April 19, 2014 | 1116 users online

Mascara - Christian Dior - DiorShow Mascara Waterproof



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.3(380 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 49% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/2/2010 9:41:00 PM More reviews by FlyingToaster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Wow! I love this mascara. I understand the complaints with the large brush, as that could be tricky for some people; however I have no problems with it, for several reasons. One, I have used L'Oreal Voluminous for years and that brush is fairly large too. I like larger brushes. Two, I don't need to get at my lashes right at the base because they are already quite dark, so I am not going to stab myself shoving it nearer to my eye to get a half a millimeter of lash.

If you have very short, pale lashes that aren't curly you might want to skip this, as the brush would probably give you too much trouble.

I like the formula, and the packaging! The tube 'clicks' shut -- it's a very reassuring feel. Also, this gives me "doll eyes" - long, thick, luxurious black lashes up to my eyebrows. However, my lashes are dark, long, and have some natural volume. This gives me SO much more impact though -- LOVE!!

No comment on curling properties -- my lashes are naturally curly.

If you go over your bottom lashes lightly and comb them out, it's fine to use for your lower lashes.

NB: Comb it out if you're putting on a lot, because this, like all mascaras, will eventually clump. Don't wiggle it, just sweep it right through. Also, don't wipe the brush off with tissue, use the tube to do that so you aren't wasting a ton of the product. It doesn't look bad or cakey or clumpy if you don't wipe it off with a tissue (trust).

Fairly expensive, but worth it. HG mascara! Packaging feels luxe and looks lovely, love the 'click.'

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/27/2010 3:20:00 AM More reviews by pandaeyes66

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is a great mascara but it is very overpriced. It gives a dramatic and defined look which is amazing, but i feel other mascaras give a similar look without being as expensive (Maybelline full'n'soft, Model Co Fat Lash).

I don't think it is necessary to spend as much to get a great mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/19/2010 2:45:00 PM More reviews by bellawoozel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

After trying countless mascaras I think this is finally my HG and I don't plan on switching anytime soon! I have extremely short and straight lashes that won't stay curled after one coat of mascara. Even if I use my Shiseido curler first. Using this mascara after my curler keeps my lashes curled and long the entire day! I don't know what the reviews are talking about when they say it clumps and flakes and dries out their lashes. I'm sure it would if you put about 50 coats on! Two coats on my lashes and they are separated, curled and fabulously long. They also feel soft and flexible to the touch, not hard and crunchy. The brush is probably one of the best I've ever experienced using. When I use this mascara I feel like it's worth every penny. Not to mention the packaging is beautiful, so that's a plus! I also have extremely sensitive eyes that most mascaras irritate and I've had no issues with this. I highly recommend this to anyone with stick straight lashes that fall under the weight of mascara even after using a curler!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/4/2010 5:18:00 AM More reviews by kimdao90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I do love this mascara, but it was very expensive. I purchased this for $52AUD when I really wanted to buy a mascara that will do something about my short lashes. I love how this mascara looks when I put it on, but it dries very slowly. I often get smudges on the top of my eyelid because the mascara takes a while to dry. Other than that I love how this mascara looks on me, it makes me look like I'm wearing false lashes. I remove this mascara using an oil based makeup remover and it works just fine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/3/2010 8:32:00 AM More reviews by greatglamdc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I was looking for a good waterproof mascara for summer so I can swim in the pool and not have mascara all over my face. I like the product when its on, and it does have great staying power in water, but when I can't get it off in the shower and end up sleeping with it on- i wake up looking like a raccoon. However, I guess that's what you get when you buy waterproof mascara, would buy again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2010 4:21:00 PM More reviews by knightrider

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I give this a 2 because my lashes look nice after application. After a few hours at work I am "racoon" under my eyes. I cannot remove it BECAUSE IT'S WATERPROOF!! After work, I remove the black under my eyes with my eyemakeup-remover, and goes to the pool to test it even more. Even worse racoon-eyes!! And I have to go to the store like this!! I have used it one time. I'm not sure if I will use it again... I think I'd rather go without mascara than to be black-ish under my eyes! :/ SO dissappointed!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2010 10:01:00 AM More reviews by Samanthazahra

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i was about to give this a mediocre review but if i curl my lashes with my cheap curler it makes all the difference. once my lashes were lifted i could tell how good this mascara actually was. the applicator is great as it captures all of my lashes in a clean sweep and coats them smoothly and elongates them. i think this is definately the trick with most mascaras. curl, a clean steady sweep, then let it set. a good mascara should be able to perform with just these simple steps. layering, rubbing left to right with the wand will make any mascara look clumpy and stick eyelashes together and smudge because you have used excess formula. this formula really works beautifully as it lengthens, defines and adds volume without making my lashes feel brittle and hard when i touch them. they still feel nice and smooth. the formula lasts the day, adds drama but looks so clean and polished.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/12/2010 11:10:00 AM More reviews by skimbo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was a big fan of Diorshow Blackout, but since it was a very wet formula prone to smudging, I thought I would try Diorshow Waterproof. My lashes are very short and thin, and I was looking for the dramatic results that I got with Blackout without the racoon eyes. But as other reviewers have experienced, Diorshow Waterproof left me with huge undereye smudging, and I'm not even a big eye-rubber. I end up with more smudging than with non-waterproof drugstore brands, but it's much more difficult to take off. The MUA at the Dior counter assured me it would come off with just soap and water, which was totally misleading; it definitely needs an additional, thorough scrubbing with a makeup remover pad to get it all off. I also felt the brush was too big to be effective on short lashes, so my lashes didn't look much improved after application. Definitely not worth the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2010 7:50:00 AM More reviews by jootje

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I'm a big mascara fan and as such I of course had to try the hyped out Dior Show mascara. Since I was going on vacation soon I thought I'd get the waterproof version.
I was unimpressed by this product. It is good mascara, I won't deny that. It applies nicely (although I must say I'm not a fan of the huge wand) and it doesn't clump. BUT it's no better than many of the drugstore brands I've tried. I don't think it deserves the hype and it sure doesn't justify the price. I must say that my lashes are pretty long and easy to work with so maybe it's different for people who have been less blessed in the lash department, but for me my max factor mascara can deliver the same result for half the price. Won't buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2010 1:18:00 PM More reviews by xxxklcandy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Let me start by saying that I have sparse, straight eyelashes that will droop under the weight of mascara even after I curl them. I have tried dozens of brands of mascara over the years, and this one takes the #1 spot. DiorShow Waterproof mascara makes my eyelashes look so long and thick, and makes my sparse lashes look full. *Note: I always curl my lashes really well first, using a Shu Uemura eyelash curler* I am so thrilled with this product because it makes my lashes look so great, almost like fake eyelashes, and in turn it makes ME feel great. It's such a relief to find a reliable, long lasting mascara that can pump up my impossible lashes! (To maximize the lengthening property of this mascara, always apply to the very tips of the lashes first, then sweep upwards from the root.) I pay $24 for this Mascara from Nordstrom and it is worth every dime.

*I did not have the same results with the regular non-waterproof version of this product, but I'm sure that is because my lashes are tough to work with!*

Is this review helpful? Yes No