August 1, 2014 | 1747 users online

Concealers - Laura Mercier - Secret Concealer



image 0image 1

rated 3.8(438 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 10:40:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I got this in the color 1 even though I am medium skintoned. I like the undereye area really bright. It is a salmon color to cancel out darkness and has light reflecting pigments to really brighten the undereye area. When I went to purchase this I compared this to the Dior eye brightener on one eye, but this one looked way better. You could barely tell the dior eye had anything on. I use this in conjunction with a light color concealer sometimes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/13/2011 10:26:00 AM More reviews by LipglossVIP

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I picked up Laura Mercier's Secret Concealer while on the hunt for a new concealer. I was looking for something light that would cover semi-noticeable circles under my eyes. Basically something creamy and hydrating that would lighten my undereyes in order to give my whole face a more polished feel. I'm Italian/Irish with freckles. My tinted moisturizer is the lightest shade (Light Nude). I picked up the light shade (01) of this product based on the advertising of the "Flawless face". However, it had an orange based tint when I put it on. I know that peach shades help fade darker circles - but this was orange. Maybe my circles are not dark enough or perhaps my skin tone is too light for this line of makeup. This concealer was clearly too dark. I returned it and picked up Benefit's Boi-ing in 01! It seems to be more appropriate for my skin color. I'm disappointed but glad Sephora has a generous return policy, as I returned this only a week after purchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/4/2011 7:08:00 PM More reviews by suzyQ3

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My main reason for buying this product was to cover my semi-dark circles under my eyes (I don't have severe dark circles but just enough that my eyes look tired). I bought the lightest shade and I wear LM Silk Creme Foundation in Beige Ivory. Before I use the concealer, I always make sure to apply a moisturizer to my under eye area. Then I use a concealer brush to spread the concealer from the inner corner of my eye on out half way across my eye. Then I dab the area with my finger to blend it in. The concealer is very easy to spread and I use a generous amount of it. It does not look heavy or really that I am wearing concealer at all. I've tried setting it with powder and I think that's when it starts to feel heavy...so I prefer just using the concealer itself. It does have a kind of dewy look but I find it flattering. The product also has staying power. It does not wear off on me after a full day's work. I do notice that it does settle into my one wrinkle under my eye, but after wiping it off the first time, I don't have that issue anymore in the day. Overall, it perks up my eyes and makes my face look creamier and better. I think it does a really good job of opening up the eyes and hiding the dark circles that I have. Lastly, even though the packaging is very small, it will last a long, long time. I would consider repurchasing for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/29/2011 9:42:00 PM More reviews by nycpari

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Other

NC44 for reference.

I really love this product however I think I have #3 which is way too light and has pink undertones where as I need it to have a bit more yellow undertones. Since buying this I think the line has expanded. I really love mixing this concealer with a warmer one though, preferably the one by nars. It can give an almost too dewy look however so I like to set it with Mac's MSF in Natural.

I'll have this shade around until I either find another concealer that will do everything I need, or I'll buy this in another shade if it actually matches my skin tone! It's seriously the best formula I've tried though, so if you have pink undertones it'll work wonders.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/16/2011 4:43:00 AM More reviews by sheepy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this concealer after reading some really good reviews about it. When I first applied it in the store, it looked good so I bought it (#5). Well I was using it for about 2 months when I finally realized that it doesn't look very good anymore, and the color match just isn't right, nor is it concealing my undereye circles. My eyes actually look older and tired when I apply this, I think I just wanted it to work bad so I was in denial and didn't realize it sooner. I'm back to using Bobbi Brown concealer in "golden", which does look good and makes my eyes look alive and refreshed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2011 8:52:00 AM More reviews by ukseabiscuit

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have been using this concealer for 6 months and I have shade 2&3. I have a purple like dark circle. so I have to use eye concealer everyday. the texture of this concealer bis creamy and only need a thin layer to cover my dark circle and do not cause a heavy fine line. I do like this concealer but still looking for a better one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2011 2:30:00 AM More reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for almost two weeks now, so I think I can review it fairly well. The SA in Sephora told me though I'm fair, the 2nd shade would work best because as she showed me, the first is so peachy. Yes you need peach to correct purple-y circles like mine, but not that peach in my opinion. I also never like concealer under my eyes to look lighter than the rest of my face.

This looks thick and is somewhat, but spreads easily enough. Covers very well for me. I have very, very dry under eye skin. I have a medical condition that causes my tear glands and all moisture producing glands to die. I have very dark hereditary circles, plus my medical condition causes the skin around the eyes to often be irritated, and is almost always pink, even reddish. I have hated most every concealer I've tried. True I require a lot in one given my needs, but most fall so short its ridiculous.

I want to add each time I've worn this I have worn the LM Secret Brightening Powder over it. I did an experiment and tried three other concealers I had to see if the "magic" was merely the powder. Indeed all three other concealers looked a world better with the powder over them, and also stayed all day without creasing, but over this concealer and something great happens. I have been told how young/rested etc I look each time I've worn it. I get mistaken for younger than I am, I have a recent pic in my profile, but this really takes even more time off my eye area than usual. I have truly over compensated over the years trying to insure that my lack of a natural moisture barrier any longer, nor producing any natural moisture in the amounts I should, and in some areas, not at all, doesn't leave me as haggard as it could, and I've been sort of terrified seeing how this condition leaves people. Its a pain in every other way imaginable, but I never want to look as bad it sometimes makes me feel. I'm not saying this is miraculous, but its very, very good cause it does what it claims too and very, very well.

On its own without the powder it looks okay, as I said, it covers, but POW, add the powder and I feel more confident about how I look. I apply this with a slightly dampened concealer brush from Eco Tools. If there is an even better application method, let me know ladies (and gents!)!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2011 12:37:00 AM More reviews by flauros

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Been using this product for a very long time. I don't feel that it covers my very dark circles hardly at all. It is very creamy but cakes up on me when I powder. By mid-day, it's so noticeable that I try to rub it off in the bathroom. But it's better than no concealer... so I'm just trying to use it up at this point so I can get something else. Not recommended.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/13/2011 10:20:00 PM More reviews by retrotrash82

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I feel like a lot of the other reviewers stated my feelings about this particular concealer perfectly: it's a love/hate relationship. I have very, very dark circles under my eyes that never go away (damn you genetics!), so I'm constantly on the hunt for something that will help to cover them up. I bought this about a year ago when I first got into LM cosmetics, mainly because I was so impressed with the Secret Camouflage and Mineral Powder; I figured this would be pretty good, too. At first, I really liked this concealer. It's creamy, very pigmented, and easy to blend. It covered my circles pretty decently. As time went on, I started to like this concealer much less. It tends to settle and cake very easily, and is very noticeable if you use even the tiniest bit too much powder. It also wrecks my brushes in the sense that it made them very greasy and matted. I had to clean very thoroughly between each use just to keep application of this smooth. As time went on, I realized that while this concealer blends out very well, it also wears off very well. I hit pan on this recently, so I'd like to think I gave this a good try. It's just... I don't know. It's a toss-up. This is very creamy, blendable, and does a pretty good job, but at the same time is very hard to work with because of those same qualities. Like I said... LOVE/HATE this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/11/2011 8:59:00 PM More reviews by katsey

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I really liked this concealer. I use it for my under eyes as it's nice and creamy. All I do is take my finger dip it in once and its enough for both my under eyes. I don't find that it crepes too much and it does a good job concealing. The sa said I could use it for my face, but I like keeping it exclusively for my eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No