January 25, 2015 | 1679 users online

Blush - TheBalm - Hot Mama

rated 4.5(210 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 3:30:00 PM More reviews by LolaMay

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

PROS
**Nice pigmentation, but can be a little sheer depending on the brush, but buildable
**Beautiful coral
**Nice golden glow, but no obvious shimmer
**Adorable packaging!!

CONS
**Pricey, I was able to buy this for half the price at TJMaxx!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/27/2011 2:55:00 PM More reviews by sara942

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I found this blush at my local TJ Maxx for $9.99. Given all the hype, I figured I'd try it...and I was a little underwhelmed. It's a pretty, coral-y pink with a light dose of gold shimmer but it's nothing special on my medium-light, creamy middle eastern complexion w/ yellow undertones. It's harder and less pigmented than other blushes by theBalm like Frat Boy (my fave for a coral flush!) and Down Boy (a pale baby pink that still manages to show up well on my skin). It's a decent blush, especially for only $10 at TJ Maxx, but it's not my favorite.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/11/2011 6:03:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I snagged this blush at my local Marshalls so if you have one close to you, check it out! Hot Mama is a beautiful baby pink with gold shimmer. I absolutely adore it and definitely consider it a NARS Orgasm dupe. It has a velvety texture and applies with a dewy finish. For me, its perfect when I want that glowy look. I use this blush fairly often and I think its completely worth the money. I haven't used it as a shadow because pinks tend to make my eyes look irritated, but I might try it. It has 7.8 g of product which is a ton especially compared to a NARS blush which only has 4.8 g Also I find the packaging adorable :) For me, my choice is clear!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2011 3:38:00 PM More reviews by sm91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is one of those blushes I just keep going back to! I absolutely love it, and have hit pan on about 3 different packages, and still continue to use it. It's gorgeous on all skintones. Its a very peachy colour, alot more orange to it than a coral would have. However, the pigment is incredible! A little bit goes a long way. I also love the slight sparkle to it, because it adds a nice glowy warmth to the skin. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2011 12:08:00 AM More reviews by mollywonderland

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this blush! It's golden peach color gives an ethereal look. Gives me glowy fairy like cheeks when I where it. Love!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/20/2011 4:13:00 AM More reviews by recklessrei

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG. A flush pink with undertones of gold and light brown. Easy to apply, easy to layer, slightly darker than Benefit's Dandelion and not as colourful as Nars Orgasm. My only criticism is that if you layer it it can sometimes look a bit shiny in the light but overall it is an awesome blush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/23/2011 2:12:00 PM More reviews by swtladyy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So I had been eyeing this blush for some time now and every time I went in to my local Sephora to buy it, they were always out of it. However, my co-worker gave me this from her collection as she no longer uses it since she bought a similar discontinued shade by Smashbox. I must say that I LOVE this blush. It's nice and creamy and goes on smoothly. It gives your face a nice, natural-looking glow. Glad that my co-worker gave it to me. I will most definitely buy this again when I run out! I might even buy this for my mom as she's a blush junkie too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/14/2011 6:11:00 PM More reviews by kahillrn

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Yes, yes and yes. Love, love and love this blush. This is the first product from theBalm that I've owned. Oh, how I love her, she's a gentle, soft, peach w/pink undertones. She gives a lit-within glow. She makes me happy to look at her adorable packaging (get's me every time). Think, Benefit goes Stila. I know, I'm sure that's blasphemy in some cultures, but I can't help it. That's what it reminds me of. A touch of kitsch, a touch of girly-girl. The color is comparable to Nars Orgasm, just more peachy, less glitter, more of a slight golden shimmer. Not vulgar, not harsh, just right. 0.25oz, larger than Orgasms 0.16oz, so way more for your money. If Benefit Coralista and Nars Orgasm had a baby, Hot Mama would be her name.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2011 5:28:00 PM More reviews by GPD

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Hm. I'm not entirely sure I *LOVE* this. I like the idea that it doubles as a blush and eyeshadow, but I feel like this totally accentuates any bumps and dry patches on my cheeks. It also makes my cheeks look a tad sunburnt on my NC20-25ish skin. It is a lovely shade though...kind of like a tanner/bronze-ier sister of NARS orgasm...and perhaps a tad more coral as well. I do like the shot of subtle gold shimmer in this as well, though I think that's what contributes to the accentuation of any flaws. I definitely think I will look into other Thebalm products as the packaging is cute and I like how there is a mirror in the compact and the pigmentation/quality is pretty good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2011 6:29:00 PM More reviews by minasdecobre

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm a total blush junkie, but this one just gotta be one of my favourites EVER! It's the kind of product that just makes the whole look for me. It's amazing. When I wanna do a very clean and simple look I use Hot Mama both for blush and eye shadow. I put HM on the outer part and/or in the crease, and pair it with either MAC's Blanc Type or Naked Lunch on the lid up to the eyebrow. I find that it just ties the look together when using the same shade for both cheeks and eyes.

Also, I don't feel the need for a higlighter when using Hot Mama as a blush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No