April 16, 2014 | 1458 users online

Powder - Maybelline - PureStay Powder Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.0(345 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2011 12:35:00 PM More reviews by DBusta

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

    Best drugstore foundation, hands down! Great coverage (even better than ColorStay), smooth texture, and long-lasting power. Although this IS a great product, I was disappointed with the poor shade selection. The lightest shade was a bit too dark and pink for my skin tone. They only have about five shades I believe. I hope in the future they will add more shades. The packaging was a bit odd in my opinion, but no biggie. Overall, a very good product. Works better than some of the department store brands!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2011 11:15:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Very nice product, especially for drugstore. I don't use this as a powder foundation, and I don't apply it with a sponge. Instead, I apply it with a fluffy brush as a setting/finishing powder in place of loose powder on those days I think my liquid foundation isn't doing its job of covering up all the ickies. Sets my foundation well, keeps my skin fairly matte but natural, and lasts well. I use Nude, which works well with my light-medium Asian skin. It's not a superstar product, hence no 5 lippies, but I completely finished the one I bought and it's good enough that I'd buy it again.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/2/2011 9:18:00 PM More reviews by khatrina1

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    I use tan which is the darkest shade. It goes on really smooth but if you put too much it does tend to look cakey. I reccomend not to use the sponge it comes with intead use a brush. It makes your skin look flawless.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/2/2011 1:43:00 PM More reviews by polarpooch

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

    i really like this powder foundation. i have used a number of different brands of powder/mineral powder foundations, and this is at least as good as the more expensive brands. in fact, it's better than some expensive brands. it goes on more opaque than some powder foundations and produces a nice, medium finish. i have oily skin, and find i only need one touch up during the day. it's very smooth and silky once applied. the color selection is decent for light to medium skin tones, though a couple of colors are to the pink/peach side. i use "30 nude", and it works great for my light/medium skin. it's got SPF 15, too. the packaging could be better--and the sponge that comes with the powder is useless. i use a brush to apply. $6.99 at walmart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 12/28/2010 8:40:00 PM More reviews by MissSego

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    When buying this the only thing i was afraid of was that this would look cakey. It did but you can just spray some mac fix plus or just water on your face and it will cancel the cakeyness. The problem is that this made my dry skin look extremely dry, you could see all of my dry patches on my forehead and cheeks even if i moisturized a lot before I applied it. But it does have good coverage and is great for covering scars so i would recommend this for oily skin people only.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 12/2/2010 7:10:00 PM More reviews by Kim192

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I bough this product to see if it could replace my Clinique powder foundation. It didn't!

    Pros: Nice coverage and last all day even when im in collage.
    Con: At the end of the day it looks chalky and it accentuate dry patches and large pores.

    Its a very yellow toned powder foundation. They're all like that, I bought 3 different shades and they were all to yellow! I ended out throwing them away! Overall i would only recommend if you have oily. For mature/dry skin I wouldn't at all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 11/26/2010 3:39:00 PM More reviews by lessav13

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

    Excellent product. I've tried many... many many many. None have been as effective and pleasant as this. Soft, doesn't look like I have anything on. Perfect shade for light skin, covers redness and minor skin imperfections. Feels like you have nothing on, very light yet the coverage is surprisingly thorough. Stays on, only light re-application necessary. Mattes shiny areas. Most importantly, it goes on soft, stays soft on the skin, gives skin a soft touch and an almost flawless, matte appearance, doesn't rub off on clothes, light, airy, great coverage, conceals redness, blemishes, and various problem areas. And also very importantly, doesn't aggravate my sensitive, acne-prone skin, doesn't cause break-outs or any similar problems (oil-free).

    Only problem... make sure your skin is hydrated and moisturized, because if it's dry and flaky (like mine sometimes gets), this will accentuate those dry flaky spots. Otherwise, highly recommended product, for an excellent price.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/17/2010 6:47:00 PM More reviews by missygaga

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

    I had no idea they still made this product! I used to use this cover up in high school and I loved it because of its super abilities to hide my horribly broken out face! The compact is bigger, so maybe more product? Easier to swipe the pad through the product when the compact is rectangular (rather than square)
    Spongy pad is super soft and works much better than the sponges that come in Cover Girl compacts.
    This goes on super silky and has decent staying power. They make my perfect shade as well
    Im going to buy some tonight ! Thanks MUA

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 11/8/2010 1:59:00 AM More reviews by xxxabc

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I really love this foundation and I haven't used anything else since I started. I've almost always used liquid foundations and ever since using this I don't feel like I could go back. It's very light and it covers fairly well, and it feels like you aren't wearing it. I really like how I can just put it on real quick and it makes my face look smooth and it doesn't get cakey. The packaging seems to hold up well and overall I really like this product.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/4/2010 11:53:00 PM More reviews by cherriblizz

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

    I really love this foundation, I'm not fond of liquid foundations and I really feel that purestay has great coverage, is lightweight on the skin and doesn't feel cakey. The only thing I really don't like is that I seem to run out quite quickly.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No