November 27, 2014 | 1383 users online

Makeup Brushes - MAC - 188 Small Duo Fibre Face brush



image 0image 1

rated 4.3(214 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2010 9:56:00 AM More reviews by Kath09

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

This brush is great for applying blush but I prefer using it for bronzers as it gives the perfect hollow cheek look without overdoing it. It's so soft and applies the right amount of product. I recently also started using it to apply foundation primers (mousse formula) and it works perfectly, I actually prefer using this than my fingers now. But I'd probably purchase the 187 for that in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/2/2010 4:22:00 AM More reviews by doris98

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love it for concealer and cream blush

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2010 6:06:00 PM More reviews by khelm490

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love this brush- its worth the money. You can use it for foundation, highlight, blush- it works great!! I use it for foundation everyday it sheds a little bit but not much and it has excellent application.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/28/2010 6:45:00 AM More reviews by swallydbrat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This brush is fantastic. I truly did not believe that a brush could effect the application results of my blush and highlighters, but IT REALLY DOES.

This brush applies blush, bronzers and highlighters so naturally, regardless of the product you are using. It allows the makeup to look as if it was a part of your natural face. It is a great brush that can be used for many purposes.

( It is expensive though - but worth it for the quality and finishing results it gives.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/25/2010 7:10:00 PM More reviews by hodgam8

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

This brush is absolutely worth the price. Its so soft and applies everything like a dream! I've been primarily using it for my highlighters, but its also great for application of foundation because you get such great control because of the small size. This brush is also perfect for creme blushes. Its definitely a must have in any brush collection

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/25/2010 2:51:00 PM More reviews by xxchinadoll

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This was one of my first M.A.C. brushes and it's something I would buy over and over again despite the cost. I like this better then the 187 because I find that not only do I have more control with my applications but I use less of my foundation (since the 187 tends to suck up all my foundation!). This brush is a must have!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/23/2010 7:11:00 PM More reviews by Calicupcake

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have 2 one for using with highlighter and the other to use when I put on Studio Sculpt.. I heart this brush it blends well and as long as you keep it clean it should not shed..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2010 7:08:00 PM More reviews by Kdoll222

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I got this at MAC, and later found it at a CCO for ten dollars cheaper and got another:) This is sooo great for everything on the face, bronzing, foundation, powder, blush, highlighter,and all. I think it provides a flawless, lighthand apllication and is very versatile. For facebrushes all you need is this andmaybe a powder brush for heavier application, but its just so great! Just wash and condition your brushes before you use to ensure they last a long time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2009 4:22:00 PM More reviews by malinen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

At first I regretted that I bought this brush. I couldn't get my foundation (Mac Studio Sculpt) to look good and it shredded like crazy. After experimenting a bit, all I can say is that I love this. This and the MAC 217 are my two favorite brushes. The MAC 188 is my staple when it comes to applying foundation. At first I had some trouble with cakyness when using this, but since I've started using less foundation on the brush it works amazingly well. I use it in swirling or stippling motions depending on my mood and the foundation. My MAC Studio Sculpt applies the best when stippling, but the MAC Face & Body foundation works just as well when applied in swirling motions. Despite being made for foundations it works amazing when used to apply blushes. I just pick some color up with the brush and then swirl it on my cheeks. It looks SO natural!

A common complain when it comes to this brush is that it's hard to clean. I always use my oil cleanser to clean the brushes I use together with cream or liquid products and it works great. The bristles are WHITE after using it and the brush looks brand new!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2009 12:17:00 AM More reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love my 188. It's so soft, and the perfect size for my small face. I use it for blush and highlighter, and it's especially useful for very pigmented products. It stands up very well to washing, and hasn't shed at all. I think it's worth the price because I don't know of another duo fiber brush that's this size, and I can't really replace it with any other brush I own. I exchanged the 129 to get this one, and I'm so happy I did.

Is this review helpful? Yes No