearing this foundation.

I have really weird skin, Most other foundations I cannot use, it causes me to breakout, disappears off my face, or looks really cakey such as studio fix fluid and mufe.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/29/2014 12:09:00 AM More reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation from MAC for $27 & in shade NC45. I don't think I was color matched correctly when I purchased this; I'm probably going to buy NW instead of NC next time. I actually wound up liking this foundation a lot more than I thought I would. In reality, I like it more than Studio Fix Fluid. If you're like me & have oily skin, you'll probably the fact it is obviously both powder & foundation in one step. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact it truly offered the full coverage of a liquid foundation & the all-matte finish. This in fact leaves my skin matte, not powdery. Its long-wearing is important to me because having to stop every 2 hours for retouching or reapplication is one of my biggest pet peeves.

After correcting & priming my skin, I apply this foundation with a sponge, which is the one that was provided with the company; I didn't throw it away! I think it applies easier & looks better if I apply it with that as opposed to a brush. I set my foundation with Fix+. Because I have oily/very oily skin, this oxidizes & changes color—darker. If you want more coverage, building too much powder on your skin can look thick & overdone. Though I don't wear it as frequently as I do some of my other foundations, Studio Fix Powder is one of my staple makeup products. This is my go-to makeup on mornings where I'm rushing, & it's what I wear on mornings I can't be bothered with liquid makeup. This is the best quality powder foundation I have & it's worth the money in my opinion.


~*~Random Tips~*~
1. If you have dry or flaky skin, there's your issue; powder is not for dry skin.
2. Don't wear it with liquid foundation; you set foundation with foundation?
3. Less is more; if you look caked, you might have put applied way too much.
4. Fix+ afterward does help if you think it looks too thick or dry on your skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/28/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by shannonstyles

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wear shade NW45. In my opinion this powder gives great coverage,but does look cakey and powder like....maybe because its a powder:')Overall I would like to buy it again but would like to try other powder foundations first

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2014 7:12:00 PM More reviews by srxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG powder! I have a dry skin but makeup tends to go patchy, not with this! I use a liquid foundation then very lightly dust over with a fluffy brush and my make up stays in place all day with no primer. You can build it up easily and it lasts ages, usually have to buy once a year. Would definitely recommend, it's an all rounder!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2014 3:07:00 AM More reviews by Coraldc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased the MAC Studio Fix powder foundation about 2 weeks ago in shade NW10, and have been using it on an almost daily basis since. I use Loreal Lumi Magique primer underneath. Using a primer with this product definitely makes a difference to how long the foundation will last, and the type of finish achieved.

You get 15g of product which is pretty much the same as most other brands of pressed powders.

PROS:
Provides full coverage with a matte finish if applied with a powder puff.

If applied using a powder brush I get medium coverage (which is buildable), that looks more natural and is more of a satin finish. I think I achieve the satin finish because of the type of primer I'm using underneath. This is my favourite way to wear this product as I like looking a bit more natural.

When applied with a brush it feels really light on the skin, like you're not wearing makeup at all.

The packaging is quite nice - a black compact with a mirror and a space underneath to store a powder puff. It's nothing out of the ordinary though.

I have sensitive skin and this product doesn't cause me any discomfort. I have extremely fair skin, and this shade matches me perfectly. It covers up redness quite well too.

CONS:
This is an expensive product to purchase in New Zealand ($60 from the MAC counter), although not as expensive as some other high end brands (e.g. Christian Dior or YSL).

If I don't use a primer underneath then this foundation doesn't last very long at all, although this is remarkably improved when using primer (it will last all day at work 8+ hours with the use of a primer).

VERDICT:
Overall I'm very happy with this product, and it's a great step up from the products I have used previously (Rimmel stay matte pressed powder, and Natio pressed powder which were both too dark for my fair skin). Although these products are quite a bit cheaper than MAC, I'm happy to pay more to get a shade that matches my complexion and a product that looks more natural and feels better on my skin.

I would re-purchase and recommend to my friends.

EDIT: Of course because this is a powder foundation, on days when I have dry patches this product will make those dry patches stand out and look worse (for me this is in the middle of my forehead, the tip of my nose and on my chin). Using an exfoliator regularly is important for me to ensure a flawless application every time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/24/2014 5:04:00 PM More reviews by Gislumy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Product kept me matte but also caused me to breakout. Gave it to my sister and she uses it without complaint. Guess everyone reacts differently to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/24/2014 3:14:00 PM More reviews by lolita97

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Okay so this has the best coverage and finish i've ever gotten from a powder! it looks silky and smooth and covers amazingly! it also lasts me 6-7 hours even though i have oily skin. but it breaks me outttt ughhhh! i don't use it as consecutively now but i still can't be withought it because it looks so good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/23/2014 4:59:00 PM More reviews by Orlacam1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Absolute HG of foundations for heavy cover. I'm a makeup artist and I will not do a job without this compact! I've used it for years and I have used many shades. It's excellent for wedding makeup as it stays put and is easy to touch up. 2 pro tips: use a primer and don't use the sponge (that's just dirty). Put it on with a good kabuki or mineral brush and build it up as required.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/23/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by Leialilly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Great full coverage powder foundation.
Huge colour range as you would expect from Mac, I am NC 20 - 25 in Macs liquid foundations but I use a 30 in this as I was advised it comes up a little lighter.
What I love this for is an evening foundation as it has no spf it gives zero flashback and always makes my skin appear really flawless in photos. Being a powder it also keeps the skin matte and it's so portable I can touch up with it more easily.

I apply with a damp real techniques sponge and it gives a really full coverage either alone or on top of liquid foundation. It's also nice used over a tinted moisturiser with a fluffy brush for a lighter look.

I do prefer to use a powder or foundation with spf in the daytime and I also think this can look too heavy in natural light if you apply too much but daytime use is not what I love it for, its just my holy grail of products for when I need my skin to look flawless and picture perfect!! I will repurchase forever!!!




Is this review helpful? Yes No