Sheer Cover Sheer Cover - Mineral Foundation

3.0

349 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

2011 Reformulation: Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 12.00%. Inactive Ingredients: Boron Nitride, Bisabolol, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Lauroyl Lysine. May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499


on 2/28/2011 1:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Do not recommend if you have dry skin. If your skin texture is smooth, this sits very nicely on the skin. However, you really have to experiment with the colors to find a match, which considering the fact that you are mail ordering it, is kind of a problem, especially when you basically HAVE to start with the introductory package, which is not suited to pale people.

The customer support people took over 4 months to processes my refund.

I actually like their makeup much better than Bare Minerals, but both contain Bismuth Oxychloride which can aggravate rosacea and sensitive skin, despite the natural claim, something I didn't learn until after I'd been wearing it far too long.

I reccomend t his if you have relatively smooth skin and want something with a nice texture to even out your skin tone. I do NOT reccomend it if you have very sensative skin and/or dry skin.

This past winter this makeup did NOT wear well for me at all, despite a primer that usually works quite nicely. The powder creased and faked in any dry patches throughout the day.



on 2/1/2011 4:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this mineral foundation for the last 3 years and absolutely swear by it. I have never felt the need to use another liquid or cream foundation since I bought this product. This product is inexpensive and also lasts. I dont think I'll ever use another foundation.


on 1/11/2011 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used to use this a few years ago and swore by it - until i went back to MAC Studio Fix. The reason for going back to MAC Studio fix was because i found that the coverage with sheer cover was not enough for evening/going out/occasion wear. It was lovely for daytime wear and i must say i never broke out. I used the tan shades - Golden and Almond - and found they worked really nicely together to give me a perfect colour match. The only downsides for me were the cost and also the fact that it didn't help to keep my oily skin matte. I remember putting it on in the morning and being shiny within a few hours :-( i continued to use it because of the excellent colour match though - until i had to attend a family wedding! Then i reverted back to MAC Studio fix and find this gives me all i need - excellent colour match in the C shades, oil control and buildable coverage. I think sheercover would suit you if you are happy with sheer/moderate coverage and want a near perfect colour match.


on 12/18/2010 9:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. I think the colours you get are great as you get 2 different pots if you order it off the proper website.
I am not sure on the moisteriser i did however use all of it as i think the powder goes on better.
I think the colour (i get lite, i think its nude and bisque, not deffonate lol) is great it goes well with my fake tan, it always looks flawless and my make up looks its best in photos when i use sheer cover.
The only downer is the price, to get a decent amount you need to buy the deluxe kit which i think is about £60 pound it is worth the money but as a student i ant afford this yet ill be buying some if i get cash for xmas.
i would defo buy this product again but i wouldnt wear it in the winter as i feel powders dry your skin out and winter is when my skin is most vulnerable.
xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2010 7:26:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As a die-hard Bare Minerals user, this line finally got to me and I just had to try the kit. That was over a year ago and I've been re-ordering and buying new products every three months. They also send generous gifts with the orders. The only thing I did NOT like was the mascara. Anyway, this mineral foundation is much sheerer, and more natural-looking than Bare Minerals. It also has a better match to my skin color without mixing (Nude). I apply it with BE's kabuki brush, over the Sheer Cover moisturizer that comes with the kit. It looks a little bit dry at first, but after it settles in has the perfect natural finish. And it stays that way all day, even in the summer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 10:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the sheer cover on a whim one day, i had seen it a 100 times and just wanted to try it for myself. Like others it was 30 and i thought it wasa great price and was excited waiting for it. wellll let me tell ya...i got a bill in the mail a couple weeks later for 70 and some change. i think they trick you into buying and leave out the fact that you are buying a 100$ kit not a 30$ like advertised. soo i used the concealer, which i do use everyday, and i love it. i use my fingers and on days with more time the concealer brush. those two things are great, and thats why my rating is what it is. I did the whole mineral brushing thing and i feel it was powdery and i looked pale, even with the bronzer, that is wayyyy too shimmery for everyday use. i am a bronzer freak, not all over but i use everyday for a glow. This one was soo ridiculously shimmery, it makes a mess. I thought i looked all one color, instead of being red around the nose and what not, but it was just "too" light of a color. I got the medium kit, so i think the dark would have been too dark. this was during the summer months now that it is fall maybe it will work better. As the reviews before me, you do start out looking pretty good, flawless with the concealer and minerals but after a couple hours you do look slick and it just looks like you have been behind a stove all day and have no makeup on when in reality you put in all this effort, lol. oh and i wanted to tell the girls before me that you can buy sheer cover at the "Proactiv" stands in malls. they sell sheer cover products, due to them both being a product of gunthy renker. So you can get just one piece of the kit. well all in all i have the travel concealer in my bathroom and the other one in my makeup bag, the minerals are in a closet and when i think of it, ill use them.


on 10/12/2010 4:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've had my starter (full size) Sheer Cover for about a year to two years I can't remember, and have not yet gone through my mineral foundation! I don't use much, and of course sometimes I don't wear it, but I literally use it everyday.

I have had to recently buy a new concealer. The concealer is so damn good! It's creamy, covers well and doesn't fade too fast.

The foundation itself works well for my normal/oily skin and I think it is doing a better job than my very recent purchase of Revlon's Colorstay. I have been using them together, setting the Revlon with Sheer Cover, but after the Colorstay is gone, I might just stick with the Sheer Cover.


on 10/9/2010 6:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love this product! I don't wear a lot of makeup, and this feels like I'm not wearing any. My powder lasted a long time, maybe that's why it didn't seem cakey and lasted forever. I have psoriasis on my face and this product works really well for me; it seems to soothe my skin. I receive a lot of compliments when I wear Sheer Cover.
One thing about the pricing...they send you a 3-month supply and the price is about $30 a month. They will send you a new supply every 3-months unless you change your shipping frequency. The minimal is 2 times a year. The kit that I'm currently getting is $109.95 and has cleanser, moisturizer, primer, 2 powder foundations, duo concealer, bronzer, a mascara, a compact w/ blush, eyeshadows, and glosses, and some brushes. I wear make-up everyday, but am a teacher and don't re-apply because I don't have time or motiviation. The amount that they give me is more than enough. I'm always touching my face through-out the day, but it seems to hold up well.


on 9/25/2010 2:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is terrible! My face looked like I had caked it on. Very unnatural, nothing like the commercial.


on 8/13/2010 5:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Ok ...I purchased the Sheer Cover introductory kit (30 day supply) in light for $29.95 US. Thought this was a fantastic deal for all the products contained in this kit and couldn't wait to use it. Seven days later, I received my order opened it up and got started.


First I used the:

Cleanser 2 oz- cleansed well enough left skin feeling soft but nothing special.


Moisturizer 1.0 oz - felt more like a plain sunscreen, stung a little, does not contain any real anti aging or good
moisturizing ingredients such as peptides, retinols, etc.



Concealer (light/medium) - applied a little, nice light creamy texture, covered minor imperfections well, a little too light for more serious coverage such as birthmarks.


Minerals in Frost/ Nude 4 gm - mixed the 2 colors, more frost than nude, got a very nice color match to my skin tone which is usually very difficult to match because it is very light. I used the mini Kabuki brush in the kit to buff on the minerals but I found it to be too coarse and it actually removed a lot of the concealer, I tried again using the powder brush and a very light hand, worked a bit better, but the some bristles came out. I have a birthmark on my chin and I had to reapply the concealer after the minerals. Minerals felt nice and light on the skin.


Lipgloss compact - minuscule amount in the compact, nice very sheer pink color, light texture but not much staying power.


Anyway I add a little blush, mascara, and ta da...in my lighting I look fantastic, my skin is glowing, pores look like they have been airbrushed away and my skin has its youthful radiance once again. I think I look hot and I skip out of the house. Two hours later I am sitting talking with my doctor and he keeps staring at me in a way he has never looked at me before. I'm thinking to myself this is odd, he says nothing, I'm thinking it must be my imagination, or he's staring because I'm looking good and sooo much younger. Finished my Dr.'s appt, stepped in to the restroom before leaving the office looked in the mirror and stopped dead in my tracks. I was mortified. My face was a greasy shiny mess, my pores were humongous pools of oil, craters, the light reflective value of my face was enormous like a sheet of tin foil. No wonder my doctor was staring at me. What does one say in a situation like that? Powder, blotting tissue, paper towel, what's wrong with your face? Went from hot to not, unless you're thinking of the sweaty kind. I swear my pores were magnified 10X, you could have dived in to those suckers.


Later on my face broke out in little bumps. Through the process of elimination I tried to find the culprit that caused me to break out. At first I assumed it was the minerals ** which I never used again** but no matter what product I eliminated I continued to break out. In the end I stopped using everything and my skin started to clear up immediately.


Called Sheer Cover to cancel my automatic shipment, they were polite enough and offered to send me a primer or toner to which would help with pores. I politely declined. If they wish, perhaps they could send me some money for Therapy.....lol!


P.S. I gave it 2 lippies because the concealer wasn't bad.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top