April 20, 2014 | 1649 users online

Treatments - Extra Strength Hair Color Remover - Color Oops



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.9(183 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/21/2011 10:06:00 PM More reviews by happifayce

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I had dyed my hair from bleached blonde to a very rich deep mahogany red. I really liked it, but I missed my blonde after a while. :( I purchased Color Oops and I must say, it did an amazing job! It didn't give me the bleach color back, but it gave me a very beautiful strawberry blonde. After the first application, I really didn't like the results, and the packaging says you can use it up to 4(?) times. I did it a second time and that did it. It's beautiful and I highly recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/21/2011 1:49:00 PM More reviews by jaxxxon12

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've done my fair share of hair coloring. I've done everything from blacks to pinks to blondes and as you can imagine, my hair did not like it at all. Whenever I'd change my hair color, I'd have to go through the damaging pain of color stripping and, in extreme color changes, bleaching. The damage I've done to my hair in the past is repulsive, and even silly, now that I've found Color Oops. I've just used it for the first time today, and it turned my red/ashy hair (the result of a bleach wash gone awry) into a very muted strawberry blonde. Normally with bleach or color strippers, it turns into a bright red or vibrant orange, but not with this product! Needless to say, I am completely amazed. Just make sure you follow the directions to a T and I suggest a deep conditioning and then a protein filler treatment afterwards, just to be safe.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/11/2011 11:55:00 AM More reviews by ashybrun

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm sorry but absolutely wasted my time with this. I am a natural light blonde. I have dyed my hair brown for the past year. I used this and not only did it smell horrible, i DIDN'T WORK. It got my hair a tiny bit lighter. THAT'S IT!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/8/2011 1:21:00 PM More reviews by deliberateangel

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This is an awesome product that has fixed many of my hair coloring mistakes. It's taken layers of old dark hair color from my hair and removed black hair dye. The layers of old hair dye lifted and my hair turned orange so I had to color again. But then again, the instructions say that can happen. I once accidently dyed my hair black using dark brown hair dye and when I used color Oops right away, it removed the black and left my hair brown after (the color before). The instructions do say that it works best to use right away after a coloring accident and that you need to follow the instructions. So.......
This product must be used EXACTLY AS LISTED IN DIRECTIONS TO WORK. So, don't be lazy and READ THE INSTRUCIONS AND FOLLOW THEM.
Yes, it smells really nasty, kind of like chemicals and rotten eggs. Yes, it's runny and you have to apply it fast. Yes, you have to rinse you hair repeatedly in the shower for a long time.
But, it's cheap, easy to find and pretty easy to use. It did dry my hair a bit but I didn't experience any damage using this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/1/2011 2:18:00 PM More reviews by DrSam802

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Alright, so to be honest, I was very skeptical of this product, but I also kind of desperate. I dye my hair every few months, experimenting with colors and what-not, and maintain very healthy hair. I had just dyed my hair a 'DARK CHOCOLATE BROWN', and my hair was jet black. So black that it had that bluish tint to it. Horrid. I did NOT want to bleach my hair and leave it dried out and brittle, so looking for another option I found Color Oops! The box didn't really say anything about black dyes, which made me nervous, but I bought it anyways and applied it after carefully reading the pamphlet, and waited a few mintues, until I saw that my hair had actually changed! From pitch black, to a bright reddish color that it had been before. This excited me, and so I went and rinsed out for the whole 20 minutes.. And voila! At first it was a VERY light pinky strawberry blond, like ultra blond with pinky tints.. Which scared me, but then I noticed the flaw.. The shower cap that came with the product didn't cover in front of my ears, the 'sideburn' area, and so now I have two big ugly black spots.. Also, I thought the color would stay light like that, but when I woke up the next morning my hair was back to normal, at a bright reddish blond/brown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2011 10:26:00 PM More reviews by Suesaroo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

In short, I have red hair, tried a new product (new to me), Clairol Natural Instincts Medium Auburn semi-permanent, hair turned magenta. Read nearly every review on Color oops and decided that I'd try it. Followed directions diligently, did strand test at 8 minutes, roots are very light, similar result from another post, began washing and rinsing at this point, washed and rinsed for 20 minutes, yes take a radio in the bathroom, time yourself. THE SMELL IS NOT THAT BAD. Hair is still wet giving it an hour or so to see where I'm at. I am hoping to at least be at a better place to recolor rather than the magenta mess I had. be back in an hour. Okay, just a cautionary word, if you have a great deal of gray anticipate having to recolor immediately. : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/16/2011 8:55:00 AM More reviews by hillaryhansen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was very disappointed. I have naturally blonde hair, and I dyed it a brown/auburn color. I liked it for awhile, but I just wanted my blonde hair back so I decided to buy this. I fully expected it to work, since it says so on the box, and even has pictures to support it's claim. I did everything exactly as it says to in the directions. My fingers and toes were very pruned from being in the shower for a little over 25 minutes! I got out, expecting my hair to be blonde again, maybe a little darker than it normally is, but that wasn't the case! My hair was maybe a shade or two lighter than it was when it was dyed, but definitely not blonde. I don't even know what color this is, but it is not blonde. The product took out some color, but left a majority of it in still. And the smell is HORRIBLE!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2011 4:13:00 PM More reviews by ceshic

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am and have always been blonde. I decided to become more blonde, and bleached my hair..BIG MISTAKE...So I did some research and read that if you want to put color back in your hair, you had to dye it red, then put the light blonde back on. So on these suggestions, that is what I did. I started with a dark red color, and it turned out just OK..I almost left this color, but decided to put a natural blonde on top of that..BIG MISTAKE! I looked like I had the mange...terrible..So this is when I decided to go downtown AGAIN and purchase Oops Hair Color removal... I was desperate!! Well, to my surprise, all the color came out, and my hair looks great!! It is a little daker that I usually have it, but what I have put my poor hair through, It is fabulous! Needless to say, I will not be coloring it red ever again!!! My hair is a little damaged from all the processing, but I need a hair cut anyways! Oops Really works!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/1/2011 1:58:00 PM More reviews by charliendave

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

One word - AMAZING. I bought one box just to see what would happen with my jet black hair that I have repeatedly dyed over the past year and was getting bored with.
I had very low expectations that anything would happen.

First thing, the smell - very mild, much lighter then regular hair dye. Its the consistency of water not thick at all, easy to apply. After soaking my hair I put on the cap and waited the 20 minutes.
I was very disappointed when rinsing my hair to see that the water was running clear. Until I actually looked at my hair, it was reddish brown! I do think you should follow the directions and rinse, rinse, rinse. I liked the color it came out and haven't re-dyed my hair so I dont know how that would go, but with just the color oops extra strength I know it did not damage my hair at all. I am VERY happy with the results. Would recommend to anyone.

My hair
Color - Jet black, (re-dyed q-6 months for over a year).
Type - Fine, Thin hair.
Length - 2 inches below shoulder length.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/17/2011 4:33:00 PM More reviews by ajlayton

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have naturally blonde hair, I just wanted to brighten up the hair and purchased a blonde dye. After 20 mins my hair turned ginger red. And stayed that color. Though everyone liked the color, I didnt to be a red, a friend at work told me about "Color Oops". I tried it and it worked, brought my hair back to the natural blonde color. I followed directions and it does work, where people have issues I believe is when they do not shampoo and rinse the hair for 15-20 mins after the initial 20 mins of having the solution on the hair and a additional 5 mins as required. I would purchase this again!!!! Best money though a little high but cheaper then having to have my hair fixed by a shop and it didnt dry out my hair.....

Is this review helpful? Yes No